Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Connect Yamaha outboard to Garmin Echomap Plus 62cv

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Connect Yamaha outboard to Garmin Echomap Plus 62cv

Old 08-02-2020, 10:17 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Connect Yamaha outboard to Garmin Echomap Plus 62cv

Hi,

My first post here on the forum. I'm living in Sweden and got my first boat in the beginning of this summer. It's a Crescent 490 Sport DC with a Yamaha 4 stroke F40 from 2012. We're using in for swimming and fishing.

I have installed a Garmin Echomap Plus 62cv and a transducer and now it's time to see if I may get some engine data into it as well. I found an old post where an "Oceanic Systems Yamaha Hub to N2K Micro Female Socket - 3861-F" cable was linked. It looks like it should fit in my Yamaha hub in one end and in my Garmin N2K cable in the other. My hub has one Device port and one Hub port free.

As I haven't found this cable in Europe I will order it from US why I would like to be pretty sure it works in theory at least. What do you think, guys?

/Fred
Old 08-02-2020, 01:49 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7,578
Received 1,286 Likes on 995 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Freddan101 View Post
As I haven't found this cable in Europe I will order it from US why I would like to be pretty sure it works in theory at least.
It appears you already have working Yamaha Command Link gauge(s) -
since you have a Yamaha hub.

So then, yes, to get engine data to the EchoMap,
you can connect directly,
from the NMEA 2000 receptacle on the back of the Garmin
to the unused "Device" port on the hub.
In that case the Oceanic Systems 3861-F will be 'plug & play':

However, if acquiring that cable is expensive and time consuming,
and you don't mind some simple electrical work,
then you can accomplish the same result with an ordinary NMEA 2000 cable:

use the female NMEA end to plug into the Garmin;
cut off the male end and isolate and strip the individual wires.
Splice the four wires -
red, black, blue, white -
matching color w/ color -
to the individual wires of one of the Yamaha cables.
(likely, a cable from a gauge to the hub is easiest to work with)
Done - the Garmin is connected.
Likes:
Old 08-03-2020, 01:39 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you, Fwpratt. That's a great suggestion. Sounds like the smartest way to do it. And yes, probably easiest to cut the wires to one of the gauges.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.