Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Yamaha Multi-Function Tach install qustions

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Yamaha Multi-Function Tach install qustions

Old 07-14-2019, 09:07 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Yamaha Multi-Function Tach install qustions

I have a 2006 Yamaha F50TLR with a 703 remote control on a 2006 Alumacraft yukon 165CS. Currently I have no gauges and would like to install the Yamaha multifunction tach. Looking to see if someone can point me in the right direction to exactly what I need. From what I can figure out I need the following:

Multifunction tach kit 6Y5-8350T-83-00
Dual Fuse Harness 6Y5-83553-N0-00
Trim and Oil Harness 6Y5-83653-00-00

Is this correct before I order? Half of what I am reading is saying I need an adapter for it to work. If that's the case exactly what adapter do I need. Thanks

Last edited by BOATDECK; 07-14-2019 at 11:08 AM. Reason: Typo
Old 07-14-2019, 10:39 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7,719
Received 1,350 Likes on 1,040 Posts
Default

I don't think that number for the Tach is right;
here is what Yamaha says you need

Name:  parts-list.png
Views: 103
Size:  48.5 KB

Name:  703-with-tach.png
Views: 126
Size:  105.4 KB
Old 07-14-2019, 11:06 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. Look like I was looking at the wrong number. That tac you mentioned is the one I am looking at. I guess my real question is does this setup you show work for me or do I need this 80 dollar adapter that I keep hearing about. Thanks
Old 07-15-2019, 05:40 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Land down under
Posts: 14,042
Received 3,037 Likes on 1,829 Posts
Default

Do not doubt what Mr. Pratt has written.

If you have a -83 tachometer with two connectors you need an adapter harness.

If you buy the tachometer shown by Mr. Pratt (one four pin connector) you do not need an adapter harness. You will simply make the connections as shown in his diagram.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.