The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum (https://www.thehulltruth.com/index.php)
-   Dockside Chat (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat-18/)
-   -   Roof leak, opinions. (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat/413622-roof-leak-opinions.html)

hottoddie 03-24-2012 06:56 AM

Roof leak, opinions.
 
Friend of mine had the roof on his 20X20 additiion replaced by his nephew about 6 years ago. The main house has a 6 pitch roof that transitions to a 2 pitch on the addition. The addition also has 2 fixed skylights. His nephew put on architecual shingles over 15 lb felt and I don't know if he put any ice and water along the lower edge of the roof or not. I have advised him that the roof should have been either roll roofed or membrane roofed when it was done and it that to try and patch the roof is a waste if time. He is tight on cash at the moment and wants a cheap fix. Anyone have any experience with the roof coatings that you roll on to seal the leaks? I am sceptical and doubt it will work and he should live with the occasional leaks and wait till he get the roof done the right way. What do you guys think?

billinstuart 03-24-2012 10:27 AM

You've identified the basic problem..not enough pitch for the roofing system applied. Anything now is a temporary bandaid.

frugal boater 03-24-2012 10:59 AM

Six year old roof with good shingles and tar paper should not need replacing yet. Are the shingles in good shape and not damaged or lifted? Leaking from a snow and ice buildup or just rain? Check the roof transition and skylight flashings. Look for any low spots that hold or puddle water and are not rolling it off. Any standing water will find a way to leak. If there are gutters, did they clog , backup and leak through a facsia?

billinstuart 03-24-2012 01:45 PM


Originally Posted by frugal boater (Post 4471186)
Six year old roof with good shingles and tar paper should not need replacing yet. Are the shingles in good shape and not damaged or lifted? Leaking from a snow and ice buildup or just rain? Check the roof transition and skylight flashings. Look for any low spots that hold or puddle water and are not rolling it off. Any standing water will find a way to leak. If there are gutters, did they clog , backup and leak through a facsia?

ANY roof with less than 3/12 pitch MUST be at least double layered on the dry-in. 2/12 cannot be single layer dry-in without leaking. A membrane is better.

In the souf we'uns don't do ice dam stuff.....

Hotroddie is correct on the lower roof.

CharlieFoxtrot 03-24-2012 01:59 PM

What Bill said.
Skylights on a two pitch, with shingles.....ha. Good one. Velux says minimum pitch is 3/12.
Might be able to ice and watershield the whole addition roof (what I usually recommend anyway instead of felt) and get away with it after reshingling, but I would loose the skylights....or build a really tall curb for them.

gort 03-24-2012 02:13 PM


Originally Posted by hottoddie (Post 4470761)
Friend of mine had the roof on his 20X20 additiion replaced by his nephew about 6 years ago. The main house has a 6 pitch roof that transitions to a 2 pitch on the addition. The addition also has 2 fixed skylights. His nephew put on architecual shingles over 15 lb felt and I don't know if he put any ice and water along the lower edge of the roof or not. I have advised him that the roof should have been either roll roofed or membrane roofed when it was done and it that to try and patch the roof is a waste if time. He is tight on cash at the moment and wants a cheap fix. Anyone have any experience with the roof coatings that you roll on to seal the leaks? I am sceptical and doubt it will work and he should live with the occasional leaks and wait till he get the roof done the right way. What do you guys think?

Get a 25' x 25' blue tarp till he has the cash to do it right.

Mist-Rest 03-24-2012 06:58 PM

I never thought I'd see the day that I would agree with gort....... It's here.

Up North 4:12 is the min I'd ever put a shingle on. As for skylights, 35 year shingles with a 10 year flashing kit. The math don't work and the pitch only makes it worse.

Edisto_Rebel 03-24-2012 07:17 PM


Originally Posted by billinstuart (Post 4471398)
ANY roof with less than 3/12 pitch MUST be at least double layered on the dry-in. 2/12 cannot be single layer dry-in without leaking. A membrane is better.

In the souf we'uns don't do ice dam stuff.....

Hotroddie is correct on the lower roof.

I disagree. While this may not be up to "code" and may not be an ideal roofing job, just because it's a 2/12 doesn't mean it automatically leaks. My guess would be, the leak is around the skylights. It almost always is.

Frugalboater nailed this. Absolutely correct.

TheRealMacGyver 03-25-2012 05:05 AM

I've always went with 2-1/2:12 is the lowest pitch that can be shingled. Anything lower would need a hot tar or heat seam rolled roofing. The pitch is too low. But if it was good for several years, I would suspect a flashing or something else is the issue. The transition from the 6:12 to the 2:12 should have been flashed with something. You could get a tube of tar and go up looking for areas that are suspect and dab on some tar. You might get lucky.

swifty 03-25-2012 06:31 AM

20x20? Tight on cash? Does he have any basic skills to save some $$? Rip it off and do it right...first step would be to get rid of the sky lights\leak lights and re-roof with roll on rubber type roofing.

Tireless 03-25-2012 06:34 AM

Lend him the money to get it properly fixed. How much are we talking about if he does the demo himself?

Edisto_Rebel 03-25-2012 07:17 AM


Originally Posted by swifty (Post 4472631)
20x20? Tight on cash? Does he have any basic skills to save some $$? Rip it off and do it right...first step would be to get rid of the sky lights\leak lights and re-roof with roll on rubber type roofing.

yep. Get rid of the skylights. They are always a problem. Usually it's due to improper installation, including flashing, that causes the leaks, but even if done right from the get-go they are a leak waiting to happen. Storm and ice shield would be the correct way to go instead of felt, if/when he decides to reroof it. An average joe should be able to accomplish most of the task involved with a little hard labor. The flashing against the house or wherever the 2/12 ties into the house would be my biggest concern for a DIYer. Patching in the plywood and rolling out storm and ice shield isn't that difficult. And architectural shingles aren't that hard to lay either and can hide a multitude of mistakes.

Cres 03-25-2012 10:10 AM

Go low pitch flashing kits for the skylights and a membrane roof and forget about it. Try Velux for the the skylights , great cutomer service for problems and research.

hottoddie 03-25-2012 11:39 AM


Originally Posted by Tireless (Post 4472648)
Lend him the money to get it properly fixed. How much are we talking about if he does the demo himself?



He wouldn't accept a loan he's not the type. Also he's no longer physically able to do that type of work. Had a tough winter, his business relies on income from snow storms and lawn care during the summer. I would offer to help some but I am a small contractor myself and need to make a living as well. It will get done somehow. BTW he used to be a blow boater and he taught me many years ago that blow boaters are inherently cheap.

DJWILLIAMS 03-25-2012 02:29 PM

Couldn't resist!!

https://www.getflexseal.com/

OldPete 03-25-2012 02:47 PM

Pictures would be a big help.

The problem 99% people make with skylights is that they don't build them up. They drop them right on the roof. Now you're screwed. You have to properly box up an opening and then drop the light on top of that. Think of a big fat wide chimney with a skylight for a cap.

Make dam sure you flash and properly prep the "box" and the skylight issue will be fine.

Next up without knowing if there is a barrier under there, you're screwed again. If it were me, I would have membraned the entire roof and then shingled over. You can do a roof like that with shingles. You have to pay extreme attention to detail and use the best possible materials. Not easy -- and not something I'd recommend.

This application would have been great for a metal roof.

LI Sound Grunt 03-25-2012 03:01 PM


Originally Posted by DJWILLIAMS (Post 4473575)

Has anyone used this stuff??? I have used plain old fiberglasses tar in a can stuff or whatever that stuff is around some bad chimney flashing and it worked fine - I would smear it all around the skylights as long as water could get downstream


Originally Posted by billinstuart (Post 4471148)
You've identified the basic problem..not enough pitch for the roofing system applied. Anything now is a temporary bandaid.

True enough

Also would use the icewater shield for the whole roof next shingling especially with that slope - never seen that in these parts and even here its usually wind and water - not the snow and ice that gets ya!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.