Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By davidwademarine

Precision 9 Heading compass questions

Old 07-13-2019, 12:41 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 46
Default Precision 9 Heading compass questions

Looking at getting the simrad AP44 kit. It comes with Nac2, RPU80 pump, glass display and Precision 9 compass.
After reading a ton on where these compasses need to be mounted low and how everything interferes with them, I figured I'd ask just how sensitive are they really? Can I mount it a foot away from an amp lol (think I already know this answer).
Boat is 2017 230 CC world cat so not much room away from magnetic interference. I see you can use GPS compass or the magnetic style. Since there is just no where on the boat that I can stick the magnetic style with out it being too close to engines, wires in the console, amps, ect. what are my best options to get auto pilot that works with out being a pain in the arse. I run Simrad electronics. Let me know what worked for you on a smaller boat.
I have read to many bad reviews of the outboard pilot and I'm twin Yamaha 115's so even simrad is like Ehhh. it might work. I like the AP44 because of the RPU 80 pump and NAC 2 computer.
jaycenk is offline  
Old 07-13-2019, 01:44 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: FL - Ponce Inlet
Posts: 332
Default

I have the same set up as you are looking at. I went with the HS60 instead of the Precision 9...based on the mounting issues of the Precision 9 in my boat.
I know it's an additional $400 but not having to worry about the Precision 9 mounting, etc was worth it to me.
The HS60 works well with the AP and I haven't had any issues...using the standard parameters established during commissioning.
I believe that Abbor has previously explained some of the adjustments that can be made to the HS60/AP parameters to make it even better.

Last edited by edgester; 07-14-2019 at 02:34 AM.
edgester is offline  
Old 07-13-2019, 02:35 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,020
Default

HS60 you mean.
when you mount the P9, look at the local field and get it as low as possible.
my setup on a cheetah cat give no problems on heading
P9 is at the middle of the cat on floor level.
keizerh is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 05:09 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 5,073
Default

Highly recommended to order the parts separately and get the HS60 instead of the P9. The additional cost is worth it to ever have to calibrate the compass.
pointledge likes this.
davidwademarine is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 12:25 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 46
Default

Originally Posted by edgester View Post
I have the same set up as you are looking at. I went with the HS60 instead of the Precision 9...based on the mounting issues of the Precision 9 in my boat.
I know it's an additional $400 but not having to worry about the Precision 9 mounting, etc was worth it to me.
The HS60 works well with the AP and I haven't had any issues...using the standard parameters established during commissioning.
I believe that Abbor has previously explained some of the adjustments that can be made to the HS60/AP parameters to make it even better.
Since you have the HS60 gps unit installed can you tell me about mounting options? I read the instructions for the HS60 and while it states to keep it away from VHF antenna and to mount it on the center line, I'm assuming that because its GPS/pitch/tilt unit, height is not too much of an issue. I dont have a second station or anything just a Ttop.
Since I have a Ttop and trailer my boat through over hanging tree's can it be mounted on a collapsible mount? and would the sensor have to be center on center in the boat or just on the center line width of the boat?
Thanks for the help with this edgester, I really appreciate real world use of these parts and how they work besides the advertising.
jaycenk is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 12:36 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 46
Default

Originally Posted by keizerh View Post
HS60 you mean.
when you mount the P9, look at the local field and get it as low as possible.
my setup on a cheetah cat give no problems on heading
P9 is at the middle of the cat on floor level.
Thanks Keizerh, If I had more room in my console I wouldn't questions trying P9 but the console on the 23 CC WC is small I have a lot of gear that goes in and out of it quiet a bit. There is a built in cooler seat at the front and the cooler goes with in an inch of the floor. If it had a couple inches I would have just put some 5200 on it, pre-aligned it with a test run, stuck it up under there and called it a day.
Unfortunately if I place it anywhere else in the console it has an amplifier, Fm antenna, Bluetooth receiver, Displays and the AP pump within 24 inches of it.
To use the P9 I almost need to cut an access hatch in the front of the cooler seat and mount it in the small space up there to get it 3 feet away from all that stuff and out of the way of the gear that goes in and out.
jaycenk is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 12:41 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 46
Default

Originally Posted by davidwademarine View Post
Highly recommended to order the parts separately and get the HS60 instead of the P9. The additional cost is worth it to ever have to calibrate the compass.
Yeah I just added it up and it's about 3100 for the HS60, AP44 glass head, Nac2, and RPU80 components. That doesn't include the miscellaneous hoses and fittings and cables. guessing it will cost around 3250.
so close to 700 more, wish these marine electronics would go a little more on sale lol.
jaycenk is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 04:06 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,141
Default

One alternative is to buy the package, sell Precision-9 and buy HS60.
abbor is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:39 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: FL - Ponce Inlet
Posts: 332
Default

The HS60 is mounted on the port side of my ttop and the VHF is on the starboard side.
Probably about 3 feet of separation, I haven't really measured it.
So that might put it about 18 inches or so off the center line of the boat. I haven't noticed any issues with it not being on the centerline.
I use it mainly for trolling and so exact precision isn't really relevant for my purposes and usage
The HS60 is pole mounted, where a previous GPS puck was. Just removed that, ran the NMEA wire and then mounted the HS60 head.

I haven't mounted the AP44 yet. I use my MFD screens for the control. Again, for my purposes the screens work well.
Might be more simple using the AP44 controller, but it all depends on your use case.

For the hoses, I used Central Hydraulics here in Daytona Beach to make them up. They have a branch over in the Tampa area.
Global Hose & Hydraulics, Inc.
4401 E Broadway Ave
Tampa, FL 33605
T: (813) 242-4673

Once I had the mounting position for the pump figured out, I took some old hydraulic line I had laying around and used it to check the hose routing from the helm to the pump.
Making sure that the bends that were necessary in my mounting weren't too sharp or caused any type of spring effect from the hose being too tight.
Having the hoses made at a local shop like this...very cost effective and you are able to get the length you want and need, without having to go with the standard sizes that are pre-made and expensive.

Hope that helps.

And as Abbor mentioned, I bought the package and just sold the Precision 9. Seems there is always someone looking for one.

Last edited by edgester; Yesterday at 12:53 PM.
edgester is offline  
Old Today, 11:13 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 506
Default

I got the Outboard Pilot kit new for $900 and it came with everything, even the pump fittings.

I put the point 1 compass on my console top dash. This system is great, I use the GO9 XSE as the controller.

It works great idling out of my marina, following auto routes, trolling, running to way points, rough seas, everything.

Really impressed with this unit and is comes with the same RPU80 pump that you are looking at.
UncleLuke is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread