Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Simrad Evo 2 scroll issue? ABBOR??? -- Issue persists - Simrad no help

Notices

Simrad Evo 2 scroll issue? ABBOR??? -- Issue persists - Simrad no help

Old 05-25-2019, 07:50 AM
  #1  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default Simrad Evo 2 scroll issue? ABBOR??? -- Issue persists - Simrad no help

Just splashed the boat and the scroll on the unit is choppy - meaning it will scroll then stop for a second the scroll and stop... Is this normal? I don't remember it doing that ever. Thanx

Last edited by rdiesel01; 06-07-2019 at 04:28 PM.
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 05-25-2019, 01:09 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 903
Default

Mine doing the same on18.3. only does it on high chirp, works fine on 200khz. hummm

Last edited by All Star; 05-25-2019 at 06:35 PM.
All Star is offline  
Old 05-26-2019, 07:12 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 903
Default

I switched the transducer to the other unit and it is doing the same.

Last edited by All Star; 05-27-2019 at 05:21 AM.
All Star is offline  
Old 05-27-2019, 07:33 AM
  #4  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default

When I get to the boat today I'm going to do a hard reset and load the latest update - hopefully that'll help
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 10:42 AM
  #5  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default

Abbor?
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 12:10 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,155
Default

Go back to 18.2. Backup the waypoints and perform a hardware reset.
abbor is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 12:13 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central, Florida
Posts: 1,507
Default

Mine was doing the same this weekend. I know it was on high chirp. I didn’t try any other frequencies.I Just updated to the new 18.3 as well... It was running fine before the update

Last edited by kurttruk; 05-28-2019 at 03:04 PM.
kurttruk is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 12:38 PM
  #8  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default

I'm running 18.1 - I'll try the hardware reset tonight - Thanks
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 05-28-2019, 09:37 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 136
Default

I had this stuttering issue with 18.2.
18.3 actually fixed it for me. With the initial 18.3 install, the sonar stuttering stopped but the unit began freezing if I attempted to access the trip intel screen. Just loaded the newest incarnation of 18.3 last week and it seems to be better but not perfect as it still freezes about half the time that I access trip intel.
DKilroy is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 08:11 AM
  #10  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default

Thanks - weather has been crappy here, tomm I'll get to boat and try a hard reset and upgrade
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 11:21 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,399
Default

I am having the same problem. I have upgraded to 19.1 (out just last week) and I am still having the freezing issue. I had it on 18.3 and now 19.1 Simrad is very frustrating. Not sure they really test their software. Seems to have issue after issue. If anyone gets a fix to the freezing, please let us know.
SaltyG is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 01:06 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,155
Default

Two 18.2 versions were released, first 60.1.134 and then 60.1.142., use the latest.
abbor is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 01:07 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,155
Default

Originally Posted by SaltyG View Post
I am having the same problem. I have upgraded to 19.1 (out just last week) and I am still having the freezing issue. I had it on 18.3 and now 19.1 Simrad is very frustrating. Not sure they really test their software. Seems to have issue after issue. If anyone gets a fix to the freezing, please let us know.
There is no 19.1 for Evo2 so you must have Evo3. This thread is about Evo2.
abbor is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:25 AM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 62
Default

Does your MFD every show a weak signal strength? I have noticed lag on some units that are not receiving a proper signal.
YellowfinDanielSon is offline  
Old 05-31-2019, 06:20 AM
  #15  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default

Issue not resolve - the only reason it got better was that unit was set to single freq. When set on med. chirp issue persists. Simrads solution is to run the unit on a single freq. and not med chirp. Huh???

Last edited by rdiesel01; 06-07-2019 at 04:31 PM.
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 06-07-2019, 04:32 PM
  #16  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fire Island NY
Posts: 1,121
Default

Simrad cust service leaves a lot to be desired
rdiesel01 is offline  
Old 06-07-2019, 04:38 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 21
Default

I had the same issue with my Evo 2, tried everything to fix it with no success.. Simrad let me trade in in and upgrade to an Evo 3 at half price.
ClassicMako261 is offline  
Old 06-07-2019, 06:04 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,205
Default

I was planning to install NSS_evo2-18.3-61.1.155-Standard-1.upd this weekend. It sounds like I should hold off. Is that true?
nfairbank is offline  
Old 06-09-2019, 07:19 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 903
Default

Originally Posted by nfairbank View Post
I was planning to install NSS_evo2-18.3-61.1.155-Standard-1.upd this weekend. It sounds like I should hold off. Is that true?
If you're not having problems don't create any. Don't start none won't be none.
All Star is offline  
Old 06-20-2019, 02:34 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central, Florida
Posts: 1,507
Default

Does anyone have any updates on this issue? Just downloaded 18.2 to my transfer chip. Hoping it fixes the issue. I’ll know for sure this weekend
kurttruk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread