Notices

THT ratings / reviews website

Old 12-01-2016, 01:00 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
crazybeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tropico
Posts: 5,803
Default THT ratings / reviews website

I'm wondering if this might be beneficial - a site where only THT members can and businesses and ratings/reviews for businesses and products. Sure there is Amazon, Yelp and other sites but most of them lack the boating element. For example hotels on the water. Dockage fees, trailer parking fees, etc. there's always a thread about hotels in the keys or what to do in this or that place. And so on. Seems it might be better to have a more organized method.

The site would be free and public to view but only THT members would be allowed to join and add/rate/review.

At some point there could be monetizing options that wouldn't influence anything and I'd like to see a large part of that revenue (there would be some costs involved in operating it if it gets to the point there is enough revenue to actually make a difference, and perhaps some gift cards via drawings for those who contribute) from that go back to members or their families in need for major medical issues and such that we see posted here so just by helping each other we could get advertising $ to help those in need as well.

Thoughts? Worth the effort? Would you be willing to contribute by adding items and businesses to it? I mean really contributing since no way one person can add all those places and such. I can build it, manage the server, pay for hosting and some development with my programmers, but could use help with getting some of the content in there.
crazybeard is offline  
Old 12-01-2016, 03:58 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island,NY
Posts: 11,967
Default

Its not clear to me if such a site would work any better than the current publically available sites. We do have our share of knuckleheads on this site.
SeaJay is offline  
Old 12-02-2016, 10:27 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 4,885
Default

Since anyone can join THT all you've done is make a site that requires someone to have another requirement that is really easy for scammers / hackers / etc to bypass in an automated fashion to release their bots upon.
keithelder is offline  
Old 12-02-2016, 02:16 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
crazybeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tropico
Posts: 5,803
Default

Originally Posted by keithelder View Post
Since anyone can join THT all you've done is make a site that requires someone to have another requirement that is really easy for scammers / hackers / etc to bypass in an automated fashion to release their bots upon.
Actually no.
crazybeard is offline  
Old 12-02-2016, 06:27 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 4,038
Default

and if specific ratings can be pinned to specific members than we can decide (based on our experience here) how likely we are to agree.
fijon is offline  
Old 12-03-2016, 08:26 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 4,885
Default

Think like a hacker or scammer or cheat. If you can't secure it then it can't be trusted. This is the same problem Amazon is facing. There are literally companies that exist that post fake reviews to boost their product while tearing down others. Which I believe you are trying to address. You just have to think of security and accountability first.
keithelder is offline  
Old 12-03-2016, 08:39 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
crazybeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tropico
Posts: 5,803
Default

Originally Posted by keithelder View Post
Think like a hacker or scammer or cheat. If you can't secure it then it can't be trusted. This is the same problem Amazon is facing. There are literally companies that exist that post fake reviews to boost their product while tearing down others. Which I believe you are trying to address. You just have to think of security and accountability first.
First of all, I appreciate your feedback and thoughts about the security.

However what you're missing is that if I only open it to THT members, because I am not IB then I do not and would not have access to the THT database. So in order to verify someone is a THT member and set them up, I would have to do it via PM to verify their account.

And I'm not going to do it for someone with a low number of posts or newly created accounts. Even if I did have access, I could create custom code to make sure someone has been a member for X time, and has X posts.

There are ways to hack and scam, but with a manual review process that makes it much, much harder to for them to sneak through via bots.
crazybeard is offline  
Old 12-04-2016, 07:06 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 4,885
Default

If you are going to manulaize it all you probably need is to setup a wiki so folks could keep it updated.
keithelder is offline  
Old 12-04-2016, 07:18 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5,406
Default

Originally Posted by crazybeard View Post
... So in order to verify someone is a THT member and set them up, I would have to do it via PM to verify their account.

And I'm not going to do it for someone with a low number of posts or newly created accounts. Even if I did have access, I could create custom code to make sure someone has been a member for X time, and has X posts.
....
I think in very short order IB will block you from using this site to complement your site.
chrispnet is offline  
Old 12-04-2016, 07:39 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
crazybeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tropico
Posts: 5,803
Default

I was just just trying to come up with a way where what we do normally could generate revenue and give that to those facing a massive unforeseen need.

Regardless of the logistics, it seems that there's not much interest in this. The how can be figured out if there is a desire.
crazybeard is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread