Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

WM-4 Broken already?

Old 10-31-2020, 04:43 PM
  #1  
ebr
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 178
Received 59 Likes on 28 Posts
Default WM-4 Broken already?

So I installed a WM-4 weather module in August and got it hooked up and signed up (which was a pain because the online form doesn't work - you have to call) and it worked great - for about a week. Now the unit says "antenna not connected". Of course, the antenna is connected and nothing really happened to change that. One thing that bothered me from the beginning on this install is the fact that the little adapter that is required to connect the antenna cable to the unit is extremely loose. But it worked fine at first and I tried taping it together for a sure fit but still cannot get the unit to recognize the antenna being there anymore.

Tried Sirius support and they were clueless.

Anyone have any ideas? I'm about to go buy a second antenna I guess and see if it actually did go bad somehow...
Old 10-31-2020, 07:35 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,197
Received 114 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

I had an issue with misplacing the original connector so I hunted down a replacement that worked like a charm.

Old 10-31-2020, 07:56 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,491
Likes: 0
Received 436 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

Xm/Sirius developed the new InfoLink sr200 to be used by Raymarine, Furuno and Simrad/Lowrance/BG and Garmin chose to stay with their GXM series (GXM 54).
Raymarine SR200













Raymarine (lighthouse 3 software, works fine) and Furuno's (works with their latest software SR200.

I’ve installed one sr200 connected to a Raymarine 12” Axiom it’s been solid. I did notice the connector your referring to is not the best quality. This is interesting because a number of vendors are using the sr200 under their brand names when in fact they did not design or manufacture them.

Tom
__________________
BWP
Old 10-31-2020, 08:29 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,306
Received 117 Likes on 72 Posts
Default

I was having this issue with my BBWX4 and ended up needing to replace my ethernet hub
Old 11-01-2020, 04:57 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 6,913
Received 2,456 Likes on 1,212 Posts
Default

I’ve been installing the Shakespeare SRA50 Sirius/XM antennas for several years now. I use them with the Sirius/XM tuner in order to put the satellite radio info/controls on the stereo instead of navigating through the MFD. I’ve had to replace a handful of the antennas over the years. In our experiences, they have a higher failure rate than the WM3 antenna.
Old 11-01-2020, 06:18 AM
  #6  
ebr
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 178
Received 59 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by davidwademarine View Post
I’ve been installing the Shakespeare SRA50 Sirius/XM antennas for several years now. I use them with the Sirius/XM tuner in order to put the satellite radio info/controls on the stereo instead of navigating through the MFD. I’ve had to replace a handful of the antennas over the years. In our experiences, they have a higher failure rate than the WM3 antenna.
Would suck for it to fail after only a couple weeks but I guess I'll get a new antenna and try it out. That is only $75.

Thanks.
Old 11-01-2020, 06:19 AM
  #7  
ebr
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 178
Received 59 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Shin-Dig View Post
I was having this issue with my BBWX4 and ended up needing to replace my ethernet hub
I'm going straight into the MFD in this case but, also, everything else on the network is fine.
Old 11-09-2020, 02:52 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Raleigh, NC. USA
Posts: 1,078
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

So the SRA50 is just the antenna and will work with any brand? I just got the WM4 replaced by Lowrance as my WM3 failed under warranty. I hope this one will be more reliable as the WM3 didn't last a year and see other posts that it had a pretty high fail rate.
What makes the WM4 unique to work with Navico brand equipment? is it the Infolink box? Assume somethere here has the software/hardware to work with Navico and not someone else.
Old 11-17-2020, 07:37 AM
  #9  
ebr
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 178
Received 59 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Turns out the antenna went bad. Hooked up a new one and it lit right up. We'll see if this one lasts more than three weeks...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.