Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By FELLMarineTeam

Welcome to FELL Marine

Reply

Old 04-04-2018, 12:24 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default Welcome to FELL Marine

Welcome to the FELL Marine forum!

At this forum we welcome you to ask us questions related to the MOB+ Wireless Man OverBoard System, seek advise or share your story.

FELL Marine is Norwegian and US based manufacturer and developer of proprietary high performance wireless systems for marine IoT and safety system. FELL Marine is the market leading manufacturer of wireless cut-off device having worldwide distribution and large customer base using the MOB+.
The MOB+ Wireless Man Overboard System has been in the market since mid-2015, with the generation 2 being available from fall 2017. We are excited about all the good feedback the product has received and we look forward to bringing out more cutting-edge products in the future.

We seek to deliver products that enable safe and enjoyable boating for all. Our aim is that our products allow you to use the boat just a little more and that every boat trip ends by you and your passengers returning safe at the docks.

Please share your feedback with us, good or bad. This will help us to deliver products that meet your needs.

Happy boating!
sclancy likes this.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 03:11 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Debary, Fl
Posts: 761
Default

I sent an inquiry to your "contact us" a couple weeks ago. I ordered your system a few months ago and really like it. My only complaint is the battery in the fob goes dead in two weeks or less with the boat setting in storage. I even wired the MOB to ignition. Even with the disconnects off the battery in fob still goes dead. This can't be right. It's cool you started this forum as I was starting to get irritated that no one has made contact with me. Thank you.
Vantaredoc is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 03:56 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default

Hi Vantaredoc,

Thank you for contacting us here at THT and sorry for not responding to your inquiry.

Can you confirm if you have contacted us through our form at:https://www.fellmarine.com/contact/? We are investigating why you did not get a respond from us.

Please get in touch with us by sending an email to [email protected] and we will get back to you shortly regarding you battery on the xFOB.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 04:25 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Debary, Fl
Posts: 761
Default

Originally Posted by FELLMarineTeam View Post
Hi Vantaredoc,

Thank you for contacting us here at THT and sorry for not responding to your inquiry.

Can you confirm if you have contacted us through our form at:https://www.fellmarine.com/contact/? We are investigating why you did not get a respond from us.

Please get in touch with us by sending an email to [email protected] and we will get back to you shortly regarding you battery on the xFOB.
Email sent... What would cause this issue?
Vantaredoc is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 05:49 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default

Vantaredoc,

Thanks for sending the email. Our technical department will answer to your email about your issue.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 10:56 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Debary, Fl
Posts: 761
Default

Originally Posted by FELLMarineTeam View Post
Vantaredoc,

Thanks for sending the email. Our technical department will answer to your email about your issue.
I answered the email. Thank you.
Vantaredoc is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 04:45 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 94
Default

Are you having QA issues with the xFOBS? I had one go bad and ordered 2 more. You just sent me a replacement for the bum one I already had. Out of the two I ordered, only one will pair, so basically I have/had 4 xFOBs and 50% will not pair.
Dawgvet98 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 01:16 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default

Hi Dawgvet98, thank you for your feedback.
We would like to investigate this further to find out what might be causing the unit not to pair in your case.
Please send an email to [email protected], or PM us your name so we can find you in our system, so that we can debug what is happening and get everything working as it should - We are here to help.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 06:12 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 604
Default

My XFOB battery only lasted two weeks and one hour of run time. Not happy. The xfobs could end up being a problem.
dmeswi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 12:37 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default

Hi dmeswi, we are sorry to hear that you are having problems with your xFOB.
We would like to investigate this further to find out what might be causing your xFOB not to work.
Can you please send us an email to [email protected], so we can find you in our system? This way we can debug what is happening and get everything working as it should - We are here to help.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 05:57 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: washington d.c.
Posts: 552
Default

Curious, the early reviews of V1 were very very good. And the added features for V2 really show that you guys are on your game and ready to own this market segment. Are the issues you are experiencing with FOBs and main units just isolated manufacturing issues and/or user error? I am very interested in the spring discount code (ready to pull the trigger in fact!) but a little concerned about the FOBs in particular - battery life, pairing issues, etc....Definitely hoping you guys get everything sorted and this product takes off! Very impressed with your customer service for a non-US based company - I love that you are importing directly and handling customer service/warranty/repairs directly - nothing worse than a sole importer/distributor with no technical support abilities.
sclancy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 11:07 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default

Hi sclancy,

Thank you for posting on our forum.

We appreciate the feedback we get here on The Hull Truth which is the reason we have a forum here in the first place.

We continously log our system performance and when we do get support cases where we suspect a malfunction, our standard routine is to replace the unit in question and take it in to our facilities for inspection and conclusion of what may have caused the problem in the first place.

So far for the GEN2 version xFOB we have had 5 registered cases and so far the 3 registered conclusions have been one malfunction, one case where the customer unfortunately had broken off a piece of the plastic rib which holds the battery cover. This in turn lead to water getting into the unit.

The third concluded case was a unit which would not pair. However in our labs the unit pairs up as it should and so we are verifying whether it was intended for a GEN1 or a GEN2 product.
We are waiting to receive the two remaining units to investigate them.

We are continously monitoring our failure rate and it is less than 0.1%.
Every single unit is tested in production to verify functionality and we are confident that our products hold a very high level of quality. Nonetheless, product issues may occur and we will do our best to resolve the issues arising if any.

If any of you experience problems and post them here we would greatly appreciate if you can send us your email address in a private message so that we can know that your case is getting taken care of. This information will be kept confidential and not reposted from us anywhere.

To ensure the quality of our customer care we recommend all inquires be sent to [email protected].

We are here for you and we greatly appreciate your honest feedback.


Your FELL Marine Team.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 04:31 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: washington d.c.
Posts: 552
Default Fell

You guys continue to impress all around. Great update/feedback. Great idea sending replacements and then testing the failed products. I have no doubts as to your success in this market. Looking forward to ordering the product and improving the safety factor on board. It will be interesting to watch as Fell no doubt engineers/develops additional products for the marine marketplace.

Originally Posted by FELLMarineTeam View Post
Hi sclancy,

Thank you for posting on our forum.

We appreciate the feedback we get here on The Hull Truth which is the reason we have a forum here in the first place.

We continously log our system performance and when we do get support cases where we suspect a malfunction, our standard routine is to replace the unit in question and take it in to our facilities for inspection and conclusion of what may have caused the problem in the first place.

So far for the GEN2 version xFOB we have had 5 registered cases and so far the 3 registered conclusions have been one malfunction, one case where the customer unfortunately had broken off a piece of the plastic rib which holds the battery cover. This in turn lead to water getting into the unit.

The third concluded case was a unit which would not pair. However in our labs the unit pairs up as it should and so we are verifying whether it was intended for a GEN1 or a GEN2 product.
We are waiting to receive the two remaining units to investigate them.

We are continously monitoring our failure rate and it is less than 0.1%.
Every single unit is tested in production to verify functionality and we are confident that our products hold a very high level of quality. Nonetheless, product issues may occur and we will do our best to resolve the issues arising if any.

If any of you experience problems and post them here we would greatly appreciate if you can send us your email address in a private message so that we can know that your case is getting taken care of. This information will be kept confidential and not reposted from us anywhere.

To ensure the quality of our customer care we recommend all inquires be sent to [email protected].

We are here for you and we greatly appreciate your honest feedback.


Your FELL Marine Team.
sclancy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 04:45 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 395
Default

I bought mine last spring at a great price but was unable to install until this week, I have a thick dash so the collar would not screw on the back, as I was already aware of this possibility I was prepared to mount the base using silicone caulk which worked very well and it looks great in the dash. I wired per instructions and it works as advertised. I am very happy and I'm looking forward to years of service from this device, thank you from a very happy customer!!!
Vitalsigns is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 04:55 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Debary, Fl
Posts: 761
Default

Originally Posted by Vitalsigns View Post
I bought mine last spring at a great price but was unable to install until this week, I have a thick dash so the collar would not screw on the back, as I was already aware of this possibility I was prepared to mount the base using silicone caulk which worked very well and it looks great in the dash. I wired per instructions and it works as advertised. I am very happy and I'm looking forward to years of service from this device, thank you from a very happy customer!!!
I know this won't help you, but for anyone who may read this in the future, I just received my warranty replacement unit and it is threaded all the way to the end. A great improvement!
Vantaredoc is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 06:57 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 46
Default

I am looking at your website. What is the difference between the GEN1 and GEN2? Do you have recommended installers in the Fort Lauderdale area or is this something I can install in an afternoon with basic wiring knowledge. Thanks very interested.
MiamiNole is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 08:15 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 227
Default

I have a gen 1 that is starting to give me problems. It is now shutting my Suzuki down whenever I hit a sharp wave. When I take the MOB out of the circuit, the issue goes away. What could cause the MOB to seND out a Kill signal when hitting a wave?
bigtiny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 09:30 AM
  #18  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 23
Default

Hi bigtiny,

Thank you for writing in our forum.

We are sorry to hear you are experiencing trouble with your MOB+, and we will investigate this further to find the cause.

I see you already sent us an email to [email protected] and there is a registered support case on the matter which is currently being handled by our technical team and so we will help you resolve this matter as quickly as possible.

-FELL Marine Team

UPDATE:
Glad we got it resolved and that the cause was confirmed to be a loose power wire.
FELLMarineTeam is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: