Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Old 10-09-2006, 09:50 PM
  #1  
RMM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 551
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Would like input on Furuno Navnet 2 and Raymarine E80 series. Need to replace some old Furuno equipment on a used Tiara we bought - Radar and Fishfinder. Also have a Garmin 182C which has been great but want to upgrade GPS also. Here are my thoughts:

GPS/Radar - leaning toward E80 as concerned Furuno technology is behind the times and hate to buy old technology. Have played with both and Ray just seems MUCH more user friendly etc. Very concerned with all the Ray problems am seeing posted though. Like the idea of being able to add 2nd unit and all the options available. Love my current Garminand thought abou the larger Garmins but havent' heard good things about the radar.

Radar - debating between the open aray and radome, think will go with open aray.

Fishfinder - thinking about buying Garmin blackbox GSD21 and making the 182C a dedicated fishfinder that could be backup GPS.


Any input on experieces with any of these would be greatly appreciated, buying this weekend.



Old 10-10-2006, 02:15 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location:
Posts: 202
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

I bought the 10" navnet 2 instead of the Ray e120, but it was close. If I had to do it again, the decision would be even harder. I really like the navnet and I find it easy to use, but it has so many features and options that I do have to lookup how to do some things the first time I try them.

The Navnet has 2 limitations that annoy me. I cannot turn a track into a route. A route can have only 35 waypoints. These both suck for me.

Old 10-10-2006, 06:57 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 5,325
Received 625 Likes on 341 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Both Furuno and E series are excellent. I went with E120 because I liked the chartplotter/screen much better. 12" vs 10" makes a difference when screen is split. I only wanted one screen. I think the Ray is easier to use, more intuitive but most of my friends that have Navnet's say the same thing, whatever you have will be easy to use after a few months.
The only, and I mean only thing I don't like is the Ray Black Box FF, DSM300, is waaaay too sensitive to voltage and resets alot. Some people never have this problem, alot of us do. I think that the Ray FF is much better if you are the type who leaves the settings in Auto, Furuno may give you a little better performance if you tweek it.

You can't go wrong either way.

Garmin makes great plotters, their FF's are not nearly as good and radar is new.
Old 10-11-2006, 02:06 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FL panhandle
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Not to highjack RMM's thread, but I have a Garmin 320c (fishfinder) and it has been a good unit. I too am looking to updrade (want to add radar and integerated chartplotter), but one feature that I find really helpful on the Garmin is the ability to pause the depth recorder, cursor over a mark and automatically enter a waypoint to the GPS. Do any of the Furuno or Ray units offer something like this? It makes finding new fishing spots a lot easier vs. having to quickly hit the MOB or WPT button and then hunt around for a mark that you just ran over.

Old 10-11-2006, 11:08 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,905
Received 79 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Radar - debating between the open aray and radome, think will go with open aray.

I would go with the open array
Old 10-11-2006, 05:07 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 5,325
Received 625 Likes on 341 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Finatic321 - 10/11/2006 2:06 AM

but one feature that I find really helpful on the Garmin is the ability to pause the depth recorder, cursor over a mark and automatically enter a waypoint to the GPS. Do any of the Furuno or Ray units offer something like this?
Ray does, can't imagine Furuno doesn't either.
Old 10-11-2006, 09:28 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD, USA
Posts: 567
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

What do you mean by pausing the depth finder?

On an E-series if you've got a split-screen you can jump between the panes using the active button. Jump from the FF to the chart, move the cursor and hit a waypoint. Or just hit the waypoint button at any time to mark the current location. And if you want, hold the Active button and the current pane will be maxmized full screen.

If you're offshore and budget allows, yeah, go with open array.
Old 10-12-2006, 10:44 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hampstead NC
Posts: 2,164
Received 87 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Do you want to sell the 182? email me at john.walker@regions.com
Old 10-12-2006, 10:15 PM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FL panhandle
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

wkearney

Suppose I'm running to a fishing spot at 25kts and I runover a good mark. By the time I see the mark on the FF, hit the wypt or MOB button on the GPS, I have easily travelled several hundred feet. I then have to backtrack and hunt around to find the spot I just ran over.

Now, with the Garmin, I can hit the pause button and the FF screen stops updating. A cursor appears and I can place the cursor on the mark that I ran over and hit enter and it will send the waypoint to my gps...that way I get the exact coordinates of what I just ran over without having to hunt around for it. If I want, I can go check it out right then or I can come back next time I'm in that area and check it out. Without this feature, hitting the wpt or MOB button will only get me within a few hundred feet at best.


Old 10-16-2006, 03:37 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Capt. Jason

In a post further up you mentioned you have the Garmin 340C.

Would you kindly give me your advise regarding this Fishfinder.
My fiberglass 19’ boat is being built right now. I intend of fixing the Honda 2007 model BF 90 EFI OUTBOARD and I need to decide whether I should go for a Thru-Hull or Transom transducer.
I want to go for a Thru-Hull because it would be fixed near the center of the boat away from propeller turbulence however I am very much affair of drilling the Hull because of weakening it. I am afraid from those high impacts on the hull especially if one is caught in a bit of rough sea.
The Transom transducer eliminates this problem but I think it can pick up turbulence from the propeller.
Can you tell me how you have it installed and how you avoided such problems?

Also regarding your last post were you explained the method of going back to the spot you marked.
Do you have also a garmin GPS?
I would assume that both the fish finder and the GPS are connected to each other. correct?

Would appreciate your input to the above.
Thanks
givella
Old 10-21-2006, 10:38 AM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: FL panhandle
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

givella,

Actually, I have the 320c which is the previous version of the 340c. I have the transom mount transducer and it functions flawlessly. It is installed on a 19' deep v center console. I can read bottom at any speed from idle to 35kts. I guess I got lucky and got the install right on the first try. The transom mount should be fine for you as well, but if you have a shallow v or flat bottom boat, the perfromance may not be as good. It has been my experience that the flatter the bottom of the boat, the more air bubbles get trapped along the hull and when they reach the transducer, they can cause interfence causing the unit to loose bottom picture. For the money, I would give the transom mount at try first and if it doesn't work out, you are only out about a $100 (for the p66). If you you have a solid glass hull and decent bilge access, I would recommend a shoot thru hull configuration. It has the benefits and performance of the thru hull without the hassle of drilling a hole in the boat.

The 320 is a good unit for the money and I wouldn't expect the 340 to be any different, only better. Yes, my gps (GPSmap 76) is connected to the FF.

Good luck
Old 10-23-2006, 07:53 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Thanks very much for your information.
I will take your suggestion and will try out the transom mount type and proceed from there.
Can you kindly have a look in the attached link? It shows the model of the boat I will be having. The model is BUCCANEER 165C. Can you please comment on the hull shape and the ribs. Do you think the transom mount transducer will work with such a hull?
Thanks again for your help.


http://www.buccaneerboatsltd.com/
Old 10-25-2006, 10:05 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallahassee Florida
Posts: 431
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

Raymarine for the Bottom machine and radar. Garmin for the GPS.

Old 10-25-2006, 10:19 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mtk
Posts: 1,533
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Raymarine E80 vs Furuno vs Garmin?

dpdash - 10/11/2006 5:07 PM

Finatic321 - 10/11/2006 2:06 AM

but one feature that I find really helpful on the Garmin is the ability to pause the depth recorder, cursor over a mark and automatically enter a waypoint to the GPS. Do any of the Furuno or Ray units offer something like this?
Ray does, can't imagine Furuno doesn't either.

Furuno does also. I love that feature in the Radar- it is SO slimey. Guy is on fish , move the trackball to his location and mark his spot. Sneaky....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.