Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Old 08-01-2003, 08:44 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milford CT.
Posts: 537
Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Well I have had a Standard Horizon chartplotter for just over a year now. I have had limited success with this unit in the year I have had it. I got the CP 150 unit and the NT+ chip for the northeast, I had ant. problems right from the start. Then this year the unit started to act up and finally would not acquire the Sats. at all. I sent it back and emailed them about my troubles. They decided to replace my unit with an upgrade to a color unit, this was excellent in my opinion and I was very happy. I got the new unit and installed it. The first time out with it I was in a driving rain storm (when I caught my big fish) and the unit was acting weird after 4-5 hours. The next time out it acted up again and then crapped out altogether. I called SH and talked to the tech. guy and he said ship it back to us with our UPS number and we will look at it. I sent it back next day and called them yesterday. Said they had not looked at it yet but would immediately. They emailed me last night and said it had water in it. They asked me if I had rinsed it off with water??? I told them I never spray it with water plus I had only had it a week and it was in the rain once. Their website says that it is guaranteed waterproof for 3 years???? I am very curious to see what is going to come of this. They are in CA. and I should hear from them later today, hope the news is good I am losing my patience with this thing and may have to make a stink and ask for my money back. Should have bought a Raytheon or Furuno.


Mike M.
Albiemanmike is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 09:11 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

No, you should have bought a Garmin

Hope things work out...that question about rinsing the unit with water is very worrysome....
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 09:33 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,798
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

If it makes you feel better, this sounds like 3 captains I know, only they have NAVMAN units.

Waterproof is waterproof, and 3 years is 3 years.

I'm sure that you have the serial number for the color unit written down somewhere. When they call you, ask them if they determined what caused the water leak. Then, insist on a totally new unit be shipped to you since you have no idea (and they probably don't either) as to how much water got in there and what it may have impacted. Tell them you want the new unit checked to see if it has the same problem as the first before they ship it.

I would not accept repairs to the unit that they now have.

Good luck and let us know what happens.

" A HALF truth is a WHOLE lie ! "
Big E is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 09:47 AM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,769
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I hope you answered them with:

"YES, I wash it down EVERY day, why?"

Hell, I spray off my Raymarine Color chartplotter/Radar unit after each use. IT's on a boat and made to be WET. Geeesh!!

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 10:11 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milford CT.
Posts: 537
Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

quote:Hell, I spray off my Raymarine Color chartplotter/Radar unit after each use. IT's on a boat and made to be WET. Geeesh!!

That was my first thought??? It is a piece of electronics for the marine environment why can't it get wet??? 3 year waterproof warrantee, heel it didn't even last 3 hours. They have been very good about the whole thing so far and I can't complain about the tech. support but if the unit is no good what good is tech. support??? I will let you all know what happens later.

Tightlines,
Mike Mayo

P.S. Now if I have to get rid of it I am stuck with an NT+ chip and would have to buy a unit that uses NT technology. Not a biggie but man what a hassle.
Albiemanmike is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 11:55 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Galveston, Tx
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I know how you feel. Last year I bought one. It worked once then couldn't accuire sats. The dealer replaced it. It worked twice then the same problem. The dealer replaced the unit and the ant.
I used the third one until a month ago. It lost all the waypoints and couldn't keep a track for more than 15 min. I emailed Std. Horiz. After a week they answered and told me it must be the built in battery and I should send it to them. I took it back to the dealer because he told me they could repair it onsite. Would take a week or less. That was 2+ weeks ago. I am calling daily and they finally told me yesterday that they had sent it to Std. Horiz. Said they would check on the status and call back. Have not heard a word out of them yet. They are going to hear a lot form me if they don't call by 5:00.
Beachbum49 is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 02:43 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 312
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Well my NAVMAN could aquire sats even without external antenna. Works fine for 3 month. We'll see what happens l8r. INHO I DO NOT RECOMMEND TO SPRAY ANY MARINE ELECTRONICS.If it accidently gets wet, it will be fine. Do not hose them down!!!!
ioffe is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 09:07 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milford CT.
Posts: 537
Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I don't spray any electronics on the boat! I always remove them before washing. They told me that when they opened my unit up they found a puddle of water in the bottom of the unit??? This after one trip in the rain. They are sending me a brand new unit and they were going to check the seals and grease them before sending it out to me. They recommended that if it starts to rain that I should cover the unit with a plastic bag to protect it from getting water inside. I think this is ridiculous but I had already decided I would do this before they told me so. I would dump this unit in a minute if I could but I know that they won't give me a refund this late in the game. If I have any problems with the replacement unit I will be all done with it and will go to every length possible to get my money refunded and buy an alternate brand of chartplotter. I have to say they have been very understanding and helpful through all of this, they paid all of the shipping costs for the unit back to them. My problem is that I have a C-MAP NT+ Wide chip for this machine so any machine I end up replacing it with will have to use that technology. So Garmin is out. Will have the unit on Monday and will let you all know how I make out.

Mike M.
Albiemanmike is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 02:10 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberSponsorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central FL, US
Posts: 2,567
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

It sounds like you have no confidence in this unit and I can't say I really blame you. I did have a CP150 on my old boat and never had any problems with it. If they are sending you a brand new one why don't you just put it up for sales on Ebay and use the proceeds to buy a unit from another manufacturer that supports C-Map.
East Coast Trailers is offline  
Old 08-03-2003, 02:41 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I bought a CP150C in March. I also purchased PC Planner and a C-Map super wide chart. I have been very happy with the way the GPS works and with the chart. The PC planner is not as user friendly as I thought it would be. I could save routes to a user card but could not get the GPS to read them. I fiddled with this for a month because I thought I was missing something in the instructions. After many emails I found out the GPS did not have the user card function. Standard Horizon sent me a software up grade and now I have a user card selection. BUT the GPS would still not read the routes from the user card, more emails and phone calls. C-Map said I had the wrong user card. When I bought the PC Planner and card reader it came with a 128k user card. Standard Horizon needs to read a 1mb user card. I had to ship the 128k user card back to C-Map with a return authorization number before they would send me the right card. Now everything is lovely. It all works. After that the antenna wire broke and it stuck in the GPS.(while screwing the antenna to the GPS there is a little wire in the center of the antenna cable) It still works but I emailed Standard Horizon and they sent a new antenna out no questions asked. This was my first GPS. I think from what I have read GPS's have come a long way in the last few years. I expect that they will continue to improve and the prices will come down more. I selected the Standard Horizon because of its size, price, screen attributes, and because it used C-Map. I boat on both coasts of Florida and was able to get one chart that covered it all. Other GPS's that used different charting software did not give me that option. I had first looked a Garmin but to get the charts I wanted it would have cost almost as much as I paid for the Standard Horizon. In the future I hope to see and talk to fellow boaters and learn more about different brands of GPS's first hand.

Nick
okryder is offline  
Old 08-04-2003, 03:12 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Slidell, LA, USA
Posts: 1,235
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I second what fish_on said about EBAY. You should be able to get a large portion of your original investment back as long as you can advertise the unit as "New In The Box". The C-Map chip will sell nicely, also, if you really want to go with garmin/bluechart.

-------------------------------------
Fishin-Fanatic
Get In! Sit Down! Shut Up! Hold On!
fishin-fanatic is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 06:22 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milford CT.
Posts: 537
Received 20 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Well I got a brand new unit (second one in 3 weeks) and it seems to work fine but I have not been out on the water yet. They told me that when they opened up the unit it had a puddle of water inside. I told them I had it out in a downpour and that was the only time it got wet. Well they said I should cover it if it starts to rain next time. Cover it????? Well that is what I will do in the future but I should not have to cover a piece of electronics designed for the marine environment in my opinion. I have their Intrepid radio and it has gotten soaked many times and never had a problem, but it is designed under submersible criteria and the chartplotter is not. They told me that the waterproof designation is a relative term??? Not sure what that is supposed to mean other than they will replace it free of charge if it fails due to water intrusion for 3 years. In other words don't get it wet unless you want to return it to them for replacement. Not real happy with the whole situation but I am stuck with it now unless I do the E-Bay thing and I really don't want to mess with selling it and being without GPS for another couple of weeks/months. Will just keep it dry and hope for the best. The C-Map chip is the best I have seen though, I was out in my boat with a friends Garmin and I did not like the Garmin as much as my Standard unit, the display looked amateur and I just was not comfortable with it. But that is just me and it sounds like there is alot of folks out there using the Garmin who are happy..........to each his own I guess.

Tightlines,
Mike Mayo
Albiemanmike is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 07:34 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greensboro,N.C.
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I am a member of Boat U.S. I read in one oftheir publications regarding what is the difference between water proof and water resistance. If I am not mistaking, waterproof means it can be totally submerged at a certain depth for a certain amount of time with NO damage. I have a Garmin 182 with the map chip and love it.
nathan2 is offline  
Old 08-05-2003, 08:22 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Posts: 118
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

I have had a Standard for over 2 years. One of the first of the CP 170s. I upgraded it with the Software that was shipped to me from C-MAP, and have had ZERO problems with the unit.
It is still the only unit bright enough to stand direct sunlight.

jjmcdonald@hotmail.com
jmcdnald@cisco.com
irish is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 05:08 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,798
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

quote:Well that is what I will do in the future but I should not have to cover a piece of electronics designed for the marine environment in my opinion. I have their Intrepid radio and it has gotten soaked many times and never had a problem, but it is designed under submersible criteria and the chartplotter is not. They told me that the waterproof designation is a relative term???
Tightlines,
Mike Mayo

Mike- WATERPROOF is only a relative term? Relative to what? I would call them on this and ask them what standards they are using to categorize it as a "WATERPROOF" unit. Standards vary, and I am definitely not very educated on them, but they have to use a guideline to qualify a unit as "SUBMERSIBLE" or "WATERPROOF" or "WEATHER RESISTANT". For instance, the FURUNO NAVNET that I have is called waterproof beacuse it meets or exceeds the parameters of "IEC 60529 IPX5; USCG CFR-46 (Display) and IEC 60529 IPX6 (Antenna)". My Garmin has similar ratings.

I checked the STANDARD web site AND the SPEC sheet for your unit and see no mention of any established guidelines for waterproofing. All that they mention (brochure) is the 3 year Waterproof and Flat Rate Program (replace or repair at THEIR discretion). Probably a loophole that will let them decide that the next water intrusion is on YOUR wallet!

Looks like anther marketing ploy on STANDARD's part. Just like the IMPLICATION that only their GPS will interface with THEIR VHF to exchange position coordinates to create a waypoint from a known vessels brodcasted poition (DSC).

I would go the e-bay route as well. I understand that you don't want to lose the boat during the season. SO, wait until your last trip before the winter, then drop the unit in your wash down bucket. Send it back for another replacement while you place ads for a "New In the BOX" unit while your sipping hot toddies by the fireplace!

Cover your unit when it rains??? Like telling someone not to open an umbrella 'cause it will get wet!

" A HALF truth is a WHOLE lie ! "
Big E is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 06:34 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,753
Likes: 0
Received 80 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Albiemannmike

I have the CP150c as well. Got it in January and have used it for about 20 hours but only in good weather on fresh water. So far so good.

I don't mean to take advantage of your ill fortune but if your eq dies and you don't want that wide area chip, let me know. If I haven't got one of my own by then I may be interested in that wide area chip if it's the one that includes Portsmouth NH and areas north and south. E-mail Ahab03054@yahoo.com -

This is my anti-spam account so don't include any links or it won't get through.

Good luck with the replacement unit. Let's hope 3rd time is the charm!

Warmest Regards

Ken

--
Everything has to eat somebody. (Bruce, the shark, from "JAWS")
Kamper is offline  
Old 08-06-2003, 06:52 PM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North Branford,CT.
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Albiemanmike, I know of you from the other board we are both on. Ctfisherman.com
Congrats again on that monster striper you got.
Unforunately I am also having some trouble with my GPS system but mine is a Lowrance unit. As of right now I have 3 units and 2 antennas they have sent me as we try to work out why it keeps losing the GPS functions. Nice message I keep seeing on my screen- Warning GPS module not responding.
I see that in my sleep now!
Since I have been doing a lot of night fishing it is almost essential that I have good and working electronics and I am now reduced to using a Garmin handheld unit.
I am also in the same situation as I have very little confidence in the unit and unforunately am stuck with it.
Well I will keep trying to sort this out with them until we either figure it out or I get too disallusioned to even bother with it anymore.
Good luck with yours and hopefully we will get a chance to meet at one of the outtings. You fishing the Fluke Fling in Sept.?
Mikek06511 is offline  
Old 08-08-2003, 05:34 PM
  #18  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: stuart,fl
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

..just sent my Navman color unit back today for a full refund.. and purchashed a CP 160 mono unit.. both console space and C-map chip were my driving reasons.. hope i didn't make a mistake!!??
bummer12 is offline  
Old 08-09-2003, 06:31 AM
  #19  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Posts: 14,355
Received 712 Likes on 382 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Hey Zippy: Glad to see you here !!!!

John
John_Madison CT is offline  
Old 08-09-2003, 11:21 AM
  #20  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: chesapeake,va
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chartplotter problems.....Getting fed up!!!

Hey bummer I just bought the navman 5500 color and installed it why did you send it back hope I didnt make a mistake The reason I bought it over a garmin was the fuel opt. I am always pushing my fuel to distance ratio and liked this featue havnt heard alot good or bad about navman..any thoughts?

Work a little fish alot!
firetazfire is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.