Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Maretron to seatalk

Old 08-14-2019, 06:49 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Maretron to seatalk



Can someone with electronics knowledge tell me if there is an adaptor to marry this Maretron sending unit with my A series Raymarine MFD and will it work to tap it into the T like that? Thank you.
Old 08-14-2019, 10:25 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Likes: 0
Received 281 Likes on 234 Posts
Default

You can buy seatalkng to nmea 2000 cables.

that is seatalkng. Not seatalk.
Old 08-14-2019, 10:28 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Should that be a plug-and-play item to the MFD
Old 08-15-2019, 07:10 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Waterford,CT
Posts: 921
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

A06075 STNG to Devicenet (Female) Adaptor Cable (1m) $29.99
Old 08-15-2019, 07:15 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thank you. That's what I ordered. I'm hoping that's all there is to having the fuel gauge interact with my multifunction
Old 08-15-2019, 09:36 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Likes: 0
Received 281 Likes on 234 Posts
Default

Yiu will need a place to plug it into. Another tee + short backbone cable. Or replace that tee with a 5 way.
Old 08-15-2019, 09:58 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Am I able to use the 3rd capped side of the T?
Old 08-15-2019, 10:13 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,299
Received 116 Likes on 71 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Crpalp View Post
Am I able to use the 3rd capped side of the T?

No, you need to remove the terminal end (cap) and add another NMEA 2k "T" and then place the terminal end (cap) on the end. The wire will plug into the leg of the "T" You are creating a backbone
Old 08-15-2019, 10:14 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thank you very much
Old 08-15-2019, 09:07 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Likes: 0
Received 281 Likes on 234 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Shin-Dig View Post
No, you need to remove the terminal end (cap) and add another NMEA 2k "T" and then place the terminal end (cap) on the end. The wire will plug into the leg of the "T" You are creating a backbone

its not a nmra 2000 tee. It’s a seatalkng tee. They do not plug together. He needs a short cable between them. Or replace the single tee with a 5 way one.

The blue thing is not a cap. It is an end terminator. And must remain. There is one at each end.
Old 08-16-2019, 05:15 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I bought a cable to go from the end of my current T to a seatalkng 5 way connector which I plan to put a Terminator at the end of and the plug my 2 seatalkng to nema cables into which will connect to each fuel tank gauge. Hopefully that's right
Old 08-16-2019, 09:13 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Likes: 0
Received 281 Likes on 234 Posts
Default

That’s fine. You could also just remove that tee and plug the 2 new cables and one existing cable into the 5 way. Saves buying the extra cable. If the other 2 are farther away. Then it makes sense to leave the tee. And put the 5way else where. Or if you plan to add more later. It gives you a spare. Put a black plug in the empty one to keep water out.
Old 08-18-2019, 06:39 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Bradenton Fl
Posts: 76
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

That makes more sense and is what I did. Thanks for the help everyone. Now that I have done it I understand more how the whole back bone and termination works.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.