Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

1834C/ NT and redundancy

Old 10-20-2006, 01:46 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mtk
Posts: 1,533
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Default 1834C/ NT and redundancy

I have a Navnet VX2 1834c / nt and was thinking of adding a second unit-the GP1720C/NT. Do other people who do this add a second GPS/WAAS antenna to have redundancy in case the primary unit goes down? Is that possible? Can I have two independant gps's and network together the radar and sounder? Or do most simply plug into the network and utilize the the sounder, gps and radar module of the primary unit.

If Im not being clear-my apologies- please bear with me. If I just add another screen, the only "redundancy" Im getting is that the 1834 unit itself fails- I can use the 1720's functions- it will just be on a smaller screen- no? I am using a little handheld garmin as backup now. Thanks very much.
Old 10-20-2006, 05:11 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary/Wrightsville NC
Posts: 1,452
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

I have 2 10" Navnets with an open array and a ethernet. Each has a GPS so if a unit goes down I still have GPS. Each also has a chart so the redraw doesn't have to pull data across the network.
Old 10-21-2006, 09:47 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

I have one 7" Navnet 1834c/nt with a closed radome, and a 7" 1720 chartplotter. I would like to know the answer to your question myself. Furuno has a website where you can email a tech, and they will answer back asap.
Old 10-24-2006, 04:17 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mtk
Posts: 1,533
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

Furuno called me back within hours and said that I can set it up that way (have 2 independant gps's with networked radar and sounders) but if I lose the primary unit (in this case the 1834c) then the 1720 wouldnt recognize the radar and sounder. Seems like a better (redundant) system and I could have 2 chart cards- maybe a bathy chip and a wide chip.

Surfer bill - how is yours set up ? All networked with one gps antenna?
Old 10-24-2006, 05:40 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary/Wrightsville NC
Posts: 1,452
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

The 1834 has the radar controller board but the sounder is a network device and should be available. I have a chip in each unit.
Old 10-24-2006, 08:59 PM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

Furuno called me back within hours and said that I can set it up that way (have 2 independant gps's with networked radar and sounders) but if I lose the primary unit (in this case the 1834c) then the 1720 wouldnt recognize the radar and sounder. Seems like a better (redundant) system and I could have 2 chart cards- maybe a bathy chip and a wide chip.

Surfer bill - how is yours set up ? All networked with one gps antenna?

I just got the system set up on our 24' Cape Horn CC two weeks ago. I think it's an ethernet with one gps antenna. I'm still learning to use it. We came in at night from the Chesapeake Bay into Lynnhaven Inlet last week, and the radar showed all the bouys into the inlet. I really like having it on the boat.
Bill
Old 10-25-2006, 09:38 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mtk
Posts: 1,533
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

I like it too. So impressed with the radar and sounder. The plotter is actually fine- but Im not pleased with the bathy detail at the continental shelf. I need to have my software updated- it hasnt been done since inception.

Troll /Bill what cards are you using? Do you have good detail at the canyons?
Old 10-25-2006, 02:09 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary/Wrightsville NC
Posts: 1,452
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

I have a V1 Navnet with Navionics. The newer cards are supposed to have more info. I fish off NC and the detail is fair at best but then I depend more on tons of accumulated numbers for fishing grounds.
Old 10-25-2006, 05:12 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,861
Received 137 Likes on 70 Posts
Default RE: 1834C/ NT and redundancy

rcatena - 10/20/2006 2:46 PM
If Im not being clear-my apologies- please bear with me. If I just add another screen, the only "redundancy" Im getting is that the 1834 unit itself fails- I can use the 1720's functions- it will just be on a smaller screen- no? I am using a little handheld garmin as backup now. Thanks very much.
That is correct providing they are networked through a router or a hub, which you likely will need to add. A linksys is fine. The network will have your sounder, radar and both displays and you can change functions between the two displays. Your will need network cables and a plug from Furuno.

When I did it I chose not to add a second Furuno antenna as I already have a standalone Northstar GPS as well but I believe the second antenna should be no problem either as it will just connect to the 1720.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.