Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Plotter to VHF for DSC

Old 10-25-2006, 12:11 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plotter to VHF for DSC

If this has been previously covered, please refer me to it because I couldn't find it. I have a Furuno GP 7000F, and I want to connect it to my ICOM 502 so that I can use the DSC button when needed.

I s/w Furuno and was told the white cable in the NMEA is the transmit out wire, and the black or blue is the ground. I've got a black cable, so I'll assume it's the ground.

My ICOM came with two RCA cables (red and white), each with an inner wire and a ground.

I need to hook the NMEA to the RCA's.

I cant figure out if there's a common ground or what. Anyone done this or have any suggestions? Any assistance/clarifications would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Craig
Old 10-25-2006, 09:58 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kinston,NC
Posts: 778
Likes: 0
Received 38 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Re: Plotter to VHF for DSC

Craig, I went through this exact thing with a uniden / furuno setup. I was surprised that the wiring colors were not standard. I made several calls to Uniden, Furuno, and Consumers Marine asking for the combination. It finally came down to trial and error. I took a semi-educated guess and hooked the wires together and it works. Good Luck.
Old 10-25-2006, 10:59 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Plotter to VHF for DSC

hey search for my posts...there is no common ground for the 502....you need to ground both rca grounds separately (example: i have both grounds going to the same neg terminal of a house battery)....there should be a common ground for the furuno but i am not sure as my setup uses a garmin...i know it sounds complicated but is very easy..looks at my posts for more discussion.
james
Old 10-26-2006, 10:58 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Plotter to VHF for DSC

Thanks, guys. I'll recheck the schematics and give it a try.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.