The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum (https://www.thehulltruth.com/index.php)
-   Dockside Chat (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat-18/)
-   -   The easiest Final Inspection (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat/284457-easiest-final-inspection.html)

Just1more 05-20-2010 02:25 PM

The easiest Final Inspection
 
I had a Final Inspection today on a job. 1 inspector for everything. Kitchen, Basement, 2 bathrooms, new HVAC and a deck. He shows up early about 10:00. African fella named Sammy. I say, "Why don't we start with the basement?" "Ok", he says. We walk in and take about 5 steps and my clients little dogs start barking. They're harmless. Sammy does a 180 and BOLTS out the door, closing it behind him! I go outside and tell him they're harmless. He says "No way, I don't like dogs! Is everything done?!"
I say "Of course everything is done thats why you're here."
"OK", he says, signs the stickers and is outta there! :thumbsup:

Menzies 05-20-2010 02:51 PM

The house is in Africa or he flew over for the job?

obbayer 05-20-2010 02:51 PM

So your renting the dogs for the next job, LOL !

fishinmaniac 05-20-2010 03:01 PM

That is too damn funny!!!

Bruce W 05-20-2010 03:55 PM


Originally Posted by Menzies (Post 2987024)
The house is in Africa or he flew over for the job?

Both. :roll

240 LTS 05-20-2010 04:01 PM

3 Attachment(s)
I'm about a month from final inspections on this, can I borrow your dog?

Menzies 05-20-2010 04:30 PM

A month?

You'd better pull your pants up over yer butt crack and get goin'!!

240 LTS 05-20-2010 04:39 PM

Subcontractors frustrate me!

Asphalt tomorrow
Paint is happening now
Carpet 1st of the month
Ceiling tile delivery Mon.
Doors follow carpet
bla, bla, bla...

JRS@OBX 05-20-2010 05:03 PM

He must have been working when my house was inspected.... stupid corner cutting contractor...

anybody wanna buy a house at the beach?

Just1more 05-20-2010 05:44 PM


Originally Posted by 240 LTS (Post 2987162)
I'm about a month from final inspections on this, can I borrow your dog?

Auditorium?? Yeah, you've definetely got a months worth of work. :grin:

Tarheel Brand 05-20-2010 06:01 PM

Be glad your not from Hertford County NC. The asst inspector here is a nightmare. I was installing seamless gutters on a house the other day. He wheeled up like he was FBI or something and said are ya'll building a porch or just installing gutters. I said just gutters man. As he turned to walk back to his truck I said Dave you know me better than that. He just laughed and kept walking.

tommyr904 05-20-2010 06:33 PM

thats why the private inspectors are worth there weight in gold

240 LTS 05-20-2010 07:50 PM

We use 3rd party inspectors for a lot of things, civil, structural, roofing...
The county inspector does Building, mechanical, electrical, signage.
Fire Marshal for fire alarm, exit signs, evacuation,
Mechanical engineer, Electrical engineer and the Architect get their inspections and punch list along the way also.

Oh the fun!

DJWILLIAMS 05-20-2010 10:08 PM

A few people from NC here, need any Audio/Video work?? If so let me know!!

David
A/V Solutions

LI Sound Grunt 05-21-2010 04:01 AM

Great looking building. Is that part of a school or town government or something? Is anything going in up high the high entrance foyer area? Just wondering - is that whole area for looks or passive solar hetaing or what?

richinct 05-21-2010 04:45 AM

I worked on a 6 story renovation job many years ago, the inspector was rather well fed, around 400 lbs. Nothing was inspected past the 3rd floor cause that was all the stairs he could handle.

240 LTS 05-21-2010 05:38 AM

5 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by LI Sound Grunt (Post 2987907)
Great looking building. Is that part of a school or town government or something? Is anything going in up high the high entrance foyer area? Just wondering - is that whole area for looks or passive solar hetaing or what?

Chesapeake College, Kent Humanities Building.
That south entrance is an "Architectural Element" of sorts.
The ceiling is 25'-0". The walls are a poly mix paint in the corridors, lobby and Theater.
The proscenium wall in the theater is wood with sound panels above the drywall on the side walls and drywall with reveals on the back wall

Just1more 05-21-2010 02:22 PM

Thats funny. My son was there today to see Tom Chapin. How do you like dealing with Grimm & Parker??? :grin:

240 LTS 05-21-2010 08:19 PM


Originally Posted by Just1more (Post 2989141)
Thats funny. My son was there today to see Tom Chapin. How do you like dealing with Grimm & Parker??? :grin:

Not sure who Tom is.;?

G+P?, is this a trick question?;)

Jeff

Just1more 05-22-2010 04:22 AM


Originally Posted by 240 LTS (Post 2989680)
Not sure who Tom is.;?

G+P?, is this a trick question?;)

Jeff

Tom Chapin is some folk singer. My son went on a field trip to see him there.

I have done a few projects with G+P. ;)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.