Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

Old 10-16-2006, 06:28 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,790
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

Im thinking about adding a T-top to my boat, I would like to move my Raymarine 435i (internal antenna), do yall think it would work inside an electronics box? Im sure the T-Top wouldnt be any issue with it, but the fiberglass may...any thoughts?


Thanks
Old 10-16-2006, 06:56 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,038
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

My External antenna for my 2006C is in my console of my Sea Hunt 202 - didn't get around to mounting it yet (in 2 years). It works great and I have a T-Top and electronics box blocking my view of the sky.
Old 10-16-2006, 07:02 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

you don't want to put anything in an top e-box that you will be constantly looking at - ask your neck after a few hours - better to put stuff up there that does not need monting like VHF's and stereos....
Old 10-16-2006, 07:26 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,790
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

Thanks guys, its mounted on top of the console right now, and Id like to clear up some space on the dash....so I could move my radio up there, and my GPS flush mounted in the dash....but Im not even sure if that unit has a flush mount ability (screw holes in the back) I still worry with that antenna being inside the console like that it would interupt the GPS signal, but mounting a CD Player would be a nice addtion up there....



I imagen that 435 would fit into the same space as the vhf, with some extra cutting, I'll have to measure it out. Im definently gonna get a flush mount compass instead of the top mount I have now. That would be a nice move too

(Sorry the pic is so big)

Thanks again
Old 10-16-2006, 07:59 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Ray 435i, will it work in a Elec T-Top Box?

Anything with an internal GPS antenna won't be able to "shoot" through the electronics box, your 435i would be about useless if you mount it in there.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.