Notices

Your opinion of this situation

Old 07-16-2007, 06:37 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default Your opinion of this situation

A few months back my girlfriend and I purchased a condo for my girlfriends parents to live in. The condos are up down oriented. We purchased a downstairs unit. The lady who lives upstairs is very pleasant and probably in her 80's and has lived there for 30 years. There is a small strip of land in front of our unit between the building and the parking lot. The lady upstairs has claimed it as hers, set a statue of the Virgin Mary and sort of landscaped the whole front of the building. The whole thing is really hideous and not maintained. We know her parents are not going to be real happy with this. A few days ago I delicately spoke with the woman about this and suggested she lets us take care of the landscaping, which she agreed too. I figured I could at least make it look decent. I went by today and discovered she has added a giant red and white windmill to this mess which actually blocks partial view out of one of the windows. Am I out of line for feeling like even though neither of us own this land, it's inconsiderate of her to do this in front of someone else's home? I don't want to rock the boat, and the woman is in her 80's. But I know the GF's parents. They too are elderly and very intolerant. They will be moving in, in about a month. There is no way this woman is going to willingly give up this windmill and the GF's parents will both have a heart attack when they see it.. Will I burn in hell if it were to disappear one night and never be seen again? Or should I just let them fight it out when they move in?
Mr.Mike is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:44 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Let the condo board deal with it first, make a complaint after you read the association by laws to see if this sort of thing is allowed or not. if the board doesn't act then I could see some midnight landscaping in your future.
Captain Sid is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:46 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 166
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

What does the HOA say about this?
Cat3347 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:48 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mobile, Al.
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Is there a property owners association?, if so check with them to see the ruling on lawn ornaments and yard art crap is. It may even be community property and she has no more right to it than you do.

Lee
Domino Effect is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:53 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax Fla,Horseshoe Beach Fla
Posts: 13,398
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

crime in the area should make it dissapear
tommyr904 is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 08:57 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny florida
Posts: 23,024
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

This is a job for.........CONDO COMMANDO!
billinstuart is online now  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:13 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Santee-Cooper
Posts: 2,220
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

guy's she is 80 yrs old...HAS EVERYONE LOST RESPECT FOR THERE ELDERS????When your azz gets old and have nothing else to do with your time.......HOW WOULD U FEEL IF ...............Move on and HELP HER ....She might not be around tomorrow(SP) and then you will understand that WINDMILL.....JMHO!!!!!!
WFOFISHING is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:19 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida, US
Posts: 14,527
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Call the previous owners and see if there has been an ongoing issue with her.

Overall, you owe it to your GF's parents to have this sorted out before they move in.

BTW, what on earth are you doing buying a condo with a girlfriend for her parents? That to me is the bigger issue waitng to happen!
Menzies is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:22 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default RE: Your opinion of this situation

I really don't know what the associations position is. I really didn't want to have to go that route. My GF's parents aren't the most social people in their old age and I don't want to contribute to their social problems by creating a feud. I did consider making it just "disappear". But.....I asked myself if that's what I've become? Someone who steals from old ladies. At least I know it's not just me that would have a problem with this. I'll post when I have an outcome. Unless it's me getting a black eye from an old lady.

Mike.
Mr.Mike is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:26 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Menzies - 7/16/2007 9:19 PM

BTW, what on earth are you doing buying a condo with a girlfriend for her parents? That to me is the bigger issue waitng to happen!
Well, we've been together for 14 years. And thats all I have to say about that.
Mr.Mike is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 09:58 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

HOA is the legit and long-term solution.

It's ashame that the Windmill and Mary on the Half Shell crime wave that is sweeping the nation came to her town...

Is nothing sacred?
mb_24 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 09:54 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 490
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

mb_24 - 7/16/2007 9:58 PM

HOA is the legit and long-term solution.

It's ashame that the Windmill and Mary on the Half Shell crime wave that is sweeping the nation came to her town...

Is nothing sacred?
MB, I see you are in NJ......Are you looking for any late night work? It pays well.
Mr.Mike is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 10:56 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Port Isabel, TX
Posts: 2,050
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Living in a condo environment, one needs to get along with neighbors. Otherwise, it will not be 'fun' living there.
Suggest the lady upstairs can take care of 1/2 of the yard and your GF's parents can take care of the area in front of their window? Then let attrition take it's course
marker150 is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 11:25 AM
  #14  
CJS
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Adrift
Posts: 5,842
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

WFOFISHING - 7/16/2007 9:13 PM

guy's she is 80 yrs old...HAS EVERYONE LOST RESPECT FOR THERE ELDERS????When your azz gets old and have nothing else to do with your time.......HOW WOULD U FEEL IF ...............Move on and HELP HER ....She might not be around tomorrow(SP) and then you will understand that WINDMILL.....JMHO!!!!!!
Being old doesn't give you the right to make your own rules, or be automatically
respected. And as far as being 80, she's a kid compared to my Great Aunt, who's
pushing 105.

Hopefully an agreement can be reached that all can live with.
CJS is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:34 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: OIB NC
Posts: 2,160
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Menzies - 7/16/2007 9:19 PM
BTW, what on earth are you doing buying a condo with a girlfriend for her parents? That to me is the bigger issue waitng to happen!
That's what I was thinking. You could help move the furniture, or paint, or something like that, but STAY OUT OF THE FINANCIAL PART OF THE DEAL OR SHE'LL BE YOUR FORMER GIRLFRIEND.
originalsin is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 12:38 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: OIB NC
Posts: 2,160
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

As far as a solution, chain the two old ladies together and let 'em fight till the death. The old man might get a rise out of watching the cat fight and write you into his will for having such a great idea.

Think outside the box.
originalsin is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 02:32 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Mike, you have a sick situation on your hands, so let's boil this down to a simple solution.... (bearing in mind that I have been in property management in some form [including condo's] for over 25 years)

Someone is going to get pizzed off here, that's a fact..... it's up to you and the GF to pick who the pizzed off party is...... it's either her parents, or the old lady.......... Which one would you rather it be????? Your decision.........

These things never work out to amicable, one party always feels they were screwed over.... I'm sorry if I seem a little calous, but after 25 years I know the solutions....... Lots of luck with your final decision......... May God have mercy on your soul...... one way or the other........

PS: spellcheck isn't working, so excuse any misspellings......
Bailey Boat is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 02:49 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,394
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

originalsin - 7/17/2007 12:38 PM

As far as a solution, chain the two old ladies together and let 'em fight till the death. The old man might get a rise out of watching the cat fight and write you into his will for having such a great idea.

Think outside the box.
BULL WHIP MATCH BABY!!!
HOTSPOT is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 03:16 PM
  #19  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 36
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Mr.Mike - 7/17/2007 6:54 AM

mb_24 - 7/16/2007 9:58 PM

HOA is the legit and long-term solution.

It's ashame that the Windmill and Mary on the Half Shell crime wave that is sweeping the nation came to her town...

Is nothing sacred?
MB, I see you are in NJ......Are you looking for any late night work? It pays well.
Late night work? Just wait until 4 p.m., after her dinner has settled and she has fallen asleep for the night!
kauzmo is offline  
Old 07-17-2007, 03:34 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,010
Default Re: Your opinion of this situation

Once you mention the windmill to the old lady or HOA it will be known who "took" it if it disappears.
Jimm is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread