Notices

JL media master Nmea with Garmin 1040?

Old 06-14-2019, 03:45 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: S. FLA
Posts: 595
Default JL media master Nmea with Garmin 1040?

just installed a jl media master and connected the Nmea with the Garmin 1040. The media master shows up in Garmin device list but I can not find out how to control the MM50 through the Garmin.
Anyone have advice on this?
reeferog is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:27 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,443
Default

You could make sure you have the most current software installed for the 1040 - ver 6.70
but my guess is, since the 1040 is a "legacy" device,
Garmin has not updated the software to support JL equipment
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 05:01 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: S. FLA
Posts: 595
Default

What is a legacy device? I am not running the most current software I believe it’s in the 5 version
reeferog is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 05:52 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,443
Default

means its discontinued, further changes to the software unlikely.

adding NMEA 2000 support for JL was specifically listed in software changes for newer models,
I don't see it shown for the 1040
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 06-14-2019, 05:59 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: S. FLA
Posts: 595
Default

Likely time to get rid of the jl. Just swapped out a clarion for it and find this jl annoying and not as good as the clarion unit.
For unit over $300 u need a module to have remote work and don’t find the output nearly as good as the clarion
reeferog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread