Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Electrical Connections Chartplotter to Autopilot

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Electrical Connections Chartplotter to Autopilot

Old 08-19-2020, 06:36 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electrical Connections Chartplotter to Autopilot

I posted this here rather than in the 898c si forum because I thought some other forum member might be able to help. I am trying to get a (legacy) Raymarine S1000 Autopilot operating, and I am having trouble with the wiring configuration. The S1000 Autopilot must receive position information from a suitable GPS in order to function correctly. NMEA 0183 is suitable. Can somebody confirm that this is the correct way to wire the units using a Humminbird AS HHGPS Accessory Bare Wire GPS Connection Cable?

Hummingbird Raymarine
Red (12v+)
Black (Ground) Brown & Blue, Plus to Ground
Green (NMEA In) Green
White (NMEA Out) Orange
Should I connect the Red and black wires to the battery? To a marine terminal connector? Ground the black wire somewhere on the boat?

Here's info on the Raymarine wiring. Pin's not relevant since it looks like I have to cut off the connector to attach it to the Humminbird cable.
Wire Color "Pin Number" "NMEA Signal at S1000" "Connection at 3rd Party GPS"
Brown 1 -ve out NMEA -ve receive
Green 2 +ve out NMEA +ve receive
Orange 3 +ve in NMEA +ve transmit
Blue 5 -ve in NMEA -ve transmit
Part of the problem is that I don't understand what the "-ve" and "+ve" mean.

Appreciate any assistance.
Old 08-19-2020, 07:52 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,623
Likes: 0
Received 269 Likes on 223 Posts
Default

No pilot requires gps to function.

however it can be added for nav mode.
Old 08-20-2020, 05:39 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

smac999. Thanks for replying, but your post doesn't really address my question. Also, per the Raymarine Installation Guide, p. 2: "Important note. The S1000 Autopilot must receive position information from a suitable GPS in order to function correctly. GPS systems compatible with SeaTalk or NMEA or both, are suitable." p. 27 states: "GPS requirement - The S1000 must receive GPS information, to function correctly."
Old 08-21-2020, 05:23 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Ft.Pierce FL
Posts: 106
Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
No pilot requires gps to function.

however it can be added for nav mode.
this is wrong. The S1000 requires gps position to function. You want NMEA 183 out,not in,or seatalk for position. Sounds like you are using the nmea in's rather than outs.
R
Old 08-21-2020, 05:27 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Ft.Pierce FL
Posts: 106
Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

you also need to be moving a knot or three for it to work.
Old 08-21-2020, 07:06 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 1,091
Received 122 Likes on 82 Posts
Default

A50d to S1000

WHITE ( in+) GREEN (out+)
GREEN ( in -) BROWN (out-)
YELLOW (out+) ORANGE (in+)
BROWN (out-) BLUE (in-)

This worked in my installation.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.