Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Dockside Chat
Reload this Page >

Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

Notices

Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

Old 06-03-2018, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Smoky Mountains of NC
Posts: 804
Received 610 Likes on 245 Posts
Default Google maps now ranks oceans and allows reviews

My son just told me 30 minutes ago that on Google maps the Atlantic Ocean is a 3.9 out of five stars. The Indian Ocean is at the top with 4.2 stars. I was feeling pretty awesome preparing for my father son spring fishing trip to back to my home turf off of East Central Florida this week. Now, I am bummed. The Atlantic is like a mid tier fishing hole according to Google maps.

I use to think I liked the Atlantic especially the Keys and Bahamas but now after reading the reviews I am questioning all those amazing years of boating and fishing and now all that has just been a mid tier time ;-).
Old 06-03-2018, 03:40 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 430
Received 279 Likes on 139 Posts
Default

Haha. My 16 year old informed me that at our ocean had a so so rating a few weeks ago as well.
Old 06-03-2018, 03:54 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 1,389
Received 337 Likes on 228 Posts
Default

Shhhhh. Let them think that.
Old 06-04-2018, 03:30 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brookline, Ma.
Posts: 1,830
Received 1,046 Likes on 521 Posts
Default

Uh-oh.....Now we're going to have a bunch of other Butt Hurt Oceans.....Time to break out the participation tropies and "Thanks for SHow'n Up"!
Old 06-04-2018, 03:33 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Amongst the FL fishies
Posts: 7,079
Received 1,317 Likes on 703 Posts
Default

Be sure you believe all the Google says. I heard the sky is falling, too.
Old 06-04-2018, 05:50 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 430
Received 279 Likes on 139 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
Be sure you believe all the Google says. I heard the sky is falling, too.
pretty sure these ratings are just for comic relief
Old 06-04-2018, 06:18 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AL
Posts: 4,433
Received 702 Likes on 378 Posts
Default

The Gulf of Mexico has a 4.5 star ranking. So, we got that going for us. The problem is that Im pretty sure that a number of the reviews are serious.
Old 06-04-2018, 12:25 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 833
Received 59 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

I noticed that too! We were fishing a Canadian Shield lake with hundreds of islands. Phone asks how we liked Martin Island. No reviews as of yet.
Old 06-04-2018, 12:42 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 938
Received 785 Likes on 345 Posts
Default

Man, now I have like 1400 reviews to read through. There goes my day!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.