Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Portable Loran C uni?

Old 10-10-2006, 12:44 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Portable Loran C uni?

Is there such thing as a portable Loran C receiver? I have a bunch of Loran coordinates, and I know they won't be accurate if converted to Lat/Lon. A portable unit would be a much easier option than hard wiring a receiver. Do these exist? Thanks.
Old 10-10-2006, 01:17 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Portable Loran C uni?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Voyager-Sport-Na...QQcmdZViewItem

I have seen these on Ebay.......I don't know how well they will work.

Mark W.
Old 10-10-2006, 01:56 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Hmm. For $10 I'll bid on it. Thx.

Anyone have any experience with these?
Old 10-10-2006, 01:59 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Yes,those Micrologic units work well(Standard Horizon Puchased,Micrologic when they closed in 1999/2000,)they have a built in whip of about 36" and come with a fullsize coupler that required a 8' whip.I had one 25 years ago and it worked well.As far as accuracy it will depend on how the original numbers were taken.Was the original receiver set for a offset correcortion for the local area,or just run right out of the box with no offset correction. That will make a big difference in operational accurance
Old 10-10-2006, 02:09 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

I’m not sure about the offsets. I’ll have to find out.

Are you saying I’ll still have to connect the portable unit to an 8’ whip antenna? I didn’t want to install any Loran components on my boat. I just want to use it to locate some of these wrecks. Once I get on them, I planned on storing them into my GPS.
Old 10-10-2006, 06:06 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Icom was who bought Micrologic's name (and not much else), not Standard.
Old 10-10-2006, 07:28 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

The unit will work with the small on unit antenna,if the chain you are using is close.Might take longer to accure a fix because of signal to noise ratio.
Old 10-11-2006, 11:43 AM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,772
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

OR, get a $100 handheld Garmin GPS, they will display loran #'s. The only downfall, is they are converted GPS #'s which are not perfect, but it works.
Old 10-11-2006, 11:45 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

I have a fixed mount Garmin 192C that has the same feature, but I know it won't be accurate.
Old 10-11-2006, 04:00 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,509
Received 1,016 Likes on 782 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

If you are thinking of bidding on that handheld, be sure to ask the seller if one on the functions that "appeared to be working right" was it's ability to acquire and lock on the LORAN signal. I'm sure he checked but that was skimmed over. The ~"within 50' accuracy" of LORAN referred to it's repeatability using positions saved at that spot on the same unit. . Nominal accuracy was something like 300' . If you punch your or someone else's #'s into another LORAN you might as well use a GPS which will be much more accurate than the LORAN once you go there & update the correct position as you will need to do with either LORAN or GPS.
Old 10-11-2006, 04:17 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Hmm, so you think I should give it a shot using my GPS first? The wrecks are pretty close to me. Any tips on trying to get the GPS as accurate as possible?
Old 10-11-2006, 05:39 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,716
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Use the converted numbers to get close, then use your sounder to find the bottom structure, then save the waypoint on GPS.
Old 10-12-2006, 03:05 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Va Bch, Va
Posts: 325
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

That doesn't work worth a crap, get a loran if you have loran numbers and rig it so that it can be removed easily. Most of the time the numbers are a 1/3 to 1/2 mile off. You'll spend a lot of time searching. I inquired about those hand held lorans back in the 90's and heard they were junk. I'd find one that isn't portable, stick some suction cups on the mounts, hard wire the power to your terminal board or similar, add a rachet mount plastic antenna to any pc of structure you could find on your hard top that would work and stick a 36" whip antenna on it. That's all I use and haven't noticed any difference than with a 8' fiberglass one with my Furuno LC-90. I use it exactly for what you want to buy one for.....find the wreck from true loran numbers and save it to my gps. I've wasted my time trying to find wrecks with published gps coordinates that turned out to be stuff people converted....it's like pissing in the wind. Unless someone that I know personally gives me the number off their gps I won't use it......
Old 10-12-2006, 03:40 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cypress, TX - USA
Posts: 879
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Here is a portable Loran C unit I made. I made a antenna mount that fits into a rod holder on a T top. Everything except the 8' antenna breaks down and fits into the lil softside cooler.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/photos/s...3&photoid=5262
http://www.thehulltruth.com/photos/s...3&photoid=5263
Old 10-12-2006, 04:27 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 1,145
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Portable Loran C uni?

Nice job Cat O Lies.

I think I'll rig up an old Loran with a 36" whip like sublime said. Since I dont know what offsets where used for these numbers though, how off can I be (worst case scenario)?

Dom

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.