Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Camera in engine room?

Old 02-14-2020, 04:23 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,327
Likes: 0
Received 291 Likes on 199 Posts
Default Camera in engine room?

Anybody have one on their sportfish, yacht, whatever? If so has being to see in there ever helped prevent a catastrophe? Like a leaky hose or something like that?
Old 02-14-2020, 07:28 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Posts: 1,499
Received 99 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

The head boat I fish on (American Spirit) in Destin has two in the engine room, one on each engine. Nice to be able to see what's happening.
Old 02-14-2020, 07:31 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See screen name
Posts: 5,532
Received 710 Likes on 436 Posts
Default

Why not just take a first hand peak down there on a regularly scheduled basis? Much more effective, plus you can take some quick temp readings with an IR thermometer . Cameras don't hear and smell too good either.
Likes:
Old 02-14-2020, 07:39 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 943
Received 123 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

I agree, only thing needed would be a high water alarm. To me a camera would be a useless gadget
Old 02-15-2020, 07:22 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 563
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by aquaholic23 View Post
I agree, only thing needed would be a high water alarm. To me a camera would be a useless gadget
Not at all! I had a camera (auto backup camera <$20) that I installed in my bilge for a 27ft open fisherman. I used my NSS Evo2 Simrad to view the camera. With all the coolers and such on deck, it’s a pain to access the bilge. With a flip of a switch I can see exactly what was going on in the bilge running at 40+ mph to the Bahamas. One of the best additions to my boat for almost no money, just some time to install. Anyone with a “video in” on their chart plotter should consider installing one for piece of mind while under way.
Old 02-15-2020, 01:37 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 4,949
Received 397 Likes on 227 Posts
Default

I have had them on two boats, one an express and a Sportfish, I love them, I keep a 1/4 window on my screen open all the time. Already saved me once, forgot to put two zincs in heat exchanger, get to the end of the canal and notice water all over the place. No, they are no substitute for stick8mg your head down there but any smoke etc will show up immediately. I used $25 Amazon cameras run to my Garmin and couldn’t be happier. For a Sportfish, I can’t imagine not having them
Old 02-15-2020, 03:40 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 80
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just installed 3 cameras in the engine room of my Henriques. I put an additional camera in my lazarette. I used ir/color security cameras which are dirt cheap on eBay. I also installed a video processor so I can view all cameras on one screen on my garmin mfds. So for less than 200 bucks, it’s cheap insurance. I will post pic when I get down to the boat.
Old 02-15-2020, 05:10 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pt judith ri
Posts: 573
Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Capt_BobL View Post
I just installed 3 cameras in the engine room of my Henriques. I put an additional camera in my lazarette. I used ir/color security cameras which are dirt cheap on eBay. I also installed a video processor so I can view all cameras on one screen on my garmin mfds. So for less than 200 bucks, it’s cheap insurance. I will post pic when I get down to the boat.
can you post link to the processor you used? My 7612 garmin only has 2 inputs, I would love to add a couple more cameras in engine room etc. in addition to my FLIR.

Last edited by ky87le; 02-16-2020 at 06:46 AM.
Old 02-15-2020, 05:51 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,327
Likes: 0
Received 291 Likes on 199 Posts
Default

I could maybe add a cheap thermal camera, I'm not sure if there are cheap ones though as I haven't looked. Currently I have 3 cams on the boat and I can either put 4 or get a bigger switch and add more.
Old 02-16-2020, 10:27 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 80
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ky87le View Post
can you post link to the processor you used? My 7612 garmin only has 2 inputs, I would love to add a couple more cameras in engine room etc. in addition to my FLIR.
Here is the link to the video processor I used. This processor supports up to 4 cams with 2 video outputs. video outputs can be wired to each of your garmins. If you get this, keep in mind it is not intended to be used in a boat so it has to be protected from the marine environment
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Podofo-HD-C...YAAOSw~-ZcduD0

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.