Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Need help rigging new Suzuki gauges

Old 10-06-2020, 07:49 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeast Louisiana
Posts: 553
Received 83 Likes on 62 Posts
Default Need help rigging new Suzuki gauges

Okay, some basic questions about rigging new Suzuki analog gauges. New DF150 with Tachometer and speedometer already rigged. Need to install new fuel, voltmeter, trim and water pressure gauges. Looks simple but I have never done it before. Plugs on the harness look to be plug and play but I have a few questions:

1. Are the harness connections “idiot proof” - do they only fit on the proper gauge? I know fuel gauge uses existing connection and WP needs Tee at motor.
2. Is there enough play in the harness to easily reach all the gauges?
3. Is there a certain plan or sequence that is best to follow?

From being on HT for several years, I can see some members just saying - yes, yes and yes! But it would be helpful to hear someone talk about their experience rigging analog gauges. Thanks for any help.






Old 10-06-2020, 10:23 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeast Louisiana
Posts: 553
Received 83 Likes on 62 Posts
Default

No comments?
Old 10-07-2020, 04:01 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 6,320
Received 1,640 Likes on 853 Posts
Default

I don’t have any experience with the analog gauges. I rigged mine, but went with the nmea2k interface and a C10 plus an evo2 for the display. As I recall there were a bundle of labeled wire connections for analog gauges but I didn’t fiddle with them.

With that said, I found the installation manual pretty frustrating because of the lack of detail. Most things were idiot proof in reality, but not so idiot proof in appearance that you felt comfortable.

the harness spacing you should be able to check once you’ve got it laid out from behind the console. I had a wide console on the Jupiter 31 and it was close getting from the key and throttle side to the port side where my gauges snd nmea network was. You just want to be sure before you drill holes.

Sorry I can’t be more help. If you post this in the Outboard Specialties sub forum, or get Moonlighter to respond, you may get more help.

In terms of the plan... just take it easy and make sure you’ve got everything laid out and the spacing works before you start making connections snd cutting holes. Patience was key for me.
Old 10-07-2020, 04:27 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Southeast Louisiana
Posts: 553
Received 83 Likes on 62 Posts
Default

Thanks Texas 17 - that helps! I never got an installation manual - maybe that’s part of the problem.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.