Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

24 volt requirement for 10kw radar

Old 10-12-2006, 12:06 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 9,555
Received 1,792 Likes on 848 Posts
Default 24 volt requirement for 10kw radar

How big a deal is it to upgrade the 12 volt system to 24 volts to run a 10kw radar unit? What is needed?
Old 10-12-2006, 12:36 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,456
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 24 volt requirement for 10kw radar

A DC-DC converter. Not a huge deal; you need to find out what the scanner's draw is so you know how to size it. Make sure you install enough capacity to power its maximum rating (e.g. whatever fuse size it would normally use in amps is a good choice.)

Old 10-12-2006, 07:32 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 5,325
Received 625 Likes on 341 Posts
Default RE: 24 volt requirement for 10kw radar

Raymarine makes a 12v to 24v converter for that unit. I think it is a couple of hundred bucks.
Old 10-12-2006, 08:01 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 20,172
Received 995 Likes on 549 Posts
Default Re: 24 volt requirement for 10kw radar

Don't try to jury rig this set-up, do it right.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.