Notices
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By Omarf4
  • 2 Post By tonyc69
  • 1 Post By Paiche
  • 1 Post By tonyc69
  • 1 Post By GC88

Garmin 1242 Touch Vs Controls

Old 05-09-2019, 07:18 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Default Garmin 1242 Touch Vs Controls

Do you guys recommend this G1242 and what are opinions on the touchscreen vs knob controls?
Sturkman is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 07:27 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Destin
Posts: 1,019
Default

i just installed two 1042xsv units and love them. I came from a touch screen. its nice having the ability to save 4 pre-sets on each screen to easily access which nav screen or sonar screen you want instantly. no fingerprints on the unit, very user friendly. the only Con i can think of is that they require a larger mounting area.
kyle_howie is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 07:56 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 803
Default

Went from touch to a 1242xsv with controls...... it takes forever to type waypoint names using the knob..... having shortcut keys is better than touch as you can press a button when running hard vs trying to stabilize your fingers on a touch screen..... zoom in/out is better with the knob to not accidentally pause the screen ......

pros and cons to each.... getting used to the controls... You'll get used to both eventually...Garmin needs to do what Lowrance is doing with their MFD's.. it has both.. touch and controls!
mdees88 likes this.
Omarf4 is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 09:23 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 535
Default Grid 20 Option

Garmin offers the Grid 20. Basically it is the keypad from non touch unit. I added it and networked it my 2 1242s.

Omarf4 and kyle_howie like this.
tonyc69 is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 07:32 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,043
Default

Originally Posted by tonyc69 View Post
Garmin offers the Grid 20. Basically it is the keypad from non touch unit. I added it and networked it my 2 1242s.
Thats interesting. I don’t think I’ve seen that before. How does it network? Nmea2000 or Garmin network? Also does it disable the touchscreen?

Stickbo is offline  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:21 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 69
Default

Originally Posted by Stickbo View Post


Thats interesting. I donít think Iíve seen that before. How does it network? Nmea2000 or Garmin network? Also does it disable the touchscreen?

The original Grid was Marine Network but the Grid 20 is N2K

You can pair it to multiple chart plotter and it does not disable the screen but you can disable the screen if you want.

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/pn/010-01024-00

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/pn/010-02011-00
Stickbo likes this.
Paiche is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 04:15 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 535
Default

Originally Posted by Stickbo View Post


Thats interesting. I donít think Iíve seen that before. How does it network? Nmea2000 or Garmin network? Also does it disable the touchscreen?

The Grid 20 comes in two versions.... Horizontal (on my helm) or vertical to mount next to or between screen(s). It doesn't disable anything.
Here are details -
GRID 20 Remote Input Device
The easy-to-use GRID 20 remote input device provides intuitive remote access and control of an entire Garmin marine system. It features a 360-degree joystick with a rotary knob and push-to-select button for easy chartplotter menu/setting navigation and fine control, even in the worst conditions. Users can designate four favorite keys to restore their system to a previously saved configuration. There are also a variety of hard keys for quick access to important functions, including left and right screen switches, autopilot standby/engage and more. For peace of mind, thereís also a dedicated SOS key. For added flexibility, the GRID 20 can be wired via NMEA 2000 or the included power cable, or installed wirelessly (AA batteries required). This plug-and-play solution can be tailored to a userís system preference with both vertical and horizonal mounting options, and its small footprint makes it convenient to integrate into a busy helm or between two displays. The GRID 20 is expected to be available in Q4 2018 with an MSRP of $249.99.
Stickbo likes this.
tonyc69 is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 04:17 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 121
Default

I have a 1242xsv touch and love it. I want another one.
tonyc69 likes this.
GC88 is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:01 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hewitt & Forked River, NJ
Posts: 3,114
Default

I just installed a 1242XSV Touch but have not really used it yet since I'm still on the hard. It was the biggest screen I could fit in my space and was almost the same size as the 3210 it replaced.
I figure if I don't like the touch when I'm running or the finger prints bother me I will install the Grid.
ReelNauti is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:23 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,811
Default

For touch screen enthusiasts as well as others, be aware you can add a screen protector just like you have on your phone. It will keep the glass from being scratched or the antiglare being damaged by the environment. I added a standard screen protector for a touch enabled monitor. Generic. Just matched the screen size as best as I could.

If you ever want to sell it, you will lose points if the screen isn't pristine.

Just saying.

I am adding a 1222xsv non touch. I already have a 7612xsv touch, so I will have one of each (which I have now with my 6212). I like the knobs better for some things, and they are cheaper to boot.
gerg is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 09:02 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,043
Default

Thanks for the info on the grid. Looks like I’m starting my wish list for next year already.
Stickbo is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 01:00 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,811
Default

Ok, I just installed my 1222. It's at 15.0, so it looks like I have to upgrade my 7612. grrrrr.

They aren't fully synching up. I can't see the 7612 sonar for example. Sigh, now I have to back everything up and roll the dice.

EDIT:!

False alarm. It was a loose network cable on the 7612. All is good for the moment. I see the g2 vision chip in the 7612, and the gt51 on the 7612 from the 1222.

Phew. I should probably still upgrade the system, but I have other priorities at the moment.

Oh, and a FU to Garmin for reducing the power/nmea length from 8' on the 6212 to 6 feet on the 1222. I needed that 2 feet!

Last edited by gerg; 05-10-2019 at 01:09 PM.
gerg is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 01:01 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 86
Default

I often use my brothers boat which has both side by side, I prefer the touch.
LISteiger is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 01:14 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 309
Default

Originally Posted by tonyc69 View Post
Garmin offers the Grid 20. Basically it is the keypad from non touch unit. I added it and networked it my 2 1242s.
Can you program the 4 shortcut buttons so they can set both monitors to a preset smartmode configuration? In other words button 1 sets left plotter to nav chart & right plotter to radar/sounder.

BTW OP I love touchscreen but there are times when a few buttons and a knob will come in handy. Aka the grid 20.

Thanks,
Scott
sfaatz is offline  
Old 05-11-2019, 05:10 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 251
Default

Will the Grid 20 work with a Garmin 8610 or 8612?
agsmoke is offline  
Old 05-11-2019, 12:14 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 309
Default

Originally Posted by agsmoke View Post
Will the Grid 20 work with a Garmin 8610 or 8612?
Yes.

Scott
sfaatz is offline  
Old 05-11-2019, 02:41 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,404
Default

The grid comes in handy if heavy rain hits the touchscreen and makes the MFD useless, it happened to me once, I had to disable the touchscreen to keep the display on chart during a bad storm on the way in. Normally the rain would never hit the touchscreens on my vessel, but this storm had high winds with rain coming from behind sideways. The grid is useful in these situations as you can disable the touchscreen and just use the grid when necessary. The grid also allows control of the MFD from other locations or right install it into the captains chair.

Jim
jfwireless is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread