Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Need opinions on Simrad and Garmin install on my new boat

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Need opinions on Simrad and Garmin install on my new boat

Old 07-25-2020, 07:33 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ortega River; Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,467
Received 550 Likes on 313 Posts
Default Need opinions on Simrad and Garmin install on my new boat

Good morning. After careful consideration, we've ordered a new Parker 2320 pilot house with a single F300 yamaha motor.
I added ( from the factory because it was too good a value to pass up) Garmin 8610XSV , B60 transducer, Garmin 115 VHF. I needed SOMETHING Garmin because I have SD cards with 7 years of NE Florida numbers accumulated. I needed a garmin to read those numbers ( waypoints, etc..):
Lewmar Profish 700 windlass
Minn Kota Terrova Ipilot 87"

Here is my question: I have been very impressed with any of the Simrad C-mor mapping that I have seen on buddies boats, so I want that technology on my Parker. I am having the Garmin 10" XSV flush mounted at the helm.
Wish list:
C-mor mapping
Radar ( 4G Simrad or Garmin)?
Autopilot ( garmin or simrad)?
Tunes: was thinking of keeping the helm UN-cluttered, so if I went with a Go9 mounted on a bracket up on the ceiling of the pilot house at the helm, I could use the Sonic Hub II to a JL amp to M880's in the pilot house (don't need crazy sound system, just a little tunes underway).
Also would like a 9" MFD mounted beneath the lip of the pilothouse on the cockpit to have sonar out there for bottom fishing.

Should I mix/ match Garmin and Simrad on the boat? Should I go with NSS3's or Go9's?

So many options. I need some direction. ( I need to add two 9" units: one in the pilot house mounted above and one for the cockpit).
Also, what transducer should I go w/ for fishing 80-600 feet water? Add something to the Garmin ? or add something to Simrad MFD's? I'd also like to believe I am going to get into deep dropping for bottom fishing in 1200-2000'/ water.

I know I am all over the place with this: I also know a TON of you guys have been down this road w/ outfitting new boats with careful consideration.

Thanks, Aaron
Old 07-25-2020, 09:24 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,211
Received 773 Likes on 502 Posts
Default

Why can't use use Garmin HomePort to take all those numbers from the Garmin unit you have that is in .ADM format and put them (save) into a .GPX format file and upload them to a Simrad (I am assuming Simrad will read .GPX) unit?
Personally in modern times I would never mix and match units.
Old 07-25-2020, 09:40 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,341
Likes: 0
Received 1,600 Likes on 846 Posts
Default

What type of fishing do you do...depth...bottom or midwater etc
Old 07-26-2020, 04:16 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ortega River; Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,467
Received 550 Likes on 313 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LI32 View Post
Why can't use use Garmin HomePort to take all those numbers from the Garmin unit you have that is in .ADM format and put them (save) into a .GPX format file and upload them to a Simrad (I am assuming Simrad will read .GPX) unit?
Personally in modern times I would never mix and match units.
That is way beyond my technical skills to convert files. Why would you not want to have a single Garmin MFD and (2) SImrad MFD's on the same boat?

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
What type of fishing do you do...depth...bottom or midwater etc
Gil, I mostly bottom fish: 80 to 180 feet of water targeting: Cobia, Mangrove snapper, trigger fish, Vermillion snapper, grouper, pinkies. I do have the option from the factory to add a B150 transducer ( $550 installed) to the Garmin 8610XSV instead of the B60. Thoughts on transducers and Simrad MFD's, radar and autopilot?
Old 07-26-2020, 04:33 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,376
Received 110 Likes on 69 Posts
Default

I am a Simrad user, formerly a Lowrance user from about 1982. The waypoint conversion is easy, so you should not let that be a worry. IM me and I will explain.
Old 07-30-2020, 03:27 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ortega River; Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,467
Received 550 Likes on 313 Posts
Default

UPDATE:

Decided to go with (2) Simrad NSS9 evo 3's flush mounted at the dash and a single Simrad NSS9 evo3 mounted in the cockpit under the lip of the pilot house on the starboard side above the second cockpit station. Halo 20 radar on the pilot house. Holding off on autopilot due to budget for this year.
(2) Standard Horizon GX1800 VHF and (2) Digital 529 antennas.

Question on transducer: Bottom Fishing between 80 to 200 feet of water 80% of the time. In a pure and perfect world, I would have a thru hull mounted transducer instead of the transom mount. Thoughts? B175M ?

Helm should look like this installation (less the Simrad AP in the top left of helm).

Name:  2-B1933-E7-C80-D-4618-B6-F1-0395710-FE735.jpg
Views: 191
Size:  64.2 KB

Last edited by sydngoose; 07-30-2020 at 03:57 AM.
Old 07-30-2020, 03:50 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Indialantic, FL
Posts: 777
Received 123 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

Definitely, go with thru-hull transducer over t-mount. You will get much better bottom sounding at faster speeds when you don't have to deal with stern water/bubble action.
Old 07-30-2020, 04:50 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ortega River; Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 2,467
Received 550 Likes on 313 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by whitey436 View Post
Definitely, go with thru-hull transducer over t-mount. You will get much better bottom sounding at faster speeds when you don't have to deal with stern water/bubble action.
just trying to choose the most appropriate thru hull for my application: Cruising at 27-31 mph, bottom fishing up to 200'
From talking to others, B175M maybe the ticket.
Old 07-30-2020, 04:56 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Buies Creek, NC
Posts: 4,934
Likes: 0
Received 47 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LI32 View Post
Why can't use use Garmin HomePort to take all those numbers from the Garmin unit you have that is in .ADM format and put them (save) into a .GPX format file and upload them to a Simrad (I am assuming Simrad will read .GPX) unit?
Personally in modern times I would never mix and match units.
Wait, what? I thought Homeport was done away with by Garmin a few years ago? I have been looking for it to install on my new computer. Not to hijack the thread, but a link to it would be awesome if anybody can share. Particularly for a Mac computer.
Old 07-30-2020, 05:05 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,211
Received 773 Likes on 502 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dpcarson View Post
Wait, what? I thought Homeport was done away with by Garmin a few years ago? I have been looking for it to install on my new computer. Not to hijack the thread, but a link to it would be awesome if anybody can share. Particularly for a Mac computer.
This is the link on the Garmin website - https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/64242
The biggest issue with it is it does not work with the current G3 Vision maps, but for managing older data (pre-2019) it is still the best program out there.
Old 08-02-2020, 12:57 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Buies Creek, NC
Posts: 4,934
Likes: 0
Received 47 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LI32 View Post
This is the link on the Garmin website - https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/64242
The biggest issue with it is it does not work with the current G3 Vision maps, but for managing older data (pre-2019) it is still the best program out there.
Guess I need to buy another windows computer then. Or try to get one of my old laptops to fire up.

Thanks for the link

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.