Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Old 10-22-2006, 08:28 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Has anyone out there used your Lowrance unit as a fuel flow meter? My dealer says that a wiring harness can be purchased for about $125. Is this worth doing or should I spend the extra cash to get a separate display? ;?
Old 10-22-2006, 08:32 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,460
Received 604 Likes on 336 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Been wondering the same thing since I get a 111.
There is a recent thread going here on not using Lowrance Net stuff now as it may not be quite baked yet.
Will have to find out soon for myself.
Old 10-22-2006, 09:42 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cordova,md
Posts: 304
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

it works great. its not totally accurate, but about 95% which is close enough for me for the money. It interfaces really well.
Old 10-23-2006, 07:03 AM
  #4  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

My Lowrancenet stuff works fine too.... LCX-26CHD, LCX110C, LMF-400, EP-10, EP-15, LGC-2000
Old 10-23-2006, 09:25 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Gulf Shores, Alabama
Posts: 4,411
Received 284 Likes on 168 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

If you have the 111 the EP-10 should plug in right out of the box. It just plugs into the backbone of the existing network, no? I believe all the required wiring is included. Available from BOE for $54 plus shipping.

Please correct me if I'm mistaken because that's my next planned project.

Old 10-23-2006, 12:05 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Beautiful San Diego
Posts: 530
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

I just purchased this unit from Boaters World. Does the EP-10 wiring harness come with a fuel flow sending unit and the harness or just the harness? If it is just the harness, I assume it adapts some way to a FloScan sending unit.

HH
Old 10-23-2006, 12:46 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,460
Received 604 Likes on 336 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

How does the fuel flow sending unit connect to the fuel system? How does the sensor connect into the fuel system?
And, do I need a seperate gauge to monitor the fuel flow, or will it display on the 111 head unit?

Just trying to understand how I will need to hook it in before buying the sensor.
Thanks,
Old 10-23-2006, 01:34 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: adrift, in full control
Posts: 1,824
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

the EP-10 works within the network and non-nema2000 engines with an inline paddle wheel, just like any other fuel flow equipment. what the lowrancenet system CAN do that others cannot, is use the fuel flow information, the fuel remaining information, the networked gps information (speed over ground), and not only tell you fuel burn, but also fuel economy in mpg, remaining fuel and you useable range.

with a nmea2000 engine and supporting harness, the fuel sensor no longer needs the paddlewheel, and uses the computer fuel controls to determine fuel useage. the remaining fuel is simply a way to take the mechanical data from your existing fuel float, and turn it into nmea2000 data for the network to read. the other data requires the gps readings to perform the calculations.

you can display port burn/mpg, stbd burn/mpg and vessel burn/mpg. if you have multiple tanks/multiple engines, it can do all those calculations as well.
pretty cool

drew

Old 10-23-2006, 01:51 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Make sure to cap the ends off with 120ohm terminators. As you can see I recommend hooking up the fuel level sensor.





Go here http://www.lowrance.com/LowranceNet/Designer/start.html


Here's a shot of a nice Lowrance NET that I want on my boat

Old 10-23-2006, 01:58 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,460
Received 604 Likes on 336 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Thanks guys.
Looks like the fuel flow and fuel level sensors are different units. How does the fuel level sensor attach to the existing fuel tank or fuel line?
Old 10-23-2006, 02:12 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

I haven't done it yet but have seen it. From what I understand the fuel level sensor has two wires that hook up straight to the 2 wires that come off your existing fuel level sender.
Old 10-23-2006, 02:24 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: adrift, in full control
Posts: 1,824
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

thats it. two wires--pos/neg that go to the mechanical fuel float unit. the wires go into the little unit, and lowrancenet cable/plug come out the other end for connection to your network.
Old 10-23-2006, 03:44 PM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Guys watch out!

To my knowledge the EP-15 cannot yet work with anything other than the LMF units as the software in any of the LCX's, LMS's or Global Map's currently has issues and produces corrupt data. Work on an update is underway.

The EP-10's however are pretty good now and give you everything you would get from an EP-15 plus much more computed data as Drew points out, such as Fuel Used, Economy, Range etc. Regular re-calibration (which is easy) will arguably give you better fuel remaining (level) than you would get from a conventional device.

The network diagram is fine but be careful about using a power node in addition to a LGC2000. You should only have one power supply to the network and in a simple LCX + LGC2000 set up there is already power going to the network as the antenna is powered.

HH - the EP-10 uses fuel flow info from the fuel line and does not connect to your sender unit.

Butch - To add an EP-10 to a 111 you also need a network expansion kit (2 x 120ohm terminators, T connector and short cable) to create a compliant backbone. You discard the 60 ohm terminator which is supplied with th unit.

The engine interface cable (when available) really renders both the EP10 and EP15 redundant as the fuel rate is taken directly from the engine data and when combined with GPS data gives you the full fuel management portfolio.

Drew- do you know anything about the calibration requirement/options for 'fuel used' taken from the engine?

TT
Old 10-23-2006, 04:23 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,460
Received 604 Likes on 336 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

All,
Great information, and thanks. Sounds like I need the EP-10 and the extender kit.
Any dangers when connecting the 2 wires to the existing fuel sending unit? I would hate to mix gasoline and power wires in the wrong way. I assume the EP-10 wires are not connected to anything else at the time I connect them to the sending unit wires.

CAP
Old 10-23-2006, 04:33 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: adrift, in full control
Posts: 1,824
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

tt, the margin of error can be double digits, on occasion. its far better to use the fuel remaining from the EP-15, and use the fuel used from our EEM data to consider averages errors for the day, only. the errors are a product of the EEM/actual injector volume and not from lowrance.

Old 10-23-2006, 05:09 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,460
Received 604 Likes on 336 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Anyone know where I can order the extender kit from? Been Googling it and haven't found a dealer that has it so far.
Probably need to check BOE next.
Thanks.
Old 10-23-2006, 05:22 PM
  #17  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Drew (?)

I am not sure I understand. Where are you reading the data from the EP-15? On an LMF gauge?

Are you running an EP-15, EP-10 and engine interface?

There's a whole load of duplication here. What do you prefer to tell you what?

I guess 'fuel used' is the common element for most of the calculations.

Which have you found to be most accurate the EP-10 or engine data (flow) or EP-15 (level)?

TT

CAP - The EP-10 does not connect to your sender unit it is a flow meter which fits into your fuel line. The EP-15 attaches to your sender unit and gives you level info from your mechanical float but as I said earlier I don't think this will work yet with your 111. Both will give you fuel remaining - one is calculated from the flow and the other is mechanical.
Old 10-23-2006, 05:32 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,460
Received 604 Likes on 336 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Tom,
Thanks for the explaination. Don't want to waste $ on something I can't use.
Since I have a Verado that is not supposed to have anything in the fuel flow line, I don't think I want to go with the EP-10 until I understand a little more about the Lowrance networking.
More reading.....

CAP
Old 10-24-2006, 08:40 PM
  #19  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

Gettin-ready, Thanks for posting that pic of the lcx-111 with all the gauges showing on the screen. I hate to sound dumb - but - can the 111 really do that ? If so, can anyone give more info on how to set that up ? I would love to do that. Of course, if it means buying $500 in extra accessories to do so - then maybe not. Thanks.
Old 10-24-2006, 09:06 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: adrift, in full control
Posts: 1,824
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Fuel Flow on Lowrance 111 unit

yea brian, it can. but you have to be using a nema2000 engine to receive the data. its in the 'custom screen' menu. and you can even overlay some of the data on your map/radar/sounder. so i can see my speedo over my sounder display, if i want. you can change units, sizes, colors. change from a dial to a slider bar display. too many cool things for one man to have to play with!

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.