The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum (https://www.thehulltruth.com/index.php)
-   Dockside Chat (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat-18/)
-   -   Your opinion of this situation (https://www.thehulltruth.com/dockside-chat/138623-your-opinion-situation.html)

Mr.Mike 07-16-2007 06:37 PM

Your opinion of this situation
 
A few months back my girlfriend and I purchased a condo for my girlfriends parents to live in. The condos are up down oriented. We purchased a downstairs unit. The lady who lives upstairs is very pleasant and probably in her 80's and has lived there for 30 years. There is a small strip of land in front of our unit between the building and the parking lot. The lady upstairs has claimed it as hers, set a statue of the Virgin Mary and sort of landscaped the whole front of the building. The whole thing is really hideous and not maintained. We know her parents are not going to be real happy with this. A few days ago I delicately spoke with the woman about this and suggested she lets us take care of the landscaping, which she agreed too. I figured I could at least make it look decent. I went by today and discovered she has added a giant red and white windmill to this mess which actually blocks partial view out of one of the windows. Am I out of line for feeling like even though neither of us own this land, it's inconsiderate of her to do this in front of someone else's home? I don't want to rock the boat, and the woman is in her 80's. But I know the GF's parents. They too are elderly and very intolerant. They will be moving in, in about a month. There is no way this woman is going to willingly give up this windmill and the GF's parents will both have a heart attack when they see it.. :bashhh: Will I burn in hell if it were to disappear one night and never be seen again? :jk: Or should I just let them fight it out when they move in?

Captain Sid 07-16-2007 06:44 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
Let the condo board deal with it first, make a complaint after you read the association by laws to see if this sort of thing is allowed or not. if the board doesn't act then I could see some midnight landscaping in your future.

Cat3347 07-16-2007 06:46 PM

RE: Your opinion of this situation
 
What does the HOA say about this?

Domino Effect 07-16-2007 06:48 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
Is there a property owners association?, if so check with them to see the ruling on lawn ornaments and yard art crap is. It may even be community property and she has no more right to it than you do.

Lee

tommyr904 07-16-2007 06:53 PM

RE: Your opinion of this situation
 
crime in the area should make it dissapear :grin:

billinstuart 07-16-2007 08:57 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
This is a job for.........CONDO COMMANDO!

WFOFISHING 07-16-2007 09:13 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
guy's she is 80 yrs old...HAS EVERYONE LOST RESPECT FOR THERE ELDERS????When your azz gets old and have nothing else to do with your time.......HOW WOULD U FEEL IF ...............Move on and HELP HER ....She might not be around tomorrow(SP) and then you will understand that WINDMILL.....JMHO!!!!!! ;)

Menzies 07-16-2007 09:19 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
Call the previous owners and see if there has been an ongoing issue with her.

Overall, you owe it to your GF's parents to have this sorted out before they move in.

BTW, what on earth are you doing buying a condo with a girlfriend for her parents? That to me is the bigger issue waitng to happen!

Mr.Mike 07-16-2007 09:22 PM

RE: Your opinion of this situation
 
I really don't know what the associations position is. I really didn't want to have to go that route. My GF's parents aren't the most social people in their old age and I don't want to contribute to their social problems by creating a feud. I did consider making it just "disappear". But.....I asked myself if that's what I've become? Someone who steals from old ladies. :grin: At least I know it's not just me that would have a problem with this. I'll post when I have an outcome. Unless it's me getting a black eye from an old lady.

Mike.

Mr.Mike 07-16-2007 09:26 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 

Menzies - 7/16/2007 9:19 PM

BTW, what on earth are you doing buying a condo with a girlfriend for her parents? That to me is the bigger issue waitng to happen!
Well, we've been together for 14 years. And thats all I have to say about that. :grin:

mb_24 07-16-2007 09:58 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
HOA is the legit and long-term solution.

It's ashame that the Windmill and Mary on the Half Shell crime wave that is sweeping the nation came to her town...

Is nothing sacred?

Mr.Mike 07-17-2007 09:54 AM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 

mb_24 - 7/16/2007 9:58 PM

HOA is the legit and long-term solution.

It's ashame that the Windmill and Mary on the Half Shell crime wave that is sweeping the nation came to her town...

Is nothing sacred?
MB, I see you are in NJ......Are you looking for any late night work? It pays well. :grin:

marker150 07-17-2007 10:56 AM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
Living in a condo environment, one needs to get along with neighbors. Otherwise, it will not be 'fun' living there.
Suggest the lady upstairs can take care of 1/2 of the yard and your GF's parents can take care of the area in front of their window? Then let attrition take it's course :thumbsup:

CJS 07-17-2007 11:25 AM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 

WFOFISHING - 7/16/2007 9:13 PM

guy's she is 80 yrs old...HAS EVERYONE LOST RESPECT FOR THERE ELDERS????When your azz gets old and have nothing else to do with your time.......HOW WOULD U FEEL IF ...............Move on and HELP HER ....She might not be around tomorrow(SP) and then you will understand that WINDMILL.....JMHO!!!!!! ;)
Being old doesn't give you the right to make your own rules, or be automatically
respected. And as far as being 80, she's a kid compared to my Great Aunt, who's
pushing 105.

Hopefully an agreement can be reached that all can live with.

originalsin 07-17-2007 12:34 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 

Menzies - 7/16/2007 9:19 PM
BTW, what on earth are you doing buying a condo with a girlfriend for her parents? That to me is the bigger issue waitng to happen!
That's what I was thinking. You could help move the furniture, or paint, or something like that, but STAY OUT OF THE FINANCIAL PART OF THE DEAL OR SHE'LL BE YOUR FORMER GIRLFRIEND.

originalsin 07-17-2007 12:38 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
As far as a solution, chain the two old ladies together and let 'em fight till the death. The old man might get a rise out of watching the cat fight and write you into his will for having such a great idea.

Think outside the box.

Bailey Boat 07-17-2007 02:32 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
Mike, you have a sick situation on your hands, so let's boil this down to a simple solution.... (bearing in mind that I have been in property management in some form [including condo's] for over 25 years)

Someone is going to get pizzed off here, that's a fact..... it's up to you and the GF to pick who the pizzed off party is...... it's either her parents, or the old lady.......... Which one would you rather it be????? Your decision.........

These things never work out to amicable, one party always feels they were screwed over.... I'm sorry if I seem a little calous, but after 25 years I know the solutions....... Lots of luck with your final decision......... May God have mercy on your soul...... one way or the other........

PS: spellcheck isn't working, so excuse any misspellings......

HOTSPOT 07-17-2007 02:49 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 

originalsin - 7/17/2007 12:38 PM

As far as a solution, chain the two old ladies together and let 'em fight till the death. The old man might get a rise out of watching the cat fight and write you into his will for having such a great idea.

Think outside the box.
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: BULL WHIP MATCH BABY!!!

kauzmo 07-17-2007 03:16 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 

Mr.Mike - 7/17/2007 6:54 AM


mb_24 - 7/16/2007 9:58 PM

HOA is the legit and long-term solution.

It's ashame that the Windmill and Mary on the Half Shell crime wave that is sweeping the nation came to her town...

Is nothing sacred?
MB, I see you are in NJ......Are you looking for any late night work? It pays well. :grin:
Late night work? Just wait until 4 p.m., after her dinner has settled and she has fallen asleep for the night! :rofl: :rofl:

Jimm 07-17-2007 03:34 PM

Re: Your opinion of this situation
 
Once you mention the windmill to the old lady or HOA it will be known who "took" it if it disappears.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.