Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Dockside Chat
Reload this Page >

Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

Notices

Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

Old 06-03-2018, 04:38 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Smoky Mountains of NC
Posts: 878
Received 646 Likes on 262 Posts
Default Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

My son just told me 30 minutes ago that on Google maps the Atlantic Ocean is a 3.9 out of five stars. The Indian Ocean is at the top with 4.2 stars. I was feeling pretty awesome preparing for my father son spring fishing trip to back to my home turf off of East Central Florida this week. Now, I am bummed. The Atlantic is like a mid tier fishing hole according to Google maps.

I use to think I liked the Atlantic especially the Keys and Bahamas but now after reading the reviews I am questioning all those amazing years of boating and fishing and now all that has just been a mid tier time ;-).
Old 06-03-2018, 04:40 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 449
Received 292 Likes on 143 Posts
Default

Haha. My 16 year old informed me that at our ocean had a so so rating a few weeks ago as well.
Old 06-03-2018, 04:54 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 1,400
Received 340 Likes on 229 Posts
Default

Shhhhh. Let them think that.
Old 06-04-2018, 04:30 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brookline, Ma.
Posts: 1,852
Received 1,053 Likes on 523 Posts
Default

Uh-oh.....Now we're going to have a bunch of other Butt Hurt Oceans.....Time to break out the participation tropies and "Thanks for SHow'n Up"!
Old 06-04-2018, 04:33 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 7,311
Received 1,471 Likes on 773 Posts
Default

Be sure you believe all the Google says. I heard the sky is falling, too.
Old 06-04-2018, 06:50 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 449
Received 292 Likes on 143 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
Be sure you believe all the Google says. I heard the sky is falling, too.
pretty sure these ratings are just for comic relief
Old 06-04-2018, 07:18 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AL
Posts: 4,671
Received 887 Likes on 469 Posts
Default

The Gulf of Mexico has a 4.5 star ranking. So, we got that going for us. The problem is that Im pretty sure that a number of the reviews are serious.
Old 06-04-2018, 01:25 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 887
Received 70 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

I noticed that too! We were fishing a Canadian Shield lake with hundreds of islands. Phone asks how we liked Martin Island. No reviews as of yet.
Old 06-04-2018, 01:42 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 957
Received 798 Likes on 349 Posts
Default

Man, now I have like 1400 reviews to read through. There goes my day!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.