Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

new waypoint symbol

Old 04-10-2019, 12:09 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: north of tropic ofr capricorn west oz
Posts: 1,025
Received 37 Likes on 25 Posts
Default new waypoint symbol

I have just downloaded some new waypoints into evo-2 I did not think to change the symbol at the time so I can easily identify the new waypoints, is their a way I can use a new symbol on these waypoints by the date they were imported or any suggestions how to do this aprox 150 w.p/s thanks
Old 04-10-2019, 10:42 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 15,529
Received 773 Likes on 600 Posts
Default

Look up the WP in the WP/Route file and click Edit. There should be icon symbol options offered on that page and you can add any details you need to display when the WP is highlighted by the cursor on the chart page. or when rechecking in the WP file.
Old 04-10-2019, 06:28 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: north of tropic ofr capricorn west oz
Posts: 1,025
Received 37 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Am I able to do multiple waypoint symbol changes by going this way or will I have to do each one singularly
Thanks
Old 04-10-2019, 07:52 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 29
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ozmako View Post
Am I able to do multiple waypoint symbol changes by going this way or will I have to do each one singularly
Thanks
Short answer, yes.....

I took the simcard out of the unit and converted the existing GPX file, from the Simrad, into an excel file. There's websites that will convert it either way for free, just takes a second.

Once it's in Excel, it will have all of your points listed out in Excel form (lat, long, waypoint name, etc) the very last column with information on it is "Symbol". Change to whatever symbol you want in Excel, then save and convert the revised file back to GPX form.

You said 150 points, this will be much quicker than manually entering in 150 times...

I would make an arbitrary point in Excel first using the desired symbol so you know what Excel calls it. IE cross,blue or rocksubmerged, smallfish, etc
Old 04-10-2019, 10:19 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: north of tropic ofr capricorn west oz
Posts: 1,025
Received 37 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

excellent I will give that a go Will these new changed / symbol waypoints over ride the recent imported waypoints or will a duplication occur
Thanks again
Old 04-11-2019, 04:06 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,354
Received 103 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

The easy way.

1 Copy your wayponts onto a card in GPX format,
2 Load Homeport onto your computer
3 Using Homeport select the WPs that you wish to change while holding the shift key.
4 Edit the waypoints and change symbols.
5 Save the file
6 Delete all the waypoints on your unit
7 Import the waypoints into your system.
Old 04-12-2019, 12:25 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: north of tropic ofr capricorn west oz
Posts: 1,025
Received 37 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by nfairbank View Post
The easy way.

1 Copy your wayponts onto a card in GPX format,
2 Load Homeport onto your computer
3 Using Homeport select the WPs that you wish to change while holding the shift key.
4 Edit the waypoints and change symbols.
5 Save the file
6 Delete all the waypoints on your unit
7 Import the waypoints into your system.
downloaded homeport highlighted the waypoints went in to symbols selected the blue flag re loaded the waypoints into the evo-2 and no changes to the symbols any idea what I am doing wrong
Thanks again
Old 04-12-2019, 02:53 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,354
Received 103 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

It sounds like you did not save the changes. To keep things clear, make the changes and use File, SaveAs and give the file another name. Then import that file.
Old 04-12-2019, 08:59 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: north of tropic ofr capricorn west oz
Posts: 1,025
Received 37 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

made the changes twice even went in and changed to red flags Still no symbol changes in the evo I cannot find save changes or save before exporting would appreciate the guidance
Thanks again

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.