Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Battery 1/Off/Battery 2 Switch

Old 08-02-2020, 06:32 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery 1/Off/Battery 2 Switch

I have two starting batteries that also supply power to radio, electronics, raw water pump, and lights when outboard motor is not running. I have a battery 1/off/battery 2/both batteries switch that is not in a very accessible location. I would like to relocate switch to the helm of my center console. Has anyone done this and what was the result? Are there any other ways to switch a battery from the helm of the boat?

Thanks for any information anyone can provide.
Old 08-02-2020, 10:33 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,460
Likes: 0
Received 240 Likes on 197 Posts
Default

If you have a single engine with 2 batts. Replace it with a blue sea add a battery kit. you’ll never have to switch it.

1/2/all switches are old tech.
Old 08-02-2020, 05:25 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 376
Received 127 Likes on 90 Posts
Default

I'd recommend keeping the switch close to the batteries. Your biggest win here will be the Dual Circuit On-Off style switch...as mentioned above it's a set it and forget it type of deal since both batteries are isolated when the switch is in the "On" position.

I had a 1 + 2 All switch that came new with my 2017 Sea Hunt in a weird spot. I recently swapped it out for a dual circuit switch and all my desires about putting the switch in an easier location went away.
Old 08-02-2020, 05:30 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys, this is very helpful. I was looking at the blue sea battery kit and wondered how useful it is. I will most likely get one of these units.
Old 08-02-2020, 05:44 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 3,440
Received 1,105 Likes on 530 Posts
Default

Why not use solenoids? Bluesea has them and they work great. Then you can simply have a regular on/off switch on the console.
Old 08-05-2020, 10:44 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Received 161 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chico1979 View Post
thanks guys, this is very helpful. I was looking at the blue sea battery kit and wondered how useful it is. I will most likely get one of these units.

Probably the best 100 dollar upgrade I've made to my boat. All I do is turn the main switch ON and the ACR does the rest. So much better than the old perko switch.
Old 08-08-2020, 07:18 AM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ocean City MD
Posts: 1,093
Received 253 Likes on 172 Posts
Default

Are you having both batteries starter batteries? or one as Deep cycle and other starter?
Do you run power to things like electronics, live well, water etc with the engine off?
Old 08-08-2020, 08:38 AM
  #8  
HTJ
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Baytown, TX
Posts: 11,712
Received 3,392 Likes on 2,091 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
If you have a single engine with 2 batts. Replace it with a blue sea add a battery kit. you’ll never have to switch it.

1/2/all switches are old tech.
School me please sir - and use small words because I am electrically challenged. I recently did (sortaish) what the OP wants to do - I relocated my batteries and switch to the console and replaced one of the batteries that was getting marginal. Anywho we ran out 30 or so yesterday on the old battery and being there was little to no current and our drifts lasted forever I shut the motor off each time and when I went to fire up after the last drift the old battery gave up the ghost. A quick switch to batt 1 and we are on our way without pause.


So wut would the Bluesea "switch" do in this situation? Would it sense the low battery and automatically take it out of the equation or? The idea of smoking a stator or regulator, or the bad battery draining the good one is one of the things that keeps me up at night.
Old 08-08-2020, 08:44 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tierra Verde, FL
Posts: 335
Received 34 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by HTJ View Post
School me please sir - and use small words because I am electrically challenged. I recently did (sortaish) what the OP wants to do - I relocated my batteries and switch to the console and replaced one of the batteries that was getting marginal. Anywho we ran out 30 or so yesterday on the old battery and being there was little to no current and our drifts lasted forever I shut the motor off each time and when I went to fire up after the last drift the old battery gave up the ghost. A quick switch to batt 1 and we are on our way without pause.


So wut would the Bluesea "switch" do in this situation? Would it sense the low battery and automatically take it out of the equation or? The idea of smoking a stator or regulator, or the bad battery draining the good one is one of the things that keeps me up at night.
The Bluesea switch has a "combine" position for that situation.
Old 08-08-2020, 11:11 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Received 161 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by HTJ View Post
School me please sir - and use small words because I am electrically challenged. I recently did (sortaish) what the OP wants to do - I relocated my batteries and switch to the console and replaced one of the batteries that was getting marginal. Anywho we ran out 30 or so yesterday on the old battery and being there was little to no current and our drifts lasted forever I shut the motor off each time and when I went to fire up after the last drift the old battery gave up the ghost. A quick switch to batt 1 and we are on our way without pause.


So wut would the Bluesea "switch" do in this situation? Would it sense the low battery and automatically take it out of the equation or? The idea of smoking a stator or regulator, or the bad battery draining the good one is one of the things that keeps me up at night.
When you wire your add a battery kit, you are wiring your electrical to the switch so that only your engine is wired to the starting battery and all your "house" loads will be on the other battery which should be a deep cycle battery. The ACR in the kit is used to either isolate or combine the batteries depending on whether it senses a charge or drain on the system. In other words, it combines and charges both batteries when the engine is running and it isolates the batteries when the engine is off. In this situation such as yours with a bad battery, it would keep the two batteries isolated when the engine isn't running so that one battery doesn't drag down the other.
Old Yesterday, 04:35 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 1,028
Received 181 Likes on 140 Posts
Default

An ACR also protects you electronics from voltage drops when you start the motor. I used Blue Seas but many say that the Yadina switch is easier to install. The Blue Seas switch was fairly cheap to buy but I also had to buy cable, a crimper, and a couple of 50a breakers, I was also very lucky to have the boat wiring diagram from Century when I bought it, that was very helpful.
Likes:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.