Notices

Home Inspection or Not?

Old 01-19-2010, 07:18 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8,554
Default Home Inspection or Not?

Buying a home near Sarasota/Bradenton. The home was built in 2007. This was the home of the contractor who built this home for his wife ...... and it appears that the contractor loved his wife quite a bit. The home looks to be extremely well built. House is built on a 6" concrete slab, them concrete block piers (about 30" high) then traditional framing on top of the piers. The interior of the home is amazing with fancy cabinets, high-end trim, wide planked hardwood floors, a walk-in closet as big as some bedroom ...... I don't mean to go on about the home with a big head or appear to be "hootie-tootie" .... I just thought that I needed to give a description of the physical condition of the home to ask the following question......

With such a new home and in a home taht appears to be well constructed and a great deal of attention spent during the construction process, should I pay out-of-pocket for a home inspection?

Not sure that the cost-benefit is favorable here?
chrisrack is online now  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:20 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 756
Default

would you buy a boat without a survey? Unless you're a contractor with experience building homes and know what to look for I think you're crazy not to get an inspection.
Bird Rock is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:25 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8,554
Default

Originally Posted by Bird Rock View Post
would you buy a boat without a survey?

Yes .... I've had several boats surveyed and the the survey was worth about as much as the ink on the paper. Plus, as a boat builder, I probably know more about boat construction and systems that most inspectors.

That's why I'm thinking of skipping the survey process. My wife's 1st home was surveyed and all kinds of big problems were missed .... like rotting sills and faulty electricals.
chrisrack is online now  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Raleigh & Surf City, NC
Posts: 12,846
Default

Maybe you will get an inspector like the one that checked out my bro-in-laws house that he was selling. The inspector actually put in writing that the cold water stayed warm too long when 1st turned on, this was on a 102 degree day. My bro-in law asked "hurry, let me use your phone". Why? "I need to call the city and tell them the lake where we get our water is too hot".

I've been to many, many houses that were inspected prior to the sell. The new owners call with a hvac problem. There are often obvious problems that were missed during the inspection, but you can bet there were plenty of nitpicky things on the report.
baypro21 is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:41 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 807
Default

Most Home Inspectors are idiots, I would hire a contractor if possible or ask a contractor friend to go check it out.
35donzi is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:41 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 8,671
Default

You are spending presumably hundreds' of thousands of dollars and are balking at spending a few hundred on a home inspection? I think you know the answer to this question already.

At the minimum find out if it has the Chinese drywall in it that is causing so many problems here in Fla. Determine if termites or other home wreckers have set up residency in the home?

Is the roof leaking from a shingle or two being blown off or loosened during a one of our strong thunderstorms or tropical storms?

Are there any signs of a sinkhole on the property?

Did the electrician/plumber/HVAC guy finish the job correctly or was he pissed because the contractor stiffed him on this job or a previous job?

This is a no brainer. The inspector will find something wrong and that will be able to be negotiated to at least cover the repair or the cost of the inspection.


I am sure your homeowners insurance is going to want a report to issue a policy.

Make sure the inspector follows their checklist for hurricane inspection and you will get their discount. Windows, roofing, straps, etc.

Get it done and sleep well in your new home. Good luck!
signmansez is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:46 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15,654
Default

Originally Posted by 35donzi View Post
Most Home Inspectors are idiots, I would hire a contractor if possible or ask a contractor friend to go check it out.
X2

Home inspectors are an un-regulated bunch with no commonallity of training or expectations. With your experience in design, systems and just plain putting things together, trust to your own instincts and save the money for something fun for the family.
bamaboy473 is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 08:33 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gloucester,Ma USA
Posts: 10,782
Default

Get the house inspected.....nuff said!
Jay A is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 11:00 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
Bruce W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: VA
Posts: 14,973
Default

Chris,

I would agree with others that an inspection would be beneficial - but get a GOOD, REPUTABLE person to do it!

There may be things associated with construction in that particular area of the country that are IMPORTANT, but may be missed, not considered, etc. by you, as compared to your home in MARYLAND!

EXAMPLES: Is that "slab" thick enough, properly sealed, etc. - by local codes or "standards" for THAT area - or, overbuilt, etc.? How do the windows stack up with potential hurricane standards? I think you see what I'm saying?

You WANT an inspection from a "local" who will look out for YOU - again, a REPUTABLE one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yep, the builder COULD have "overbuilt" (you would normally expect that!), but you don't KNOW that, for sure, in the structural, HVAC, electrial, etc. end of things!

I would spend the $'s for my own piece of mind, given the investment you are making!

Regards,
Bruce W is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 11:07 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10,223
Default

No question to be asked, get an inspection. You can use a builder, contractor, architect but get someone in that is not in love with the house.
08087 is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 02:23 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sailfish Capital & Black Hills SD
Posts: 16,004
Default

Pretty sure in Florida you not only want an inspection, but there is a different one you want also. It has to do with hurricane ratings (as in how well it would do in hurricanes) shutters, type of roof, windows etc. Can mean the difference of thousands in insurance costs along the coasts in particular (why that is I can't imagine).
Afishinado is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:05 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,109
Default

As above, you want the inspection, plus a windstorm specific inspection could save you some $. Agreed that many inspectors are morons, and they will likely miss plenty, but they will also give you a punchlist of items you can more or less force the owner to fix in your contract. We also had some major chinese drywall issues down here - you DEFINITELY want every wall of that house tested.

Plus I will point out that if he really loved his wife, he would have built the house out of concrete block - over here in SE florida that's (practically) the only way it's done.

Last edited by Flot; 01-20-2010 at 09:58 AM.
Flot is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:15 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 9,624
Default

I was a mortgage broker for about 6 years and we always had home inspections done and also provided a home warranty. Both the inspection and home warranty were paid for by the sellers.
davidkuhlmann is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:00 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax Fla,Horseshoe Beach Fla
Posts: 13,398
Default

07 was a bad year in Florida.Lots of stuff thrown together fast to keep up with demand
tommyr904 is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:11 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida, US
Posts: 14,527
Default

Ever see what termites can do in two years?
Menzies is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:19 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: S. Galvez, Louisiana. Ame
Posts: 7,448
Default

From the sound of your own reply to your original post, it seems as if you have already made up your mind. You state that you are skipping the survey process, so why ask the question in the first place? Doubt about doing the right thing? A clue that something might not be right? Or-- you are just trying to cause some sort of conflagaration on the forum? If you have made up your mind, go with it and live with the results, might be good, might be bad!

All that glitters is not gold.

All the real nice stuff you describe I am sure looks grand. However you describe very little that concerns the "bones" of the home. What about mechanical systems, framing, foundation, termites, vermin, mold, plumbing all that behind the scenes stuff. You know the stuff that if it went bad all the nice cabinets and flooring would either be ruined or torn up. Are you experience enough to look at something and determine age and mechanical viability?

What about that chinaman dry wall? Are you real sure that you are in the clear with that stuff?

Foundation? 6" slab of concrete, a flat 6" thick slab of concrete is not substantial enough to hold up the weight bearing walls or is it? Do you know? I know in this area 6" would not cut it under a weight bearing wall.

My daughter bought a house last year, home inspection was $300, the guy was able to point out things that we had missed. Nothing substantial, but those little things that don't mean nothing unless left unattended for years. we were able to address everything for pennies.
twentynine is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:41 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Amelia Island, FL
Posts: 4,668
Default

From someone in RE, GET AN INSPECTION. Cheap money that may save you thousands.

But all home inspectors are not created equal. Some states do not regulate them, so like many have said, some HIs are idiots. Make sure you have an ASHI certified inspector. ASHI is an organization that trains and certifies to high standards. These people must know there stuff to be certified. Go to their website and read about the certification and search for an inspector in your area.

http://www.ashi.org/
Reel Boobs is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:54 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 3,261
Default

Originally Posted by Reel Boobs View Post
From someone in RE, GET AN INSPECTION. Cheap money that may save you thousands.

But all home inspectors are not created equal. Some states do not regulate them, so like many have said, some HIs are idiots. Make sure you have an ASHI certified inspector. ASHI is an organization that trains and certifies to high standards. These people must know there stuff to be certified. Go to their website and read about the certification and search for an inspector in your area.

http://www.ashi.org/
What he said. In fact, the home being the builder's house is more reason than usual to get one. Unlike a customer, a builder is not going to complain to himself about things that are not quite right. What is there is an undiscovered code violation in there?
itwonder is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 05:21 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,878
Default

Most inspectors arent worth a shit. They go to a week long seminar (ASHI)and get a pretty piece of paper and boom their an expert. Its crap. If you want the home inspected. Call the pros. Find a reputable trustworthy HVAC guy have him inspect the whole system and give you a report. All most inspectors do is make sure the system cycles the heat and AC correctly and check the temperatures. Same with a plumber, roofer, electrician, and have a real mold inspection done. It will cost you a little more but its worth it. Just make sure they know what you want them to do. The important thing is to find quality contractors that really know their trade.
nautiduck is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 06:02 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sandwich, Marshvegas, MassHole
Posts: 1,553
Default

talk the home inspectors down in price..for instance thay wanted 300 to do mine and i got it for 200..i also didnt get the radon basement test which is bs..you also can deny the water quality test too to save!

call around
Semper Fi-sh is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread