The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum (https://www.thehulltruth.com/index.php)
-   Dockside Chat (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat-18/)
-   -   Opinion on 2007 Mercury Moutaineer/Explorer (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat/283021-opinion-2007-mercury-moutaineer-explorer.html)

paulyjsob 05-13-2010 08:30 AM

Opinion on 2007 Mercury Moutaineer/Explorer
 
I'm looking into purchasing a used 2007 Mountaineer AWD with a V8. $31K miles.
Anyone have any input on this car? Thanks!

gf 05-13-2010 10:21 AM

My wife drives an '06, which is identical. It just turned 50K miles.

What do you want to know?

paulyjsob 05-13-2010 10:28 AM

I guess everything!
Any repairs needed? Fuel economy?
Would you buy it again?

Thanks.

gf 05-13-2010 05:32 PM

My wife previously drove a 2002 Ford Explorer XLT V8 4X4 which we traded in on the Mountaineer with 90,000 miles. The Explorer had some serious engine problems and rear differential problems which were covered under the Ford extended warranty that I had purchased but we decided to take a chance on the updated model in '06 anyways with the revised 4.6 V8 and the 6-speed automatic transmission.

These SUVs are not of the same quality as the Japanese brands but they are pretty cheap to buy (new or used) and we like the size of these vehicles. The 3rd row seat in the '06+ Explorer and Mountaineer is quite usable, better than the bigger Tahoe/Yukon, for example.

We purchased ours new in January '07. It initially had a problem where the check engine light would come on frequently. After threatening a "lemon law" return the dealer finally got serious about troubleshooting the problem and determined the wiring harness had a short. They had to drop the fuel tank to perform the repair but there has not been a similar problem since, after 3 years.

Since then, a few little things have gone wrong: a cracked plastic seat base, missing pixels in the instrument cluster, passenger's side heated seat stopped working. They have all been fixed under the Ford extended warranty, which I purchased again, but it is annoying to have these items go wrong.

I replaced the original BF Goodrich tires with Pirellis around 35K miles and I run Amsoil synthetic oil in it but that's about it. We're still running the original brakes all around. It has been a more reliable vehicle than the '02 Explorer and even seems to be better than a friend's '04 Honda Pilot.

The extended warranty runs to 75K miles which will be some time around January 2012, or right about when it is paid for (60 months, 0% financing). We'll probably keep it for another year beyond that, I tend to replace my wife's vehicles at 90K miles. She used to drive more so that used to only be 4 years but now it will be like 6. However, if it starts to have any issues after the extended warranty is up, we'll dump it.

Would I buy another? Probably. As mentioned above, I think they offer pretty good value for the price. The extended warranty is a good idea, sadly that seems to be the case with most new vehicles these days, however. The Mountaineers come better equipped than the Explorers and I think the Mercury interior - particularly in black - is nicer than the Ford, but I think the part-time 4X4 system on the Explorer is better than the AWD system on the Mountaineer.

Will I buy another? Probably not. My wife will probably want to move on to something like the Toyota Venza next time. Just like she wanted the change in image when she went from her 1998 Dodge Grand Caravan to the 2002 Ford Explorer, she probably now wants to move away from the SUV crowd towards something that still has utility but is less trucky. I drive a new Toyota Tundra for when we need a truck.

I would only buy the Explorer or Mountaineer with the 4.6 V8. That engine has plenty of power, the V6 is a dog. In around town driving it is a bit of a pig on gas, getting only 14 MPG or so. On extended highway trips, however, you can routinely average 18 or better and even 20 MPG is possble if you keep it under 75. I just took it to Washington D.C. and back and averaged 18.5 MPG over 900 miles with 4 people and luggage in the car.

If you plan on towing, find one that has the factory Class III tow package (it will have a 2" receiver), it comes with a 3.73 rear end.

Rival1 05-13-2010 05:44 PM

My parents had one, it was a nice vehicle very roomy,it had a tranny replaced under warranty, no other big problems but I think trannies are a problem on some models. Theres was a V8 AWD towed a 22 proline with ease. Resale was not good.

paulyjsob 05-13-2010 05:48 PM

Thanks for the info. Its nice to here some real world experience. I've been reading quite a lot over the past few days about there SUVs and they seem pretty reliable after the 2007 model year. There were some hard shifting issues but supposedly they're fixed with a software update.
I am getting the Premier version with the V8 and 3.55 axle. The 3.73 is only offered on the V6 model according to the dealer and brochure. It does have the towing package with Class III/IV receiver. And I do plan on towing my boat (~5000lbs) with it. I am still torn on whether or not to buy the extended warranty. It still have 4 more months of bumper to bumper and 2 more years under the powertrain warranty. The dealer wants $1600 for an extender warranty which would add another 60,000 miles of warranty.
Thanks again!

paulyjsob 05-13-2010 05:49 PM

What year was it?


Originally Posted by Rival1 (Post 2973100)
My parents had one, it was a nice vehicle very roomy,it had a tranny replaced under warranty, no other big problems but I think trannies are a problem on some models. Theres was a V8 AWD towed a 22 proline with ease. Resale was not good.


gf 05-13-2010 07:21 PM

Ok, maybe I'm wrong about the rear axle.

Ours is the Premier, it comes with pretty much everything standard.

You can talk down that extended warranty price or you can shop around for Ford ESP plans on-line.

Good luck!

paulyjsob 05-14-2010 04:37 AM

Thanks for the help!

Parthery 05-14-2010 04:48 AM

We have an '08 in the family...it replaced an '04 Explorer XLT which met its demise when a 16 year old was more interested in sending a text message than watching for a stop sign at a 4 lane divided highway.

They are good vehicles for the money...the '08 just turned 30K and has needed no maintenance other than oil changes, tire rotations, and a wax job.

Shop around for the Ford extended warranty. I would think its like GM...you have up to 12K miles or 12 months to purchase it. I found a dealer in PA that sold me GM Majorguard for my Yukon over the internet for a little more than half what my dealer here wanted.

DrJim 05-14-2010 06:23 AM

We have an 04, decent vehicle for the $$. Probably the best value in used SUVs because there are a lot of them. Although SUV and truck prices are way up, so you have to be cautious of overpaying. An Ex is the last thing you want to overpay for... Ours now has some irritating AC issues but has not had any other problems in 70+K miles. Well it did have a rear diff issue way back under warranty.

paulyjsob 05-14-2010 06:27 AM

The one I'm looking at is an 07 Mountainer Premier AWD V8 so its loaded and in pristine shape. They are asking a little under $20,000. Its less then Edmunds True Market Value and less then what Consumer Reports pricing puts it at. So I think its a good deal.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.