Notices

Reviews

Old 01-01-2014, 06:52 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: jacksonville, florida usa
Posts: 2,235
Default Reviews

Do you check the reviews on the products you buy? If so how much stock do you put in the reviews? Such as the example below. There is 9 reviews, most give a 5 star rating two give a 1 star rating. Do you think the two that give a 1 star rating just did not know how to install it correct?


http://www.keltecweapons.com/review/...stomer-reviews
LuckyLaRue is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 06:54 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,278
Default

Didn't look at the link but I base ~90% of my purchases on good reviews.
NJFISH is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 06:58 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
240 LTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 20,654
Default

Depending on the product, bigger $ tag, expect to keep it for a long period, NEED it to do it's intended purpose without fail, Yes, I read reviews on them from multiple places.


.
240 LTS is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 07:05 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Achilles, VA
Posts: 5,042
Default

Yes. I read the negative ones.
Mako 234 is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 07:11 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Saugus, Ma. USA
Posts: 11,059
Default

Originally Posted by LuckyLaRue View Post
Do you check the reviews on the products you buy? If so how much stock do you put in the reviews? Such as the example below. There is 9 reviews, most give a 5 star rating two give a 1 star rating. Do you think the two that give a 1 star rating just did not know how to install it correct?


http://www.keltecweapons.com/review/...stomer-reviews
I wrestled with the same question [in general] and this is what I came up with. Pick something that you bought that you would review, since you know it well. Now find that item online and read the reviews.
jobowker is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 08:38 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: jacksonville, florida usa
Posts: 2,235
Default

Originally Posted by jobowker View Post
I wrestled with the same question [in general] and this is what I came up with. Pick something that you bought that you would review, since you know it well. Now find that item online and read the reviews.
Never thought of that, but that seems like a good way to go about it.
LuckyLaRue is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 08:42 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Gretna, LA, USA
Posts: 6,195
Default

Plus you have to remember that 2 out of every 9 internet reviewers are just dumb. I read them and understand that people like to brag about what they bought and the greatest review could be coming from the seller. However, this still is more info than just staring at the product on a store shelf.
trout25red is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 08:48 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 71
Default

And people who have something negative to say are about 10 times more likely to take it public than someone who is happy with their purchase.
TWSS is offline  
Old 01-01-2014, 08:58 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CT
Posts: 18,346
Default

Originally Posted by trout25red View Post
Plus you have to remember that 2 out of every 9 internet reviewers are just dumb. I read them and understand that people like to brag about what they bought and the greatest review could be coming from the seller. However, this still is more info than just staring at the product on a store shelf.
Yep I often wonder how many are from the manufacturer - and really how often do you take the time to review? I have mostly only reviewed products that I did not like. Anyway it is ONE piece of information and yes if they are there I always look at them.
LI Sound Grunt is online now  
Old 01-01-2014, 09:28 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pacific NW coast~!
Posts: 2,287
Default

Originally Posted by LI Sound Grunt View Post
Yep I often wonder how many are from the manufacturer - and really how often do you take the time to review? I have mostly only reviewed products that I did not like. Anyway it is ONE piece of information and yes if they are there I always look at them.
I can assure you that the major sites (ebay, amazon, tripadvisor) have put some major time and effort to eliminate false reviews. The logic / algorithm is not that hard to see.

Example ... a hotel in Hawaii.

If this hotel normally gets 3 stars out of 5. Then all of a sudden, it gets 30 reviews that gave it 5 stars ... not likely. False reviewers...

If those 30 reviews are mostly from users that have only one review (of THAT hotel) and doesn't follow the trend of the other reviewers (some have only one review, others will have hundreds) .,.. agan red flag for false reviews.

If the positive reviews for this hotel are all from users who have very few reviews (ie: one only), but the users who gave it negative reviews have many reviews of various hotels... this is not likely. Red flag for false reviews. Even if those positive reviews are spread over a long period of time.

You can reverse this logic too for negative reviews of say, a competitor trying to bring down someone else's hotel.

The reviewing website can write an algorithm to detect the common pattern of a consumer that writes a review. It can apply this pattern to new reviews to detect the "likelyhood" that its a false review. That review can be flagged for human reviews .. IP address can be tracked etc...

Websites like Tripadvisor who entire service depends on reviewer data will go to great lengths to develop an algorithm to protect their database against false reviews.
makonnen is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:00 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 15,993
Default

I prefer purchasing on line (it keeps my impulse buying curbed). I read reviews on just about anything I buy that I am unfamiliar with, ESPECIALLY electronic stuff. Many times I will also Google 'problems with brand and model' and see what pops up.

Actually as type this on a Logitech keyboard I got a month ago which some reviewers found the built in mouse and some keys cumbersome.. I should have paid attention to it and am checking out other keyboards and their reviews!
Afishinado is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:25 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Johnny Dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 10,969
Default

I always check the reviews. Usually, I find some nugget of info that the manufacturer didn't realize was pertinent to why I want the product.

I sometimes find myself asking "Yes, but if I plug it into this, then that and put it outside with some marshmallows...."

Then low and behold a reviewer..."I took mine outside with some marshmallows and it worked!"

Groovy! That tennis racket is for me!
Johnny Dreamer is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 03:52 AM
  #13  
KJS
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where I go, there I am
Posts: 16,756
Default

What Johnny said. I read the reviews and then apply some common sense.
KJS is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 04:08 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 10,117
Default

I just decided not to get an expensive present for my daughter,
After reading a lot of negative reviews. I figure I was just rescued from making an expensive mistake.
I love reviews. as mentioned, add common sense.
north coast is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 04:11 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 3,893
Default

I look for reviews on pretty much everything. The great part is being able to get opinions from real-time users of the good and bad stuff. This was especially true on my Grady and have not had a single surprise that wasn't good. BUT make no mistake there are plants in some reviews many of which are just employees of companies or maybe someone intent on harming a product. We even experienced a motel's owner giving reviews for his own property at Yellowstone last year. We asked him about local restaraunt recommendations and his response was nearly the "exact" wording of one such reviewer. The Admiral and I caught it at the same time....

So I don't pay much attention to them unless there are a substantial number of reviews and/or the reviews are such that it's easy to discern value.
GulfC is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 04:19 AM
  #16  
KJS
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where I go, there I am
Posts: 16,756
Default

Buddy of mine worked for a small boutique hotel in Savannah. His name came up on a negative review on a prominent site and a major investor saw it. He was fired no questions asked.
KJS is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 04:37 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent Narrows, MD
Posts: 7,087
Default

I always check reviews when available. One of the advantages of Amazon (which I use a lot) is the reviews.

As said, you have to apply common sense to the reviews and of the reviewers.

For instance, I would never trust the judgment of someone who bought a Keltec or someone that didn't check that a different round might fit in the mag extension

Also, several of those reviews are duplicates
Elusive is offline  
Old 01-02-2014, 04:43 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 729
Default

I usually check reviews and keep in mind that people with a negative viewpoint are more likely to actually leave a review.
DandH is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread