Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance to Icom NMEA 0183

Old 07-02-2019, 04:16 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 672
Received 186 Likes on 92 Posts
Default Lowrance to Icom NMEA 0183

OK guys please be patient with me. Im moving some electronics and fixing some wiring issues in my electronics box and want to make sure I have everything right. I have the following equipment that I am trying to connect

Lowrance HDS 9 Gen2 Touch
Icom IC-M412
2014 Yamaha Square Gauges (Not sure about this but guessing the multi-gauge is considered a listener and gets the GPS speed though this setup)

Previously wired as follows and seemed to always have a position on the VHF but recently I have had some issues with "no position" on the VHF. Im not sure if this is because of the Lowrance (GPS week rollover) issue or possible bad/old connections.

Icom RED ~ Yamaha Speed Gauge WHITE (+) ~ HDS YELLOW
Icom RED Shield ~Yamaha Speed Gauge BLUE (-) ~ HDS Shield ~ fuse block ground

So I'm also having the time display (GPS week rollover) issue on my HDS and not sure if that is causing any issues but for now lets pretend that's not an issue and get the wiring/settings right. One of my concerns is the way the yamaha gauge was wired inline and the possible issue of having 2 "Listeners" (VHF and MF Guage). Should this be wired different or is this way OK? Also on the HDS NMEA 0183 settings I see a RS-422 port but but no RS-232 option. With everything wired the way it was before would the RS-422 option be the best?

Again any help with this would be greatly appreciated and before anyone says "use the search function" I have and actually found one thread that was pretty informative but can't find it again

Old 07-02-2019, 05:40 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,649
Received 476 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

Install the updated software from Lowrance first to fix the GPS issue.
Old 07-02-2019, 05:51 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 672
Received 186 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Install the updated software from Lowrance first to fix the GPS issue.
in the process as we speak.
Old 07-02-2019, 06:54 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 672
Received 186 Likes on 92 Posts
Default

Alright, got the GPS patch update installed and everything works as it should for now, still going to clean up some wiring/connection issues tomorrow after work and will report back. I guess the RS-422 option is my ONLY option;? but as long as everything works im good with that.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.