Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NMEA 2000 Network

Old 11-10-2019, 02:43 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 77
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default NMEA 2000 Network

I have several devices connected to my NMEA 2000 backbone that were not labeled by the installer. I would like to disconnect devices from the backbone to identify which cable goes to which device. Can I disconnect the cable from the T piece or do I have to remove the T piece from the backbone?

Thanks
Old 11-10-2019, 02:50 PM
  #2  
dev
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 898
Received 1,084 Likes on 499 Posts
Default

You can disconnect just the cable and leave an empty T.
Old 11-11-2019, 05:47 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cedar Point, OH, Miami, FL
Posts: 1,064
Received 268 Likes on 193 Posts
Default

Yep - as long as you leave the terminators in-place, you're fine removing cables from T's, but keep in mind that the network has to be powered. Hopefully the power connection yellow or you can trace the power source without disconnecting it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.