Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad question

Old 09-27-2006, 10:45 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,486
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simrad question

What level do you guys keep the gain on your sonar?? I get too much surface interference over 56% is that normal with the shoot thru??
Old 09-28-2006, 08:40 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 704
Likes: 0
Received 47 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Re: Simrad question

I have the combi-c thru hull and keep it between 50-55%. When drifting offshore I can go as high as 59% but it has some clutter.

What color is all the clutter. If it is light blue, you can eliminate that color which does'nt show anything usefull.
Old 09-28-2006, 11:51 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,486
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Simrad question

Thanks alot for the help. I run the same ducer as you, I will have to check the surface clutter color and let you know. I also read a post you wrote on increasing/decreasing the power, is that the same as the gain??? When I run I totally lose all use of the echo so I may not be set correctly. Thanks again
Old 09-28-2006, 03:22 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 704
Likes: 0
Received 47 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Re: Simrad question

When you run, you have to lower the gain because of the sensativity of that ducer. It picks up the noise from the props and engine.. Drop down till the clutter just goes away. Gain between 50-55%. I don't think I go below 50. You will notice that when you cross a wake, the whole screen goes red which can not be helped.

When I run, I keep the power setting on auto. It will change power settings from 10 to 100 watts about 200ft and from 100 to 500 watts around 500ft. It's annoying when I troll the 100 line and the power setting keeps bouncing back and forth between 100 and 500 watts so I change it to stay on 500 or 1000 watts so I don't have to keep adjusting the gain. When you change a power setting, you must readjust the gain but should only be 2 or 3 %.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.