Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Blue Seas fuse block and Garmin AP pump

Old 10-10-2020, 01:48 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 993
Received 269 Likes on 110 Posts
Default Blue Seas fuse block and Garmin AP pump

So I'm installing the Reactor 40 Garmin AP and I notice they have a 40 amp in line fuse.
I checked the amp draw and appears its 34 Amps max.

My 12 fuse Blue Seas block has a max of 100 amps and no more than 30 amps per terminal/fuse.
Amazon Amazon

I have a AWG 8 wire feeding the BSeas terminal fuse block. I was going to tap the feed and tie in directly using the 40 amp inline fuse.

Any better solutions or recommendations?

How about connecting my tap to this.
Amazon Amazon

Then I could connect my AP pump hot wire to it
Old 10-10-2020, 06:03 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 316
Likes: 0
Received 46 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Interesting coincidence. I just installed the same fuse block and didn't see the part about each circuit only being rated for 30a. I was running my Garmin TR-1 Gladiator AP hard for many hours today while purging air from the hydraulic, twin station steering. I didn't blow a fuse, but now I'll be checking for temperature on the fuse block and wiring. If it doesn't get warm, I'll probably just go with it. The block looks substantial and may be underrated.
Old 10-10-2020, 07:27 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,621
Likes: 0
Received 269 Likes on 223 Posts
Default

Your tr-1 is well below 30a.

to the first question. Depends how long the 8 awg is and what else is on the fuse block. You may want to just give it its own feed.
Old 10-10-2020, 09:50 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 993
Received 269 Likes on 110 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Your tr-1 is well below 30a.

to the first question. Depends how long the 8 awg is and what else is on the fuse block. You may want to just give it its own feed.
The 8 AWG is fairly long.
the boat is 25' with the batteries at the stern. Maybe 15' long run?
All the electronics are run off that run.
when you say feed, you mean just run a new wire from the battery?
lastly, is 10% voltage drop acceptable for an auto pilot pump?

Last edited by westbootie; 10-10-2020 at 09:55 PM.
Old 10-11-2020, 02:44 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 297
Received 86 Likes on 54 Posts
Default

An option:

battery switch to power bar buss bar. One power bar post for fuse block. Another power bar post for AP pump. additional power bar posts for future use if need be.

fuse the start of each feed accordingly.

don’t use the buss bar you listed. It’s junk. Each post has a super low amp rating.
Here’s a good one: https://www.bluesea.com/products/210...3_8in-16_Studs

I would do 3% drop for everything.
Likes:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.