Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

ISO Northstar 952x(w) antenna

Old 01-15-2020, 11:02 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,335
Received 324 Likes on 176 Posts
Default ISO Northstar 952x(w) antenna

Like an idiot I left the antenna on the boat when I sold it so I’m looking for a new antenna for my Northstar. The serial number has a W at the end. Anyone have one hanging around or know of anyone that might? I have found a few online but not exactly clear which one I need as the ones I see aren’t the same as the “mushroom” shape one I had.
Old 01-15-2020, 11:05 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 415
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

I think I have one for you. Give me till tomorrow to search for it and I'll upload pics. Tell me if it's want your looking for.
Old 01-15-2020, 11:08 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 415
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Default


I had this listed for sale a while back. I know I boxed it up and put it away, I just need to look for it. I should have it located by tomorrow if this is the one you're looking for.
Likes:
Old 01-15-2020, 11:11 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,335
Received 324 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mleads310 View Post
I think I have one for you. Give me till tomorrow to search for it and I'll upload pics. Tell me if it's want your looking for.
Thanks!
Old 01-15-2020, 11:12 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,335
Received 324 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mleads310 View Post

I had this listed for sale a while back. I know I boxed it up and put it away, I just need to look for it. I should have it located by tomorrow if this is the one you're looking for.
It looks just like that but I have the different connectors. I need the BNC connector on the cable. Thanks a lot though.
Old 01-16-2020, 12:28 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,634
Received 592 Likes on 444 Posts
Default

The W just means it employs WAAS positioning corrections for best accuracy , That data comes from satellites same as all the other data it receives , unlike the about-phased-out, land-based differential GPS correction signals., so you do not need the "combo " GPS/DGGPS pancake antenna and splitter or the separate DGPS antenna & coupler..

The standard Northstar AN150 antenna ( with BNC connector) would work fine or , FWIW, China offers a cheap version w/ BNC connector for 9 $36.50 & free shipping".
Amazon Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B00XKVF68C/ref=dp_olp_0?ie=UTF8&condition=all https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B00XKVF68C/ref=dp_olp_0?ie=UTF8&condition=all

eBay has a few antennas. Here's one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Northstar-A...MAAOSwM0hdxCmj They also include an ad for a cheap one form china that has BNC connector on the Northstar GPS end. https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...r&_sacat=31278

Note- on some antennas there is a connector on the antenna so you just need a long enough cable with the appropriate connectors ( TNC &/or BNC ) at the ends. You either have that or can buy or make one.

Quick connect BNC .
Amazon Amazon
, or screw-on TNC :
https://www.amazon.com/s?k=tnc+connectors&ref=nb_sb_noss_1 https://www.amazon.com/s?k=tnc+connectors&ref=nb_sb_noss_1
Likes:
Old 01-16-2020, 08:26 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,335
Received 324 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot for the info TTaxi. I am getting an antenna from mleads310 but I’ll keep this info in mind!
Old 01-16-2020, 10:27 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,634
Received 592 Likes on 444 Posts
Default

If by any chance the connector is not BNC , you can always easily replace it with one of Shakespeare's gold-plated Centerpin solderless BNC connectors:
https://www.thegpsstore.com/Centerpi...le--P3434.aspx
Old 01-17-2020, 12:16 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,335
Received 324 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

Sweet. Good to know! I found a TNC to BNC adapter that I’ll try. Any issues I’ll go with the Shakespeare connector.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.