Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

transducer problems

Old 08-02-2020, 05:51 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 8 Posts
Default transducer problems

I have an Alweld 1856 aluminum boat that I installed a Garmin Echomap Plus 44CV with the packaged transducer on and have been having problems with the depth with it since I installed it. This is my fourth boat that I have self installed GPS/Fish/Depth Finders on and I have never had a problem before this. First of all, I kept losing depth at speed. I had difficulty finding the right mounting point on the transom due to the way the bottom of the boat is constructed, i.e. numerous strakes/keels and fixed trim tabs. Finally found the sweet spot that had the LEAST disturbed water and got the depth at speed, but only up to about 15 mph, then I lose it. I have learned to live with that, but the second problem is something that I can't live with: after I lose the bottom at speed and then slow down to an idle, it takes the unit "forever" (most of the time) to find the bottom again and settle down. After talking to Garmin Tech Support several times, I have tried adjusting the gain and changing the frequency settings "ad nauseam" with no consistent results. I am beginning to wonder if I have a bad transducer. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 08-03-2020, 06:12 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

anyone?
Old 08-03-2020, 07:12 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,623
Received 446 Likes on 301 Posts
Default

Power unit off/on. Poor solution, I know.
Old 08-03-2020, 11:29 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 5,928
Received 2,547 Likes on 1,211 Posts
Default

First thing I would recommend is improving your installation so you can get readings at higher speeds. Most likely lowering it will do that plus a little angle adjustment. It will kick out a good rooster tail wake but there's spray deflectors available to help with that.

As far as the auto settings getting lost, this reply to another poster is also applicable to your situation. Short version is to use manual depth mode whenever possible to avoid the unit getting "lost" and taking a long time to cycle back in.


Originally Posted by bills106 View Post
The auto gain/depth/sensitivity software in the Garmin units does fine for 90% of peoples needs but when exceeding the limits it can get "lost" and stuck in loops for a very long time before it resets and starts over. I always try to get customers to switch to manual mode whenever possible but especially when getting towards the max depth capability of the unit. If you don't catch it before it gets "lost", you can switch to manual depth mode and set the depth you are looking to use. After a short while, the auto gain/sensitivity settings, which have probably gone to maximum, will cycle through and settle into a usable display. If not, switch to manual on them and back them down too.

I just had a salesman who calls on us weekly tell me this happened to him and he called Garmin tech support and they either didn't understand the circumstances leading up to it or it was a newbie, he said he was now looking for a new unit to replace his 741XS as the unit never regained bottom all the way home. I suggested manually setting the depth range to 20' in his slip and after 20 seconds or so it cycled through the gain/sensitivity and was back to normal.
Likes:
Old 08-08-2020, 08:18 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 16 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bills106 View Post
First thing I would recommend is improving your installation so you can get readings at higher speeds. Most likely lowering it will do that plus a little angle adjustment. It will kick out a good rooster tail wake but there's spray deflectors available to help with that.

As far as the auto settings getting lost, this reply to another poster is also applicable to your situation. Short version is to use manual depth mode whenever possible to avoid the unit getting "lost" and taking a long time to cycle back in.
Good to know and I will try that because I'm consistently in 15-20 ft. depths. Hope it helps.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.