Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Can you splice transducer wire?

Old 10-10-2020, 02:58 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 459
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Can you splice transducer wire?

Want to install some new cable boots at the transom. Motor will be off the boat for service so seemed like a good opportunity. Only wire that is still connected is the transducer. Would rather not have to untangle it all the way to the helm. Can transducer wire be cut and spliced back together with a butt connector??
or does anyone know of a 5 1/2 inch boot that’s split so you don’t need to disconnect anything?
Old 10-10-2020, 03:29 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 116
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

You should be able to, I think most transducers are 4 distinct colored wires. I would try to do it well inside of the boat somewhere though, where the connectors have a lot less chance of getting corroded.
Old 10-10-2020, 03:30 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Austin and Corpus Christi/Flour Bluff, Texas
Posts: 3,299
Received 200 Likes on 158 Posts
Default

I suggest you ask the manufacturer.
Likes:
Old 10-10-2020, 03:45 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,771
Received 627 Likes on 325 Posts
Default

I have going to a different MFD, as a recall I loss the speed, since you are changing nothing it should be fine, make sure to heat shrink about 8" + on each side of the splice.
However I think a split booth would be a better option.
Old 10-10-2020, 03:52 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 459
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Reel 007 View Post
I have going to a different MFD, as a recall I loss the speed, since you are changing nothing it should be fine, make sure to heat shrink about 8" + on each side of the splice.
However I think a split booth would be a better option.
I agree but can’t seem to find one. Need a 5 1/2
Old 10-10-2020, 04:19 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 21
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

First of all it can easily and effectively be done. I wouldn’t use butt connectors, but would solder everything. Make sure you understand what your getting yourself into
Old 10-10-2020, 04:26 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 474
Received 86 Likes on 62 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bucktail67 View Post
First of all it can easily and effectively be done. I wouldn’t use butt connectors, but would solder everything. Make sure you understand what your getting yourself into
I've done it and it works fine, but soldered them to get a nice tape/shrink wrap look.
Old 10-10-2020, 04:36 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
williamwallus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SWFL, Midwest
Posts: 3,444
Received 784 Likes on 437 Posts
Default

What brand? Some manufacturers have really good support. hummin bird and lowrance are good companies. I'd just call em
Old 10-10-2020, 04:50 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 459
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by williamwallus View Post
What brand? Some manufacturers have really good support. hummin bird and lowrance are good companies. I'd just call em
garmin gps. I’d have to check. Maybe lowrance. What about solder seal butt connectors? Where the heat activated the solder
Old 10-10-2020, 04:52 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 891
Received 272 Likes on 163 Posts
Default

When I removed a big transom amount transducer, I -favor of a thru-hull, I found the installer had spliced the cable with screw-type quick-connect terminal. I never knew until I removed, worked perfectly fine.
Old 10-10-2020, 06:04 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,254
Received 114 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

Airmar produces a "box" for splicing as well as a "converter" which allows a transducer cable from one man. to function in a different brand MFD or sounder
Old 10-10-2020, 06:46 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MHC, NC
Posts: 194
Received 63 Likes on 44 Posts
Default

How about a Deutsch connector? Those seems to be a popular, water-tight connector for multiple-wire applications.
Old 10-10-2020, 06:57 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 459
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

I think this has made me realize it will likely be easier to just fish the wire back to the transom and then pull it back up. It’s really not that far
Old 10-11-2020, 10:36 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Marathon Fl. (Sombrero Isle)
Posts: 3,557
Received 531 Likes on 364 Posts
Default

Garmin sells a splice box, They offer it since they have 2 different connectors types on the head GPSMAP units. I used one and seem to work OK.
Old 10-11-2020, 11:19 AM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 50
Received 28 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

When I spliced mine, I duplicated what I saw as I cut through the cable of the manufacturer.

So, I staggered the splices of each conductor, so the finished product would not be a big ball of splices.

I soldered the connection, used marine heat shrink and shielded each conductor individual with aluminum foil; then put heat shrink on the cable.

I would think the replacement of the foil to be important in keeping the frequencies of the signal separate.

I believe my readings to have minimal to no loss.

Good luck.
Old 10-11-2020, 11:24 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 459
Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Appreciate all the advice but it’s convinced me to spend the extra 10 minutes and fish the wire through.
Likes:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.