Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Dockside Chat
Reload this Page >

Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

Notices
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By SmokyMtnGrady
  • 1 Post By D.M.D.
  • 1 Post By mwgoldman

Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

Old 06-03-2018, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Smoky Mountains of NC
Posts: 677
Default Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

My son just told me 30 minutes ago that on Google maps the Atlantic Ocean is a 3.9 out of five stars. The Indian Ocean is at the top with 4.2 stars. I was feeling pretty awesome preparing for my father son spring fishing trip to back to my home turf off of East Central Florida this week. Now, I am bummed. The Atlantic is like a mid tier fishing hole according to Google maps.

I use to think I liked the Atlantic especially the Keys and Bahamas but now after reading the reviews I am questioning all those amazing years of boating and fishing and now all that has just been a mid tier time ;-).
Lee Majors likes this.
SmokyMtnGrady is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 03:40 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 367
Default

Haha. My 16 year old informed me that at our ocean had a so so rating a few weeks ago as well.
Lee Majors is offline  
Old 06-03-2018, 03:54 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 1,265
Default

Shhhhh. Let them think that.
Fish_DOut is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 03:30 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brookline, Ma.
Posts: 1,692
Default

Uh-oh.....Now we're going to have a bunch of other Butt Hurt Oceans.....Time to break out the participation tropies and "Thanks for SHow'n Up"!
Smitty_81 likes this.
D.M.D. is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 03:33 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Amongst the FL fishies
Posts: 6,756
Default

Be sure you believe all the Google says. I heard the sky is falling, too.
airbrush is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 05:50 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 367
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
Be sure you believe all the Google says. I heard the sky is falling, too.
pretty sure these ratings are just for comic relief
Lee Majors is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 06:18 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AL
Posts: 4,277
Default

The Gulf of Mexico has a 4.5 star ranking. So, we got that going for us. The problem is that Im pretty sure that a number of the reviews are serious.
Lee Majors likes this.
mwgoldman is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 12:25 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 767
Default

I noticed that too! We were fishing a Canadian Shield lake with hundreds of islands. Phone asks how we liked Martin Island. No reviews as of yet.
sand key is offline  
Old 06-04-2018, 12:42 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 866
Default

Man, now I have like 1400 reviews to read through. There goes my day!
Mooney6959 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread