Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Dockside Chat
Reload this Page >

How to get Wind Mitigation Inspection-FL

Notices

How to get Wind Mitigation Inspection-FL

Old 02-17-2018, 04:58 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Cocoa, FL Brevard
Posts: 5,892
Received 339 Likes on 199 Posts
Default How to get Wind Mitigation Inspection-FL

Just had a metal roof put on my house, who do I call to get a Wind Mitigation Inspection done?

Thanks regardless
Old 02-17-2018, 05:00 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Merritt Island Fl
Posts: 601
Likes: 0
Received 143 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Call your roofer. Most of them include it with the roof. If not most HI companies can do it. I think a GC can too.
Old 02-17-2018, 05:05 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Florida (Longwood) & Marathon
Posts: 1,445
Received 360 Likes on 177 Posts
Default

Your insurance agent can probably reccomend someone
Old 02-17-2018, 05:10 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,770
Received 331 Likes on 215 Posts
Default

Never heard of that inspection. Is it mandatory, or a required inspection in Fl. for insurance?
Old 02-17-2018, 05:31 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location:
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 68 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

If your home was built before 2002 you can get discounts for new roof, roof attachment and hurricane clips. Could save you a bunch of money on Home Insurance.

If your house is 2002 or newer, the insurance company automatically gives the discounts.
Old 02-17-2018, 05:31 AM
  #6  
THT SponsorCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wisconsin And Marathon,Fl
Posts: 9,173
Received 2,523 Likes on 1,146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by HighSpeedPursuit View Post
Just had a metal roof put on my house, who do I call to get a Wind Mitigation Inspection done?

Thanks regardless
Think there is more too it than just the roofers say so. My inspector did, I believe an 8 point inspection. He checked various things like joist straps, nailing or screwing of the decking spacing. That is something hopefully your roofer took pics of as the inspector obviously cant see that now.
In the end I paid 4-5 hundred for the inspection and my insurance company still denied the credit because the inspector could not prove how many straps we actually had.
Old 02-17-2018, 05:33 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location:
Posts: 222
Likes: 0
Received 68 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mikeloew View Post
Think there is more too it than just the roofers say so. My inspector did, I believe an 8 point inspection. He checked various things like joist straps, nailing or screwing of the decking spacing. That is something hopefully your roofer took pics of as the inspector obviously cant see that now.
In the end I paid 4-5 hundred for the inspection and my insurance company still denied the credit because the inspector could not prove how many straps we actually had.
A Wind Mit inspection in Tallahassee is $95-$125. A roofer rarely does the wind mit correctly because photos and measurements of the nail spacing/size are required. Most roofers dont have a program to create a wind mit with photos.
Old 02-17-2018, 06:22 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Merritt Island Fl
Posts: 601
Likes: 0
Received 143 Likes on 60 Posts
Default

Well my roofing company here in Florida handed me one when he replaced my roof. He provided photo's, permit, and required documentation.
Old 02-17-2018, 06:30 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 260
Received 280 Likes on 163 Posts
Default

My insurance company sent its own inspector to verify I was eligible for the discount. He didn't even look at the previous wind mitigation inspections.

He did the inspection, I kept the discount.
Old 02-17-2018, 06:33 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,623
Received 632 Likes on 363 Posts
Default

Just call a home inspection company, the same ones that you would call to do a pre-purchase inspection.

Last few times I've closed on a house, I've had to do my own wind inspection for insurance, and then the insurance co themselves will send their own guy out within the next 30 days to redo it. (since fraud was such a common problem, 10 years ago you'd pay $199 and an inspector would write you a glowing report)

I haven't head of any way to get the insurance guys to send their own inspector first, but maybe if it is an existing carrier/policy they would.
Old 02-17-2018, 06:35 AM
  #11  
KBH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,209
Received 775 Likes on 439 Posts
Default

Inspectors have no problem verifying the nail pattern. They do it electronically with a meter similar to a stud finder. Wind storm mitigation is much more than just the roof. It also includes windows and/or shutters and doors, including garage doors.
Old 02-17-2018, 06:55 AM
  #12  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lighthouse Point
Posts: 5,635
Received 1,134 Likes on 747 Posts
Default

Home - Don Meyler Inspections These guys do Florida. They hire firemen a lot.
Old 02-17-2018, 07:05 AM
  #13  
THT SponsorCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wisconsin And Marathon,Fl
Posts: 9,173
Received 2,523 Likes on 1,146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by KBH View Post
Inspectors have no problem verifying the nail pattern. They do it electronically with a meter similar to a stud finder. Wind storm mitigation is much more than just the roof. It also includes windows and/or shutters and doors, including garage doors.
How do they do this with a metal roof, and how do they verify the proper fasteners?
Old 02-17-2018, 07:13 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pismo Beach, Ca.
Posts: 3,853
Likes: 0
Received 468 Likes on 255 Posts
Default

Wind Mitigation? And I thought Ca was ****ed up.
Old 02-17-2018, 07:37 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 2,041
Received 272 Likes on 220 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gundog61 View Post
Never heard of that inspection. Is it mandatory, or a required inspection in Fl. for insurance?
You can definitely get some discounts if you get it done. My agent was reviewing my policy and noticed I didn't have one done, and asked if I wanted to schedule one. I agreed and paid the small fee (sub $100, IIRC). The inspector poked around in the attic, looked at my hurricane shutters, checked the breaker box, and a few other things. Ended up reducing my insurance bill by $2500.
Old 02-17-2018, 07:46 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny florida
Posts: 25,255
Received 5,411 Likes on 3,460 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mikeloew View Post
Think there is more too it than just the roofers say so. My inspector did, I believe an 8 point inspection. He checked various things like joist straps, nailing or screwing of the decking spacing. That is something hopefully your roofer took pics of as the inspector obviously cant see that now.
In the end I paid 4-5 hundred for the inspection and my insurance company still denied the credit because the inspector could not prove how many straps we actually had.
I've done a few..don't do it anymore. Stupid as hell, but saves money. Roof deck attachment, hurricane straps, method of construction, opening protection.

Standardized form and questions, designed by some desk jockey somewhere who had risen to a position above their capabilities.

My advice..find someone to sign it and lie like hell.
Old 02-17-2018, 07:50 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny florida
Posts: 25,255
Received 5,411 Likes on 3,460 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mikeloew View Post
How do they do this with a metal roof, and how do they verify the proper fasteners?
Inside the attic. Dumbasses want a picture of a "shiner" ..decking nail that didn't hit the truss/rafter. Problem is..if you've got any shiners during construction, the inspector fails the job.
Old 02-17-2018, 08:29 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 8,435
Received 4,006 Likes on 2,265 Posts
Default

The roofer needs to complete the form and provide pictures. Get the form from your insurance company and he will do it for you. You really should have addressed this issue when you contracted for the new roof.
Old 02-17-2018, 05:04 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,167
Likes: 0
Received 196 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Most of the home inspectors here in FL do wind mit.
Old 02-17-2018, 08:38 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: One bridge south of Clearwater Beach
Posts: 1,663
Likes: 0
Received 979 Likes on 483 Posts
Default

You guys are making it out to be too difficult. Never has my roofer offered to do one, then again, I never asked. I wait until the house is finished when I'm switching from vacant house policy to occupied structure, call Pinnacle Inspections in Pinellas County and they charge me $95 to do the inspection.....they usually email a copy to the agent and one to me, along with the invoice. I had 8 of them done last year and numerous ones the years before and never had an issue.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.