Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Old 10-24-2006, 04:44 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Redington Beach, FL
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Please post your issues with Airmar M260 in hull transducer here.
Your comments are greatly appreciated.

Old 10-24-2006, 06:30 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Very clear picture with Raymarine E series system was the last one I messed with. No complaints here.
Old 10-24-2006, 06:56 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 6,188
Received 693 Likes on 430 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

what kind of boat do you have...will not work with certain boats e.g. cored fiberglass hulls. bilge access can be an issue for some as well as it is quite large. some say that shooting through the hull can use up some of your sonar's power. need a separate temp sensor. however, most anecdotal evidence i've read has been positive.
Old 10-24-2006, 07:27 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southeast Florida
Posts: 1,032
Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Having one installed as I write this. I have to move bidge pumps around to make it fit. I hear there is a 15%-20% loss of power shooting thru the hull, but I figure 800-850 watts that is perfectly positioned to read smooth water, and will never get knocked around, is the best option for me.

If I did not do the M260, I would go with the custom glassed in thru hull (no fairing block) which would be even better.
Old 10-26-2006, 09:48 AM
  #5  
tg
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Marco Island
Posts: 2,949
Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

I've got one, installed myself. Works great...I can read bottom at 30 mph.
Old 10-26-2006, 10:10 AM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Here is another thread.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...ts=13#M1043372
Old 10-26-2006, 03:47 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Jersey
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Was very hesitant to go with the in hull,but I am very happy with the performance(E120).Picked up bottom at 2200 and reads way better than I expected at speed(30 knts in bay).
Old 10-27-2006, 01:25 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 3,268
Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Just to point out...every transducer shoots through something, typically a plastic case. I have no hard data but I suspect the in-hull mount benefits from the hull's perfectly flush contact with the water, and that probably compensates for the signal loss compared to a thru-hull transducer that has a mounting flange or uses one of those fairing blocks that disturbs the flow to at least some extent. Seems to me the only thing better would be a pocket mounted transducer flush with the boat bottom like Fletch has.
Old 10-27-2006, 01:46 PM
  #9  
PSW
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,695
Received 216 Likes on 96 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Go to Airmar website and research the different options and compare the Q factor. From what I understand that is the most scientific and unbiased way to compare performance of a transducer. The Q factor on the M260 is very impressive. I plan on installing our after the Miami show where I can do some final research.
Old 10-27-2006, 02:28 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Redington Beach, FL
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

You guys are bad.
I hoped for some negative comments so I save $600. But no, all the research and your input said : buy
Thank you for your comments.
I ordered one. I will post the results as soon as I use it.
Old 11-17-2006, 10:03 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,248
Received 33 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

psw where are you going to install m260, and how about acess, i have the same boat and would like to do the same install as you are doing .I have a c120 raymarine. thanks for any help. also been looking at the new os35 , but don't know if its worth the extra money.
Old 11-17-2006, 01:43 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 23,649
Received 1,348 Likes on 851 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

In hull transducers have more power than through hulls and transom mounts to compentae for the interference caused by the hull, according to Airmar.

They also reccommend you stay to 5/8" thick glass and under, stating that 1" is the limit in thickness. Lots of good info on ther 9 page FAQ index on the home page.
Old 11-25-2006, 08:26 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Redington Beach, FL
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

THT Forum member pitlizzz helped me to install the ducer. Today was the first time test run on the open water. The results are better than expected. There is no interference from the water under the boat. I am used to an Airmar bronze through hull ducer with same power 1k –50/200. M260 signals are very detailed and pronounced.
Thank you Phil.

Old 11-25-2006, 10:24 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,201
Received 413 Likes on 265 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

awesome... I have one to be installed in the new rig. Now I just need to fast forward to March.......
Old 11-26-2006, 06:00 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

What fill media ar eu guys using?
Old 11-26-2006, 02:16 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

The only issue I had was that the stainless steel top plate began to rust where the two handles connect to it. I slowed the process of corrosion by cleaning the rust off as best I could and put a thick coat Mercury Corrosion Guard on it. Now I touch it up every couple of months and haven't had any problems since. Other products I'm sure would just as well, that was the closest product within reach at the time I decided to do it. Clean and coat before you install to make your life a little easier.

No complaints what so ever about the performance withoverall depth readings or with detail. She's filled with non-toxic antifreeze.



Old 11-26-2006, 04:10 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Redington Beach, FL
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

Thanks Jim for the warning. I use CRC 666 for everything.
Smelly, I used Propelyn Glycol that is recommended by Airmar.

Old 11-29-2006, 02:15 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location:
Posts: 1,248
Received 33 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

I fish in 80 to 160 ft. water & was looking at installing a m260 but would the narrower beam make it harder to find your spot, i am now using a p66.
Old 11-29-2006, 02:49 PM
  #19  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

One advantage of p66 is water temperature sensor, that is not in M260.
If your hull bottom is fiberglass, M260 will be a choice.
It has 1000w power compare to 170w of p66.
In shallow depths of 160’ ( yes it is shallow for M260) you will use 200khz mode.
The main advantage of in hull ducers, is that there are no interference of seas, speed, or seaweed!
I will post any problems with this unit, and/or pictures that I capture in this thread.
Old 11-29-2006, 05:35 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SE FL
Posts: 811
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Airmar M260 in hull transducer

MoonsFool - 11/29/2006 2:49 PM The main advantage of in hull ducers, is that there are no interference of seas, speed, or seaweed!
Actually you can get interference from seas andspeed and you still need to be careful where it's mounted sinceturbulence from strakes, chines, thru hull intakes, etc. will cause performance issues just like a normal ducer. Air is air when it comes to a ducer. In fact, a cored hull needs special consideration and preparation in order to use a shoot thru the hull ducer. The main advantage is you don't have another hole in your hull and you can service it without hauling the boat out of the water. IMO

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.