Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Gmx 53 garmin sirius antenna problem

Old 09-28-2020, 05:23 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: deal,nj.us
Posts: 530
Received 77 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Gmx 53 garmin sirius antenna problem

Stuck on one station. Cannot see channels on chartplotter to change. Shows no subscription for weather but has weather. Fix?Thanks.Was fine.

Last edited by happyfisherman; 09-28-2020 at 05:29 AM.
Old 09-29-2020, 09:07 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: deal,nj.us
Posts: 530
Received 77 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

I know some people on this website where sirius music channels didn't show up on chartplotter and stuck on last played station can't change station. Sirius Weather is showing up on chartplotter even though it shows no subscription. Please what was the fix have Gxm 53 antenna Thanks

Last edited by happyfisherman; 09-29-2020 at 10:28 AM.
Old 09-29-2020, 11:41 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 637
Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

We need a few more pieces of information to help you determine the problem: could be the power supply, antenna or something else on the Garmin system

Is there a weather antenna signal strength icon in the top right on your screen?

on the system software page on your chart plotter, is the SiriusXM unit ID displayed? (combination of letters and numbers)

what is the color of the LED light on the power module connected to the GXM53 antenna (A small black oval box)
Old 09-29-2020, 02:12 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: deal,nj.us
Posts: 530
Received 77 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Have green light power. Weather is showing fine along with sea temps, precipitation but on chartplotter shows no subscription. Refreshed and so on. Last radio station I played through my unit is playing. There is now no way to change the sirius channels on the 7612 plotter as no choice is given to change. The antenna shows up in devices. Thanks
Old 09-29-2020, 08:08 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 224
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I just had mine fixed by Garmin support. Had to go to Media and then Menu and choose GXM as source over head unit (JBL MM100). Also had SiriusXM do a hard reset. Both customer service were very helpful.
Old 09-29-2020, 08:30 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: deal,nj.us
Posts: 530
Received 77 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Spoke to Garmin today. Rep said after a while when he was done trying to blame everyone that it's a known problem umm let's see. Umm will have engineer get back to you within umm maybe weeks when they figure it out. Useless conversation. Can't pick source in media menu as of now. Had hard reset done by Sirius.
Old 09-30-2020, 03:31 AM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 47
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Having exact same problem with mine. No station info shows but plays fine. Cant change Sirius channel. Also, I have weather subscription and unit shows weather but garmin unit says no weather subscription.
Old 09-30-2020, 04:41 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 78
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Exact same problem just developed with mine. Repair people coming today. Will update later.
Old 09-30-2020, 05:43 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 224
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Guys, I was surprised how easy it was to fix mine. I had the same thing happen. I could hear music but my screen only showed volume and no longer showed channels, therefore I couldn’t browse the channel list. I don’t recall the exact steps but it goes something like this...(on Garmin) Go to the Media Screen (which only showed volume for me), Go to Menu, somewhere in there is a Devices button that showed my GXM52 and the JL Audio MM100 head unit. All I had to do is choose the GXM as the source.

I have no idea why my screen suddenly changed from channels to audio but I was surprised how easy it was to fix it. If you have sound, and weather, you simply need to make a change in your settings.
Old 09-30-2020, 05:44 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

What software version are you running and have you disconnected the GXM 53 from the network and reconnected it plus see if your head unit is to the N2k network.
Old 09-30-2020, 06:25 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 224
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

The latest, which came out about a month ago. No, I did not re-connect anything. My head unit is on the NMEA network. My GXM52 is also on the network and connects to the head unit via audio aux (red/white).

Weird thing is everything worked fine through 2-1/2 days of straight use and then mid-day, on the water, it decided to lose connection and only show volume control.
Old 09-30-2020, 08:24 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

I have the same setup as you 7610xsv/GXM52/Garmin Meteor 300 and have absolutely no issues with the marine weather of Sirius music. I'm beginning to think this is something Sirius has changed because it's across to Smart Antenna models.

Tom
Old 09-30-2020, 08:39 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

I just turned everything on on the boat everything is working fine on the XM side. I do have a remote Meteor control unit connected to my meteor so my wife can control the music from the front of the boat.
Old 09-30-2020, 09:26 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: deal,nj.us
Posts: 530
Received 77 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

It's back to normal. How no idea. Had no media menu controls, couldn't change station. Weather showed no subscription then magic everything fine. I'll take it.
Old 09-30-2020, 10:31 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,434
Likes: 0
Received 403 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

From my Navy days we referred to that as P=Pure F=(use your imagination) M= Magic ... Glad it's working again. I think it was on the XM/Sirius Side
Old 09-30-2020, 01:30 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 78
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Returned to the boat and suddenly it's working!
This was likely a Sirius glitch.
Hope this helps.
Barry
Old 09-30-2020, 06:55 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 2,117
Received 84 Likes on 54 Posts
Default

I have the GMX 53 also and while I was out fishing this past Sunday my music went out also and the only thing that I could get on the screen was the volume controls. I was busy with work this week so I haven't been out to the boat to play with it but hopefully it will be working again when I turn it on.
Old 09-30-2020, 09:05 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Wrightsville Beach, NC
Posts: 171
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I had a different issue. All of the sudden I wasn't able to control channels from my 8610 xsv. My 7610xsv controls the JL Audio mm100. Everything worked perfectly the day before until I did the latest update. I had satellite radio feed but no way to control it and my weather icons were gone. Showed up in marine network as a device but no reference in software. I called Garmin and they went through a few steps. They determined the software update was the culprit and sent me a refurbished unit. I installed it today and everything came right back. All I had to do is switch over ID on SiriusXM. Garmin has really good customer service. Garmin Tech Support

Last edited by fubmaster; 09-30-2020 at 09:19 PM.
Old 10-09-2020, 04:01 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: deal,nj.us
Posts: 530
Received 77 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Same problem again stuck on one station, can't change channels says no subscription for weather.
Old 10-09-2020, 04:25 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 243
Received 29 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Garmin

Originally Posted by happyfisherman View Post
Same problem again stuck on one station, can't change channels says no subscription for weather.

mine is doing exact same thing

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.