Notices
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Fwpratt

Yamaha 6YC display not powering off

Old 07-13-2019, 12:15 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 46
Default Yamaha 6YC display not powering off

Hello Everyone,
So to start out, the display worked fine, powering on and off with the key before i added a NMEA2000 adapter cable to the Comandlink network tying it into my NMEA2000 to display engine info on Go9 XSE's.
Now even when powering off the Go9's the 6YC stays powered on with ignition keys off.

Thought I read somewhere that I had to do something with the wiring at the key switch to change the way the 6YC would function when connected to the NMEA network but I cant find the thread now.
Anyone know what I need to do to make the display power off when the key is off again?
Thanks for the help!
jaycenk is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 03:19 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,581
Default

Your NMEA 2000 backbone has power supplied to it - as it should.

But since you have an adapter cable
between that backbone and the Command Link network,
the 6YC gauge has that connection to power
in addition to the power it already gets from the keyswitch.

The adapter cable has four wires:
blue, and white, for data - you need those
black, - ground, and red - power - those don't need to be connected.

You can simply cut the red wire of the adapter cable -
should be accessible at the Yamaha plug.
Insulate the end.
jaycenk and Fishious like this.
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 07-14-2019, 12:00 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 46
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
Your NMEA 2000 backbone has power supplied to it - as it should.

But since you have an adapter cable
between that backbone and the Command Link network,
the 6YC gauge has that connection to power
in addition to the power it already gets from the keyswitch.

The adapter cable has four wires:
blue, and white, for data - you need those
black, - ground, and red - power - those don't need to be connected.

You can simply cut the red wire of the adapter cable -
should be accessible at the Yamaha plug.
Insulate the end.
Thanks FWPratt, I will give that a shot this after noon.
jaycenk is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread