Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Aquatic AV / SAT radio question.

Old 10-03-2006, 10:52 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aquatic AV / SAT radio question.

I'm looking at the Aquatic AV AQ - CD 1 unit for our new boat. I want to have a SAT radio also. Is this unit "sat" ready or do I have to use a seperate unit? This is my first venture into marine stereo so any help/advice would be appreciated.

Planning on putting JL Audio M650-CCX coaxial speakers (4) with this head unit.

Thanks for your help.
Old 10-04-2006, 08:43 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Aquatic AV / SAT radio question.

Aquatic AV is NOT satellite ready. If you have a car satellite radio you could connect it to the aux input. Otherwise get the Clarion CMD-4 with the Sirius module. Aquatic is a great unit but they need to step into the satellite radio revolution.
Old 10-04-2006, 02:55 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: miami
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Aquatic AV / SAT radio question.

I have the aquatic cd/DVD and I run the sat radio through my garmin GPS 3210. Get yourself the JL Audio speakers
Old 10-06-2006, 01:50 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Great South Bay, NY
Posts: 553
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: Aquatic AV / SAT radio question.

I also run the sat radio from my Garmin 3210 to the Aquatic and it works well. The Aquatic is a solid unit that doesn't take up a large footprint. It is surprising that they don't have built-in sat capability, yet. However, if you want to play a DVD they've got that covered! I recommend the remote for the unit though, as the soft touch buttons are annoying to use.
Old 10-08-2006, 03:39 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Aquatic AV / SAT radio question.

Being Satellite Radio ready and having an aux input are 2 seperate things. If someone does not have a Garmin 3 series they need to get a external Satellite device for the Aquatic. If you have a Clarion CMD4 you can add a SIRIUS reciever and control your satellite radio from any remote or from the head unit. One of the biggest bitch's people have about the 3210 and XM radio is addressed very well with the Clarion. The Clarion has a selectable input sensitivity setting. You can set the input sensitivity to low, med or high. This helps allot with the reduced sound level from the Garmin GDL30A. Hope this helps

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.