Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

1040 xs to 1242 xsv so much for plug and play

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

1040 xs to 1242 xsv so much for plug and play

Old 07-05-2020, 04:01 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: palm bay florida
Posts: 409
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default 1040 xs to 1242 xsv so much for plug and play

i had an 1040 xs and a 820xs networked together that i bought form Gil back in 2014 they have been working perfectly, i could not leave well enough alone and today upgraded to the 1242 xsv touch. Well the new unit cam on , i had to use the adapter cable include to turn my thru hull from the blue end to the orange end but that all seems to be working. BUT and it is a big BUT, the 820 is out to lunch, it hunts to boot, when it does boot the keys do not work. i had two cards that lived in the 1040 one was a purchased blue charts, the other was a 16GB that i used to do upgrades with ( to be honest i have not upgraded the units in a long time they did everything i needed them to do). I tried plugging the cards into the 820 comes up saying it cannot unlock the map card? Has trouble booting off the 16GB card. To make matters worse no waypoints on the new machine, i hate to go backward and reinstall the 1040 especially since i had to use a piece of starboard on the dash to make the new unit fit.
I will call Garmin support tomorrow but am hoping someone has had this issue.

jimmydkid
Old 07-05-2020, 06:47 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 276
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Did you download a fresh version of the Garmin software from their website and do a software update to ensure everything is running at the latest versions?

If you "haven't upgraded the 820" is a while, but are running new software on the 1242, then that could be your issue.
Old 07-05-2020, 07:22 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 4,046
Received 246 Likes on 203 Posts
Default

Update the software on the 840xs, most likely fix most of your issues.

Jim
Old 07-05-2020, 10:26 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mississippi/ Florida
Posts: 119
Received 197 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Put the card in the 1240xs and transfer all the waypoints to it "Merge from card"
Old 07-06-2020, 07:31 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: palm bay florida
Posts: 409
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Just spoke to Garmin, probably have to go backward and update the 1040 and the 820 then try plugging in the new 1242
Old 07-06-2020, 03:41 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: palm bay florida
Posts: 409
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

came home and hooked up both the older units the 1040 and the 820 and downloaded the latest software. Put the chip in the 1040 and it looked like it transferred the files across the network to the 820 but the 820 will not boot up. I get boot loader message then software loading message. 1.5 hour wait for support from garmin. beware some of these toys do not play nice together.
Old 07-06-2020, 04:37 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 1,123
Received 214 Likes on 165 Posts
Default

I have an 840xs and a 1242xsv networked. I get the same message can't unlock maps but it only started when I put the back up chip in, I have G3 charts installed and it works fine so I just acknowledge it and move on. I should try and pull it out and see what happens, I'm always tweeking things and there are only so many hours in a day. The 820 and 840 are the same and you should be able to use Active Captain to update if one is available. I think I had an update for the 840xs this year. I'm really happy with the 2 units networked, they share the charts an I can use both ducers that are mounted.
Old 07-06-2020, 05:02 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: palm bay florida
Posts: 409
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

That is wha ti had with the 820 and 1040 networked, i just off phone with garmin over an hour, and we tried everything. Even a hard reboot, the 820 loaded the newest software it just kept coming up with a boot loader error and kept trying to load software. If i cycled the power,the home display came up but none of the keys worked. Well for 200.00 exchanged Garmin will send me a new one and they guaranteed it will network with the 1242xsv. probably will not have it for Red Snapper season, i almost just bought one of the 7608 for 800.00 and said the hell with it, but the 820 was mounted in a NavPod on top of the dash and they get expensive too!
Old 07-06-2020, 05:04 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: palm bay florida
Posts: 409
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

it is good to hear that they will work, as i have a refurb coming.
Old 07-06-2020, 06:27 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 1,123
Received 214 Likes on 165 Posts
Default

I think it will, I believe the only difference between the 840 and the 820 was the pre loaded charts, I bought it a long time ago so I could be wrong. The chart that it can't unlock is the G@ from my back up chip. I have 2 in one is for the Active Captain.
Old 07-07-2020, 03:56 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: palm bay florida
Posts: 409
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

sent you a PM did you network through a black box (GCV10) or did you use the extra network port on the rear of the 1242 to plug the 820 into?
Old 07-07-2020, 05:22 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 1,123
Received 214 Likes on 165 Posts
Default

Just replied.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.