Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine Axiom Updating System - Transducer and Radar Question

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Axiom Updating System - Transducer and Radar Question

Old 10-25-2020, 08:50 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Merritt Island Florida
Posts: 13
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Raymarine Axiom Updating System - Transducer and Radar Question

I'm in the process of changing out my old E120 classic system to a complete new system. I'm installing (1) 12" Axiom+ MFD display only and (1) 12" RV for Real Vision 3d with RV100 transducer and Navionics charts. For the sonar I am installing the CP570 and adding the 2KW R109 LHW transducer. My main question is, I currently have a B164 tilted element 1KW transducer installed on the starboard side and would to just add the R109 to the port side. Can the B164 be used in this system somehow where it's worth while? For reference I'm going with the 2KW for enhanced image and deep drop fishing etc. I still do near/inshore fishing as well out of Port Canaveral. Any other ideas for this system? I hate to use the 1K as a plug.

On a side note thinking of going with the 48" 12KW radar for locating bird schools is the performance noticeably different from one of the 48 m radome types?

thanks!
Likes:
Old 10-25-2020, 10:53 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 208
Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bank Robber View Post
I'm in the process of changing out my old E120 classic system to a complete new system. I'm installing (1) 12" Axiom+ MFD display only and (1) 12" RV for Real Vision 3d with RV100 transducer and Navionics charts. For the sonar I am installing the CP570 and adding the 2KW R109 LHW transducer. My main question is, I currently have a B164 tilted element 1KW transducer installed on the starboard side and would to just add the R109 to the port side. Can the B164 be used in this system somehow where it's worth while? For reference I'm going with the 2KW for enhanced image and deep drop fishing etc. I still do near/inshore fishing as well out of Port Canaveral. Any other ideas for this system? I hate to use the 1K as a plug.

On a side note thinking of going with the 48" 12KW radar for locating bird schools is the performance noticeably different from one of the 48 m radome types?

thanks!
Have a R109LH, with a CP570, works great all around. Shallow; (2'), to the canyons. Great transducer black box sonar combo.
I also have the RV212. It has a Traditional Sonar as well, with SideVision, DownVision, and RealVision. Good to purchase a Axiom + RVX. If you Decide to add a medium frequency and it's just plug and play. You will have that extra 1kw port. Good for resale value as well when you do an upgrade in the future.
Radar;
Open array is the way to go to find birds!
Have the 12kw 6' open array, saw birds flying in a V formation, and on my radar I saw the birds flying in a V form on the Axiom. Pretty cool. Tried taking a picture but was so impressed and kept staring at the screen, that by the time I got my phone out they were gone. If you have the room for the 6' open array, that's the way to go.
Old 10-25-2020, 02:20 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Merritt Island Florida
Posts: 13
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Fish On, thanks for the response! Pretty
much the way I was heading but didnt
think of getting the RVX, just the RV so thats something to consider. Sounds like an easy decision on the radar. To clarify though, the 1KW wont connect to the CP 570 with a Y as say a back up or alternate correct?
Old 10-25-2020, 03:42 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 208
Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bank Robber View Post
Fish On, thanks for the response! Pretty
much the way I was heading but didnt
think of getting the RVX, just the RV so thats something to consider. Sounds like an easy decision on the radar. To clarify though, the 1KW wont connect to the CP 570 with a Y as say a back up or alternate correct?
1 transducer per black box sonar. So the R109lhw gets connected to the cp570, and I would get 2 Axiom+ RVX. Not much more $$$.
The rv212, or RV100 will connect to the RV on the transducer. If you can, splurge for the rv212. That's what I got. Works great. The open array radar has incredible detail.
Likes:
Old 10-25-2020, 05:42 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 1,090
Received 122 Likes on 82 Posts
Default

When I was researching sonar upgrades to my Axiom RV mfd, I learned that if a traditional transducer is Y cabled with the RV100, the high Chirp function of the RV100 is not operable. The other 3 sonar functions remain.
I opted for a CP370 module and TM260 tradition transducer. I can display 4 sonar modes simultaneously.
To answer the original question, the B164 will work with the Axiom+. To get both the RV100 and B164 to be fully functional , you need both 12 inch displays to have integral sounders. This is my understanding.
Likes:
Old 10-29-2020, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 48
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

If your e120's are in decent shape, I would be interested in buying them.

I need to replace 2 of them
Old 10-30-2020, 09:50 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Merritt Island Florida
Posts: 13
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by CaptainChaos;[url=tel:14176502
14176502[/url]]If your e120's are in decent shape, I would be interested in buying them.

I need to replace 2 of them
Captain Chaos, thats the main reason for the upgrade. Both screens are pretty washed out. I actuallly have 2 complete E120 dual screen set ups, DSM 300s, AP parts, weather receivers and a 9kw radar. Unfortunately the screens of all 4 units are not in great shape.
Old 10-30-2020, 10:01 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 48
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bank Robber View Post
Captain Chaos, thats the main reason for the upgrade. Both screens are pretty washed out. I actuallly have 2 complete E120 dual screen set ups, DSM 300s, AP parts, weather receivers and a 9kw radar. Unfortunately the screens of all 4 units are not in great shape.
I may still be interested in some of the items.
My AP is not working either.
I'll send you a PM with contact info

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.