Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Upgrade

Old 05-02-2020, 08:33 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LI NY
Posts: 147
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance Upgrade

Thinking of upgrading to HDS live 12” or Simrad NSS12 evo3
I am currently running a Gen2 Touch 12 and a Gen1 12” with the lss 2 transducers B744 thru hull & TM260 Also Br 24 Radar & LGC 4000 Gps antenna.
Will my transducers & Radar work with the Gen3 or Simrad?

Last edited by in2fishn; 05-02-2020 at 12:52 PM.
Old 05-02-2020, 10:55 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,009
Received 1,042 Likes on 842 Posts
Default

Yes, the transducer and radar will work with both. Gen3 is old, replaced by HDS Carbon which again is replaced by HDS Live. Carbon is a good unit, same generation technology as NSS Evo3. If you are able to find Carbon for a good price it's a good alternative. I prefer Evo3 over Carbon, you can get NSS12 Evo3 for less than $2600 now.
Old 05-02-2020, 12:14 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LI NY
Posts: 147
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Abbor,
i made a mistake in my post I wanted to upgrade to HDs live not HDS 3
Old 05-03-2020, 01:53 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Austin and Corpus Christi/Flour Bluff, Texas
Posts: 3,425
Received 249 Likes on 187 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Yes, the transducer and radar will work with both. Gen3 is old, replaced by HDS Carbon which again is replaced by HDS Live. Carbon is a good unit, same generation technology as NSS Evo3. If you are able to find Carbon for a good price it's a good alternative. I prefer Evo3 over Carbon, you can get NSS12 Evo3 for less than $2600 now.
You prefer the Carbon over the Live, please explain. I'm going from an HDS8 Gen2 and due to software updates not being offered any longer I need to change to something. My goal is communicate with my Yamaha and my Xi5 TM via touch screen. Not meaning to interfere with what the OP is trying to accomplish, but I thought my question my help us both.
Old 05-03-2020, 03:56 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,009
Received 1,042 Likes on 842 Posts
Default

No, I'm not preferring Carbon over Live, but for a good price I could pick a Carbon. But I don't know if there are any Carbons left.
Old 05-03-2020, 08:56 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 29
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
No, I'm not preferring Carbon over Live, but for a good price I could pick a Carbon. But I don't know if there are any Carbons left.
Abbor,

Live over Evo3? Also, are all Live units quad core? Thanks.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.