Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Powering garmin at home?

Old 09-12-2020, 07:58 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Riverview, Fl
Posts: 325
Received 50 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Powering garmin at home?

My boat isn't on my property so was wondering if any has powered their garmin at home, like jumper it to a lawn mower battery? Its a 1040xs. I want to update it and the only place i have wifi
Old 09-12-2020, 08:24 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7,756
Received 1,371 Likes on 1,052 Posts
Default

The unit is rated to accept as little as 10 volts to as high as 32 volts,
and a typical current draw of 2 amps.

A 12v lawn mower battery should be fine.

Or a 'dumb' 12v battery charger.
Or you might have a "wall wart" with a suitable DC output,
(naturally you would have to work out the wire connections)
Old 09-12-2020, 08:29 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 1,325
Received 198 Likes on 99 Posts
Default

I bought an 8ah 12v battery from amazon for about $12 and an extra power cord to power up my lowrances in the house. Sometimes the touch screen doesn't like to work like that, but all you have to do is touch the negative terminal on the battery when you touch the screen. Works great besides that.
Old 09-12-2020, 08:31 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'Questa, FL
Posts: 3,363
Received 287 Likes on 164 Posts
Default

Just about any ~12v power supply should do.

If you're like me and have a junk drawer of old power adaptors around you've probably got one you haven't used in years.
Likes:
Old 09-12-2020, 08:35 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Riverview, Fl
Posts: 325
Received 50 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Anybody know what pins/wires? I guess i can power in my boat and test for the 12v
Old 09-12-2020, 08:36 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'Questa, FL
Posts: 3,363
Received 287 Likes on 164 Posts
Default

First guess would be the red and black wires

Which Garmin do you have?
Old 09-12-2020, 08:39 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Jones Creek, Crisfield, MD, USA
Posts: 820
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I use a 12 Volt Power Supply too. Have owned it for 25 years and it comes in handy when needed. Do not think they cost very much.
Old 09-12-2020, 09:06 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Riverview, Fl
Posts: 325
Received 50 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

1040xs. Ill check pins with my meter
Old 09-12-2020, 01:59 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 1,325
Received 198 Likes on 99 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pavetim View Post
1040xs. Ill check pins with my meter
Why not just buy a spare power cord?
Old 09-13-2020, 07:46 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cedar Point, OH, Miami, FL
Posts: 1,073
Received 269 Likes on 194 Posts
Default

So, yes, a 12v battery will work fine. I’ve used my jumper pack. More to the point though, no Garmin unit needs a WiFi internet connection to be updated. You can download the update to a smartphone or tablet via WiFi or cellular anywhere you want and then later connect the portable device to the Garmin via WiFi (no internet) to push the file to the unit.

You can also put the file on an SD card.
Old 09-13-2020, 08:00 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Newburyport, MA
Posts: 2,010
Received 201 Likes on 123 Posts
Default

The 1040xs is a legacy unit so Garmin hasn't released any updates for it in over a year, and those were minor compatibility updates. You can see the software revision change history here: https://www8.garmin.com/support/ch.j...t=010-01182-00

At any rate, you don't need WiFi to update your chartplotter, as matter of fact you can't even use Active Captain to update legacy units. All you need to do is a 4GB-32GB SD card (regular, not micro size). Here is the link for the latest download bundle for your unit: https://www8.garmin.com/support/down...ls.jsp?id=8745

To answer your original question, yes, you can absolutely power on the unit at the bench with any 12V power supply source, I do it all the time. I would not advise you to use the pins on the back of the unit however, instead I would buy (or borrow) a proper power cable. Be mindful of the polarity when connecting the power source.

Last edited by Devil_Inside; 09-13-2020 at 10:03 AM.
Old 09-13-2020, 06:59 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cedar Point, OH, Miami, FL
Posts: 1,073
Received 269 Likes on 194 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Devil_Inside View Post
you can't even use Active Captain to update legacy units.
Actually, you can! “Legacy” is a broad term of course, but my 8212 is a good example. Introduced before Active Captain, it required updates to make it Active Captain compatible, but since ver. 10, it is. The 82XX’s don’t have built-in Wifi, but when connected to a WiFi adapter, or more likely another fully-networked unit, it can be updated sync’d and remote-controller just like a unit with native AC support.

The 1040SX has built-in WiFi.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.