Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Old 09-28-2006, 12:13 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Ok I really need your help guys. I can't seem to figure out why there are two of these. If I am doing Chart overlay with a C-80, 4KW radar, and the GPS 125----which one is the best? Or, do they both work? I know the Azimuth feeds the KVH 1000 digital compass, the other is the stand alone sensor....

Which one if accuracy is the most important? I know Ray needs 10hz.

Man, I am really confused...

Tom
Old 09-28-2006, 05:21 AM
  #2  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Merritt Island ,Fl
Posts: 757
Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

I went with the Kvh 1000 for the chart overlay and also other features which needed a heading sensor , I have Furono navnet 1934c. The 1000 cost just under 300. with data cable.
Jeff
Old 09-28-2006, 07:44 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Autocomp 1000 for overlay/marpa, much better actual heading sensor than what is used in the azimuth 1000 (plus nothing to worry about mounting in the dash)
Old 09-28-2006, 11:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

When I got mine, the spec`s were identical...did they improve the autocomp accuracy in the past 3 years?

Harry
Old 09-29-2006, 07:56 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Talked to KVH a couple of years ago at a show, the AutoComp is dampened/compensates better than the Azimuth, its just a more advanced compass, the Azimuth is for people who need a compass instrument for their dash, but don't want to break the bank. Didn't you wonder why the Autocomp with no display was 40% more $ than the Azimuth?
Old 09-29-2006, 08:08 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA and ME
Posts: 16,795
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

I used the Azimuth for my C120 and it works fine. I mounted it under the console, up high on a shelf. I just did not want to spend any more money.

Pay close attention to where you mount it. It must be as far away from your VHF as possible or you will get interference. I have 3 extra holes to prove it.
Old 09-29-2006, 09:49 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

SeaSwirler23 - 9/29/2006 4:56 AM

Talked to KVH a couple of years ago at a show, the AutoComp is dampened/compensates better than the Azimuth, its just a more advanced compass, the Azimuth is for people who need a compass instrument for their dash, but don't want to break the bank. Didn't you wonder why the Autocomp with no display was 40% more $ than the Azimuth?
Thanks Seswirler23--

That's what kind of info I was looking for. I just installed a TR-1 Gold last week. Awesome autopilot!! But now I need that Autocomp heading sensor for the radar/marpa. So, here in lies the second question....without a product manual on the autocomp, I need to know how close to the TR-1's heading sensor I can mount the Autocomp??? I am limited to very few mounting locations on this boat, that meet the forward centerline and above the waterline....

Thanks for all you help guys...
Old 09-29-2006, 03:44 PM
  #8  
DXM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Both KVH units are nice, however, you have to find room on the dash to mount the displays.

You may want to try Maretron.

Their compass puts out 10HZ, and it is a single black box device that plugs into the NMEA port on the Raymarine.

http://www.maretron.com/products/ssc200.php
Old 09-29-2006, 07:36 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

The AutoComp 1000 has no display guys, it is just an active heading sensor, BUT, Hewesfisher, if you have the TR-1 you can export its fast heading and don't need the KVH. I was on a 35 Fountain last month and it's TR-1 was the heading source for his furuno system and it worked fine. Check the manaul, I want to say nmea out was red (+), and black (-).
Old 09-30-2006, 12:30 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

The Autocomp 1000 has an optional display.

Also, since the original poster has an RM C series (works with E series too), he can get a graphical compass display using the NMEA output from the TR-1 heading sensor. That display also shows ground track and bearing to waypoint, making it much more useful than just an Azimuth or Autocomp display (I have the Azimuth and hardly look at it anymore since the RM graphical display is so much more intuitive and provides more info). There's a short tutorial on the RM customer service website that explains how to get the graphical compass display. http://raymarine.custhelp.com/cgi-bi...i=&p_topview=1


Harry
Old 09-30-2006, 04:50 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,412
Likes: 0
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

SeaSwirler23 - 9/29/2006 8:36 PM

The AutoComp 1000 has no display guys, it is just an active heading sensor, BUT, Hewesfisher, if you have the TR-1 you can export its fast heading and don't need the KVH. I was on a 35 Fountain last month and it's TR-1 was the heading source for his furuno system and it worked fine. Check the manaul, I want to say nmea out was red (+), and black (-).
this is correct as I was just with the TR-1 rep last week - the tr-1 will output heading data also...I will have a KVH autocomp for sale next week if anyone is interested - with the vertical mounting bracket............
Old 10-02-2006, 01:32 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

SeaSwirler23 - 9/29/2006 4:36 PM

The AutoComp 1000 has no display guys, it is just an active heading sensor, BUT, Hewesfisher, if you have the TR-1 you can export its fast heading and don't need the KVH. I was on a 35 Fountain last month and it's TR-1 was the heading source for his furuno system and it worked fine. Check the manaul, I want to say nmea out was red (+), and black (-).
I love the help!! But are you sure that the TR-1 GLADIATOR is the one with the heading info out?? I may be wrong, but I think the TR-1 Gold is a closed nmea system? (Gold is a kicker control, Gladiator is the main engine autopilot control)

Anyone know for sure?
Old 10-02-2006, 07:18 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Didn't realize the Gold was the kicker pilot, I think you are right, but I have a card from a guy at TR-1, I'll shoot him an email to check for you for sure.
Old 10-02-2006, 01:12 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

Just got off the phone with my TR-1 contact, brains wise, the Gold is the same as the regular Gladiator, so you already have the needed NMEA heading source once you finish sea-trialing the pilot.
Old 10-02-2006, 04:19 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 833
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

SeaSwirler23 - 10/2/2006 1:12 PM

Just got off the phone with my TR-1 contact, brains wise, the Gold is the same as the regular Gladiator, so you already have the needed NMEA heading source once you finish sea-trialing the pilot.
Big mea culpa here, sorry everyone. but not more than an hour after I posted this my guy at TR-1 called me back, the TR-1 Gold only has a NMEA input, and NO NMEA output, so Hewesfisher, you will need a heading sensor (the KVH AutoComp is still my first choice there). Again, apologies, but my guy deals almost exclusively with saltwater center consoles, so he never does anything with the Gold, any kickers he sees are tied via a tiebar to the outboard and the regular TR-1 is used.
Old 10-02-2006, 10:25 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Re: KVH Azimuth 1000 or the KVH Autocomp 1000

SeaSwirler23--

No problem. I appreciate your help. Looks like the KVH Autocomp 1000 will be on its way!



Tom

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.