Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Old 10-29-2006, 08:59 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Just wondering if anyone here is running the M260 on there Carolina Classic? I have a 25CC that I trailer & I want to install a Furuno 585 with the M260 & I'm wondering how the transducer performs with this hull & where the best location might be? Thanks Charlie
Old 10-29-2006, 10:34 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 525
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

I currently have the Furuno 582L with the transom mount tri-ducer. I'm thinking about upgrading my transducer and will be watching your thread. There's not a lot of options for locating the M260.
Old 10-29-2006, 12:23 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

CohoMike The only place I think I would be able to mount it would be in the first hatch behind the engine down in beside the seacocks. I also posted this on the Carolina Classic forum a couple of days ago not much luck. Hoping to have better luck here with some people who are running them in there Carolina Classics. Any help will be great fully appreciated!!! Thanks Charlie
Old 10-29-2006, 12:31 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 525
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

I was thinking that might work, pretty cramped location. A couple other places that might work would be under the second hatch back by the transom under the fish box, might have to move the bilge pump. The only other spot I could think of that might work would be under the fresh water tank, not sure there is enough height clearance there though, also possible turbulence problem here from the thru hulls. If you get one installed, I would be interested in hearing how it performs, lots of glass to shoot thru.
Old 10-29-2006, 12:54 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

I don't think there would be enough room under the fresh water tank but I to was thinking about in the rear hatch & possibly having to move the bilige pump not sure. I'm really hoping to find someone on here that has already gone threw this on the CC25. Charlie
Old 10-30-2006, 10:14 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Well CohoMike I posted this same question on the Carolina Classic forum & no bites there either. I am begining to think we are either the only two CC owners or no one is using the M260. ;? Charlie
Old 10-31-2006, 09:20 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 525
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Maybe no-one can get one to fit? Maybe you or I will be the guinnea pig on this one.
Old 11-01-2006, 04:27 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,348
Received 129 Likes on 76 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Have you called Carolina Classic or Airmar? Sometimes they will have advice based on experience and a reason why it may not work....that hull is pretty thick. Both companies have been good to deal with in my experience.

Make sure you have the unit set to 1kw to get the full benefit of the 1kw transducer.

Ben
Old 11-01-2006, 07:53 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

bens2 That's going to be my next step I was just hoping I would find some people on here that where actually using one on there CC. I to was wondering about the hull thickness. Thanks Charlie
Old 11-02-2006, 12:48 PM
  #10  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mount Pleasant, SC
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

I installed a P79 in-hull in my Bluewater and all I can say is wow! My Garmin 320C works much better than it did with the transom mount. I see much more detail and never lose bottom at any speed. I will always have an in or through hull for now on.
Old 11-02-2006, 09:23 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

I was just talking with a guy on the CC forum he just informed me the hull on the CC is 1 3/4 thick I didn't realize the hull was that thick that might have a big affect on its performance. I still need to talk with CC & Airmar to see what they say. My other option would be to recess a thru hull wich would give me better performance & still would not interfer with me trailering but would be a lot more work to install. I was really hoping for the easier install of the m260 but might not be worth the sacrifice. Got to soon make up my mind. ;? Charlie
Old 11-05-2006, 09:53 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Found this on Airmars site this morning under q&a. What is maximum hull thickness that I can shoot through? Answer - The hull must be solid fiberglass at the mounting location- no foam or plywood coring mateial. The P79 (600W) can transmit through 1/2-5/8 inch of fiberglass. The M260 (1KW) and the R199 (2KW) can transmit through 1 inch of solid glass. Tomorrow I will call CC to find out the exact thickness of the hull. Charlie
Old 11-05-2006, 12:02 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Shoot through the hull transducers are usualy a last ditch effort. The fiberglass they shoot through absorbs the signal, so a 1000 watt machine will look like 600 watts, and a 600watt machine is only about 350watts.

What you need is a low profile, tilted element transducer, you can run trailer wheels right over them, they match any angle of your hull, and they work great!
Old 11-05-2006, 05:36 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Capt. Joe Haase - 11/5/2006 1:02 PM

Shoot through the hull transducers are usualy a last ditch effort. The fiberglass they shoot through absorbs the signal, so a 1000 watt machine will look like 600 watts, and a 600watt machine is only about 350watts.

What you need is a low profile, tilted element transducer, you can run trailer wheels right over them, they match any angle of your hull, and they work great!
So you think the tilted element 600w will perform better then the 1000w M260 will shooting through the hull? I didn't think you would loose that much. Charlie
Old 11-06-2006, 07:06 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 525
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

I looked into the tilted element transducers when they first came out. Maximum tilt was for a 22* V hull at the time.
Old 11-06-2006, 08:22 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

CohoMike - 11/6/2006 8:06 AM

I looked into the tilted element transducers when they first came out. Maximum tilt was for a 22* V hull at the time.
CohoMike I Just double checked Airmars sight the B60-20 should work. But I was still hopeing the M260 was going to be more then 600w shooting through the hull. I'am calling CC & Airmar later today I will let you know what I find out. Charlie

B60-12 is 8-15 degree
B60-20 is 16-24 degree
Old 11-06-2006, 11:06 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

Ok here it is I just got done talking with a gentleman at Carolina Classic he says they install lots of M260 in there boats all the way up to there 35 footers which are 1 3/4 thick hull. I also talked to a guy from Airmar who says the M260 will lose about 20% shooting through a 1'' hull. The CC25 is about 1 1/4'' thick he said you would probably lose about 25- 30%. So the M260 would put between 700-750W or the tilted element B60-20 at 600w. So you should get a little better performance out of the M260. Now the question is it worth the extra money? ;? Charlie
Old 11-08-2006, 12:11 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL USA
Posts: 1,738
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Carolina Classic with Airmar M260

sharkfisher - 11/6/2006 11:06 AM

Ok here it is I just got done talking with a gentleman at Carolina Classic he says they install lots of M260 in there boats all the way up to there 35 footers which are 1 3/4 thick hull. I also talked to a guy from Airmar who says the M260 will lose about 20% shooting through a 1'' hull. The CC25 is about 1 1/4'' thick he said you would probably lose about 25- 30%. So the M260 would put between 700-750W or the tilted element B60-20 at 600w. So you should get a little better performance out of the M260. Now the question is it worth the extra money? ;? Charlie
It's not all about watts. The M260 has multiple elements shooting the high frequency waves. You will get much better definition and target separation that you would with a single element unit. I think the multi-element unit is as high as 50 times better.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.